Awards Logo
SearchHomeContents PageSite Map
The Aurealis Awards for Australian Speculative Fiction
The Aurealis Awards for Excellence in Australian Speculative Fiction were established in 1995 by the publishers of Aurealis Magazine to recognise the achievements of Australian science fiction, fantasy and horror writers. To find out more about the awards, the judging and previous winners, please click here. There are five divisions, in addition to the Convenor's Awards for Excellence. For more information, visit

The winners will be announced at the 8th Aurealis Awards Ceremony which will be held in the Basement Lecture Theatre, RMIT Building 94, 23-27 Cardigan Street, South Carlton, Melbourne on Friday 28th March. Doors open at 7.00pm for a 7.30pm start. Admission is free and all are welcome. Judges reports will be available on the evening in the 2002 Aurealis Awards Booklet.

Science Fiction Novel
Blue Silence Michelle Marquardt (Bantam)
Transcension Damien Broderick (Tor)
Echoes of Earth Sean Williams and Shane Dix (HarperCollins)
Science Fiction Short Story
'Lucy Lucy' Shane M Brown (Aurealis #29)
'Walk to the Full Moon' Sean McMullen (Fantasy and Science Fiction, Dec 02)
'Late Returns' Shane M Brown (Redsine 9)
'The Imperfect Instantaneous People Mover' Geoffrey Maloney (Agog! Fantastic Fiction )
'Within Twilight' Chris McMahon (Redsine 8)
Fantasy Novel
The Novice - Trudi Canavan (HarperCollins)
The Gift - Alison Croggan (Penguin)
Hades' Daughter - Sara Douglass (HarperCollins)
The Crippled Angel - Sara Douglass (HarperCollins)
Blood - Tony Shillitoe (HarperCollins)
The Storm Weaver and the Sand - Sean Williams (HarperCollins)
Fantasy Short Story
No Award.

Horror Novel
The White Body of Evening - A L McCann (Flamingo/ HarperCollins)
Shadows Bite - Stephen Dedman (Tor Books)
The Gift - Alison Croggon (Penguin)
Daughter of the Dark - Louise Cusack (Simon & Schuster)
Horror Short Story
'Within Twilight' - Chris McMahon (Redsine 8)
'What The Tide Brings' - Claire McKenna (Fables and Reflections 2)
'Oracle' - Kim Westwood (Redsine 9)
'Wastelands' - Stephen Dedman (Agog! Fantastic Fiction)

Honourable mentions go to Robert Hood for '# 7' (Immaterial published by Mirrordanse) and Deborah Biancotti for 'Silicon Cast' (Redsine 7).

Young Adult Novel
Fireworks and Darkness - Natalie Jane Prior (Angus & Robertson/ HarperCollins)
The Hand of Glory - Sophie Masson (Hodder Headline)
Mum, Me, the 19th C - David McRobbie (Angus & Roberston/ HarperCollins)
The Starthorn Tree - Kate Forsyth (Pan)
Young Adult Short Story
No Award.
Children's (8-12 years) Long Fiction
Eglantine - Catherine Jinks (Allen & Unwin)
Rhianna and the Dogs of Iron - Dave Luckett (Scholastic)
In the Garden of Empress Cassia - Gabrielle Wang (Puffin)
Lily Quench and the Treasure of Mote Ely - Natalie Jane Prior (Hodder)
Astrid Spark, Fixologist - Justin d'Ath (Allen & Unwin)
Children's (8-12 years) Short Fiction
'The Golden Udder' - Terry Denton (Allen & Unwin)
'Tashi and the Haunted House' - Anna Fienberg and Kim Gamble (Allen & Unwin)
'The Two Natalies' - Justin d'Ath (Reel Trouble, Spinouts Sapphire - Longmans)
'In the Blink of an Eye' - Andrew Chapman (Spellbinders, Spinouts Sapphire -Longmans)
'Old Ridley' - Gary Crew and Marc McBride (Hodder)

SearchContents PageSite MapContact UsCopyright

If you find any errors, typos or other stuff worth mentioning, please send it to
Copyright © 1996-2014 SF Site All Rights Reserved Worldwide