Awards Logo
SearchHomeContents PageSite Map
Finalists for the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award for the Best Short SF of the Year

Ted Chiang "Story of Your Life" (Starlight 2, Patrick Nielsen Hayden, ed., TOR, 11/98)
Tony Daniel "Radio Praha" (Asimov's, 3/98)
Cory Doctorow "Craphound" (SF Age, 3/98)
L. Timmel Duchamp "Dance at the Edge" (Bending the Landscape: SF, Stephen Pagel & Nicola Griffith, eds., Overlook Press, 9/98)
Michael Kandel "Wading River Dogs and More" (Asimov's, 5/98)
James Patrick Kelly "Lovestory" (Asimov's, 6/98)
Ian R. MacLeod "The Summer Isles" (Asimov's, 10-11/98)
Uncle River "Love of the True God" (Talebones #10, Winter 98)
Kristine Kathryn Rusch "Echea" (Asimov's, 7/98)
Bruce Sterling "Maneki Neko" (F&SF, 5/98)
Michael Swanwick "Wild Minds" (Asimov's, 5/98)

Judging Committee
James Gunn
Kij Johnson
Frederik Pohl
The finalists for the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award for the Best Short SF of the Year are selected from a large number of nominations made by a committee of some two dozen writers, editors, and reviewers organized by Christopher McKitterick and David Truesdale. Sturgeon's son Robin selected the finalists. The winner and two runners-up will be chosen from the finalist list by a committee.

The award will be presented at a dinner held at the University of Kansas on July 9, 1999 along with the John W. Campbell Memorial Award for the Best SF Novel of the Year and the 1999 inductions into the Science Fiction and Fantasy Hall of Fame. The Hall of Fame inductions are presented by the Kansas City Science Fiction and Fantasy Society in association with the Center for the Study of Science Fiction. The Award dinner will be followed by the two-day Campbell Conference, which this year will discuss "Science Fiction on Television."

Past Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award for Best Short SF

SearchContents PageSite MapContact UsCopyright

If you find any errors, typos or other stuff worth mentioning, please send it to
Copyright © 1996-2014 SF Site All Rights Reserved Worldwide