Awards Logo
SearchHomeContents PageSite Map
2000 Nebula Awards
Nebula Award
Photo by Laura Mixon

The 2000 Nebula Awards Final Ballot includes eligible works first published or released in 1999 and 2000. Winners were announced during the Nebula Awards Weekend on April 28, at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills, California.

Founded in 1965, the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America began with about 80 writers. It now has over 1,000 members. Active members of SFWA vote for the Nebula Awards. The awards are given each year for the best novel, novella, novelette, and short story eligible for that year's award. The script category was added this year. Each year, an anthology, including the winning pieces of short fiction and several runners-up, is also published. Each spring the awards are given out at the Nebula Awards Banquet over a weekend of meetings and panel discussions.

The Grand Master Award is given to a living author for a lifetime's achievement in science fiction or fantasy or both. Nominations for the Grand Master Nebula Award are made by the president of SFWA and awarded after approval of a majority of the SFWA officers.

Darwin's Radio, Greg Bear (Del Rey)
A Civil Campaign, Lois McMaster Bujold (Baen)
Crescent City Rhapsody, Kathleen Ann Goonan (Avon Eos)
Forests of the Heart, Charles de Lint (Tor)
Infinity Beach, Jack McDevitt (HarperPrism)
Midnight Robber, Nalo Hopkinson (Warner Aspect)

Novella (17,500-39,999 words):
"Goddesses", Linda Nagata (Sci Fiction Jul 2000)
"Argonautica", Walter Jon Williams (Asimov's Oct/Nov 1999)
"Crocodile Rock", Lucius Shepard (F&SF Oct/Nov 1999)
"Fortitude", Andy Duncan (Realms of Fantasy Jun 1999)
"Hunting the Snark", Mike Resnick (Asimov's Dec 1999)
"Ninety Percent of Everything", Jonathan Lethem, James Patrick Kelly & John Kessel (F&SF Sep 1999)

Best Novelette (7,500-17,499 words):
"Daddy's World", Walter Jon Williams (Not of Woman Born Roc, ed. Constance Ash)
"A Day's Work on the Moon", Mike Moscoe (Analog Jul/Aug 2000)
"Generation Gap", Stanley Schmidt (Artemis #1, Spring 2000)
"How the Highland People Came to Be", Bruce Holland Rogers (Realms of Fantasy Aug 1999)
"Jack Daw's Pack", Greer Gilman (Century 5, Winter 2000)
"A Knight of Ghosts and Shadows", Gardner Dozois (Asimov's Oct/Nov 1999)
"Stellar Harvest", Eleanor Arnason (Asimov's Apr 1999)

Short Story (7,499 words or fewer):
"macs", Terry Bisson (F&SF Oct/Nov 1999)
"The Fantasy Writer's Assistant", Jeffrey Ford (F&SF Feb 2000)
"Flying Over Water", Ellen Klages (Lady Churchill's Rosebud Wristlet No. 7, Oct 2000)
"The Golem", Severna Park (Black Heart, Ivory Bones Avon, ed. Ellen Datlow & Terri Windling)
"Scherzo with Tyrannosaur", Michael Swanwick (Asimov's Jul 1999)
"You Wandered Off Like a Foolish Child To Break Your Heart and Mine", Pat York (Silver Birch, Blood Moon Avon, ed. Ellen Datlow & Terri Windling)

Galaxy Quest, David Howard & Robert Gordon (DreamWorks SKG)
Being John Malkovich, Charlie Kaufman (Propaganda Films)
Dogma, Kevin Smith (View Askew Productions)
The Green Mile, Frank Darabont (from the novel by Stephen King) (Castle Rock/Warner Bros.)
Princess Mononoke, Hayao Miyazaki & Neil Gaiman (Miramax Films/Studio Ghibli [Japanese version: "Mononoke Hime" 1997])
Unbreakable, M. Night Shyamalan (Touchstone Pictures)

Grand Master Award Winners
Robert A. Heinlein (1974)
Jack Williamson (1975)
Clifford D. Simak (1976)
L. Sprague de Camp (1978)
Fritz Leiber (1981)
Andre Norton (1983)
Arthur C. Clarke (1985)
Isaac Asimov (1986)
Alfred Bester (1987)
Ray Bradbury (1988)
Lester Del Rey (1990)
Frederik Pohl (1992)
Damon Knight (1994)
A.E. Van Vogt (1995)
Jack Vance (1996)
Poul Anderson (1997)
Hal Clement (1998)
Brian Aldiss (1999)
Philip José Farmer (2000)

SearchContents PageSite MapContact UsCopyright

If you find any errors, typos or other stuff worth mentioning, please send it to
Copyright © 1996-2014 SF Site All Rights Reserved Worldwide