Awards Logo
SearchHomeContents PageSite Map
1996 World Fantasy Award Winners
The nine awards are presented at the banquet of the World Fantasy Convention held each year around the end of October. Two of the nominees on the final ballot are determined by readers while the remainder come from the ballots put together by a panel of judges who change annually. The judges select the recipients in a second round of voting. The awards are based on work done during the previous calendar year.

Listed here are the nominations for all categories but that for Lifetime Achievement. The nominees for that award are not released in advance.

World Fantasy Award The Awards were announced at the World Fantasy Convention awards banquet at The International Hotel, Marsh Wall, London, England on Sunday, November 2, 1997.

The five judges are:
Paul Barnett
Nancy A. Collins
Rachel Holmen
Joe R. Lansdale
Diana L. Paxson

Lifetime Achievement
Madeline L'Engle

Godmother Night by Rachel Pollack [St. Martin's Press]
Shadow of Ashland by Terence M. Green [TOR Books]
The Bear Went Over the Mountain by William Kotzwinkle [Doubleday]
The 37th Mandala by Marc Laidlaw [St. Martin's Press]
A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin [Bantam Spectra]
The Golden Key by Melanie Rawn, Jennifer Roberson & Kate Elliott [DAW Books]
The Devil's Tower by Mark Sumner [Del Rey Books]

A City in Winter by Mark Helprin [Viking]
Beauty and the Opera or the Phantom Beast by Suzy McKee Charnas [Isaac Asimov's Science Fiction Magazine 3/96]
Blood of the Dragon by George R.R. Martin [Isaac Asimov's Science Fiction Magazine 7/96]
GI Jesus by Susan Palwick [STARLIGHT 1]
Hell Hath Enlarged Herself by Michael Marshall Smith [DARK TERRORS 2]

Short Fiction
Thirteen Phantasms by James P. Blaylock [OMNI ONLINE 10/96]
The Dead Cop by Dennis Etchison [DARK TERRORS 2]
Underbed by Graham Masterton [DARK TERRORS 2]

Starlight 1 edited by Patrick Nielsen Hayden [TOR Books]
The Year's Best Fantasy & Horror, Ninth Annual Collection edited by Ellen Datlow & Terri Windling [St. Martin's Press]
The Shimmering Door edited by Katharine Kerr & Martin H. Greenberg [HarperPrism]
Dark Terrors 2: The Gollancz Book of Horror edited by Stephen Jones & David Sutton [Gollancz]

Convention Award
Hugh B. Cave

The Wall of the Sky, the Wall of the Eye by Jonathan Lethem [Harcourt Brace]
Midnight Promises by Richard Chizmar [Gauntlet Publications]
Conference With the Dead by Terry Lamsley [Ash-Tree Press]
The Nightmare Factory by Thomas Ligotti [Robinson; Carroll & Graf]
Bible Stories for Adults by James Morrow [Harcourt Brace]
Bad Intentions by Norman Partridge [Subterranean Press]
The Pavilion of Frozen Women by S. P. Somtow [Gollancz]

Moebius (Jean Giraud)
Thomas Canty
H. R. Giger
J. K. Potter

Special Award - Professional
Mike Weldon for The Psychotronic Video Guide to Film
Diana Wynne Jones for The Tough Guide to Fantasyland
Stephen Jones for editing and anthologies
David Pringle for contributions to the genre
Kristine Kathryn Rusch for editing (F & SF)

Special Award - Non-Professional
Barbara & Christopher Roden for Ash-Tree Press
Fedogan & Bremer for book publishing
Paula Guran for Dark Echo

SearchContents PageSite MapContact UsCopyright

If you find any errors, typos or other stuff worth mentioning, please send it to
Copyright © 1996-2014 SF Site All Rights Reserved Worldwide