Book about mercenaries and space travel

This is the place to ask about that story you remember so well -- but can't remember the title and author.

Moderator: Moderators

Book about mercenaries and space travel

Postby damonrae » Sun Nov 05, 2006 1:12 am

From what I remember was a series of books early 80's. About vietnam era mercenaries being abducted by aliens and transported to a medievil planet. Rackin my brains and coming up with nothing.
damonrae
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2006 1:08 am

Jerry Pournelle

Postby admin » Sun Nov 05, 2006 9:10 am

The author was Jerry Pournelle.
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1664
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 9:24 pm

Postby SoulThief » Tue Nov 07, 2006 8:09 am

indeed, Janissaries.

ST
User avatar
SoulThief
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 8:20 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Books

Postby damonrae » Wed Nov 08, 2006 9:53 pm

I don't think it was the same ones, it had Company in the title and was a series like Mack Bolan. But I'll be sure to read the Pornelle novels now :)
damonrae
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2006 1:08 am

Viva la Company

Postby hegemon » Thu Nov 09, 2006 8:32 am

There's a great book by Edger Pangborne titled "Company of Glory" but the plot is nothing like the one you describe, which is the plot of Jannissaries and its sequels.
This is the race that will rule the sevagram!
hegemon
 
Posts: 257
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 9:15 am
Location: On the road

Postby k1w1taxi » Sat Nov 11, 2006 6:51 pm

Glen Cook's Black Company series?

Cheers
Lee
k1w1taxi
 
Posts: 192
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2005 2:16 am
Location: New Zealand

Postby sfreadergrl » Mon Nov 20, 2006 9:42 am

May be this: Doomfarers of Coramonde by Brian Daley. Here's a partial review from Amazon:"...an armored personnel carrier yanked out of the jungles of Southeast Asia to finish off said dragon, complete with her crew, led by Sgt. Gil A. MacDonald.."
sfreadergrl
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 2:35 pm
Location: Denver, CO


Return to Can you tell me the name of this story.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron