1998  
SF Site Logo
Date SearchContents PageSite MapCurrent Issue
An Affiliate of
Privacy Policy
Gorilla Nation
Features
Alien Voices: The Invisible Man: S. Kay Elmore listened to the recent audio release of the H.G. Wells classic and spoke with scriptwriter John de Lancie.
World Fantasy Awards Nominations: is your choice on the list?
Fan votes have been counted and here are the Hugo Award Winners: read them all yet?
Artists don't get the credit they deserve; have a look at what they're doing.
Star Wars: here are a few sites devoted to George Lucas' classic work.
Departments
Author & Fan Tribute Sites: we've built 26 pages of them (plus one for Mc).
Our Contents Page highlights reviews of The Sparrow and Children of God by Mary Doria Russell, The Innamorati by Midori Snyder, The Physiognomy by Jeffrey Ford and Irrational Fears by William Browning Spencer.
What's new from the SF Site reviewers? Browse through the list to see if any of your favourites are represented.
SF Site Interviews: In past issues, we've interviewed Gregory Benford, Bruce Sterling and many others. If you missed any, here is an easy way to see which ones.
Conventions: we've updated our coverage to include listings broken down by date, by location and by category.
SF Site is host to:
Internet Speculative Fiction DataBase
and
Asimov's Science Fiction
and
Analog Science Fiction and Fact
and
Dark Planet
and
First Impressions
and
Steven Silver's SF Website
Visit our sister site
Cybling
for the best in SF-oriented chat.
For SF TV movie listings from SF Site and TVNow, visit
TVNow
SF Site Search Engine: it will find whatever or whoever you're looking for.
Have you seen our previous issues?
mid-August
August
mid-July
July
mid-June
June
mid-May
May
mid-April
April
mid-March
March
mid-February
February
mid-January
January
1997
mid-December
December
Mid-November
November
mid-October
October
mid-September
September
mid-August
August
mid-July
July
June
Inherit the Earth Inherit the Earth by Brian Stableford
reviewed by Jean-Louis Trudel
This is as taut a thriller as they come, with enough surprises to stock an entire Hollywood season. Brian Stableford is even kind enough to let us deduce the modus operandi used to achieve the story's most striking instance of future tech subterfuge. Shouldn't we love an author who doesn't insult our intelligence?

Vast Vast by Linda Nagata
reviewed by Lisa DuMond
With this novel, the author has fortified her reputation as one of hard science fiction's most ambitious authors. Dangers faced as the chase continues force the brilliant crew to devise evermore complex chemical, biological, and mechanical solutions to keep the ship and themselves intact and functioning.

New Arrivals Mid-August New Arrivals
compiled by John O'Neill
September. Back to School Ads. Admit it -- they still make your skin crawl. But as long as everyone else is buying books, you might as well get into the act. New titles this week include books by Elizabeth Hand, Brian Stableford, Joan Slonczewski, Mike Resnick, Timothy Zahn, R. Andrew Heidel, Denise Vitola, Patricia Briggs, Scott Westerfeld, Camille Bacon-Smith, and Margaret Weis and Don Perrin.

Beyond the Wall of Sleep Beyond the Wall of Sleep by R. Andrew Heidel
reviewed by Chris Donner
This short collection of prose and poetry makes for an interesting if enigmatic mixture. There is something tantalizing about the writing itself, its honest portrayal of what soon becomes a common theme: searching. The stories are short and to the point, and they are also quite addictive.

The House of Doors The House of Doors by Brian Lumley
reviewed by Stephen M. Davis
A large, alien craft has landed in the Scottish countryside, taking on the appearance of a castle. The alien on board "absorbs" a group of humans into the structure to test human mental breaking points. Stephen found this to be either an unhorrific horror story or an uninspired SF novel.

Cyberweb Cyberweb by Lisa Mason
reviewed by Thomas Myer
Thomas wasn't thrilled with this novel. To him, it is a bouillabaisse of overeager "Big Brother" machinations, needlessly desperate characters, and, strangely enough, in a fluid technological society, a class system as rigid and defined as a stained glass window.

Pi Pi written & directed by Darren Aronofsky
reviewed by Chris Donner
Aronofsky's first full-length film is a work of art, deftly displaying a fine sense of what is really emotive about a situation. While he portrays the beauty of everyday life quite convincingly, if Aronofsky wants you to be frightened, he doesn't waste time on tricks and effects. Instead, he simply loosens his hold on the bleak sense of fear and uncertainty that pervades this film, and you quickly learn what suspense is really about.

The Enemy Papers The Enemy Papers by Barry B. Longyear
reviewed by Steven H Silver
The saga of Human and Drac interaction began in 1979 with the award-winning short story, "Enemy Mine." It saw a sequel in the form of the novel, The Tomorrow Testament, and now the series is concluded in a new novel, The Last Enemy. All three are compiled in this one book, together with The Talman, the collected wisdom of the Drac which is quoted and alluded to throughout the three stories, and essays by Longyear about writing this series and about formulating an alien language.

Candles For Elizabeth Candles For Elizabeth by Caitlín R. Kiernan
reviewed by Lisa DuMond
The stories in this chapbook are Caitlín R. Kiernan stories and that makes them vitally important to the horror genre. There is no need to repeat the list of woes striking the horror fiction field. Before things can begin to look up again, true originals like Kiernan are going to have to get the credit and readers they deserve.

Slant Slant by Greg Bear
reviewed by Alexander von Thorn
The surfeit of cryptic jargon, the dark cynicism and political allegory, the motif of mutilation, of direct neural interface to universes of information -- William Gibson pioneered this territory in the 80s. But Greg Bear is writing as much in the tradition of Aldous Huxley and Alvin Toffler as William Gibson. This novel is filled with profound ideas and striking images.

Starswarm Starswarm by Jerry Pournelle
reviewed by Steven MacDonald
Pournelle's first solo outing in years is an old-style adventure novel. Like most of his work, this is hard SF, and yet the strongest element is unquestionably the characterization. It's a dynamic coming-of-age tale, set in the future. And it offers ample explanation for Pournelle's longevity as an SF writer.

Carcosa Carcosa
compiled by Rodger Turner
Carcosa published only four books but their influence is evident throughout the field. Their books of stories by Manly Wade Wellman, E. Hoffmann Price and Hugh B. Cave plus the artwork of Lee Brown Coye and George Evans has influenced a generation of writers and artists.

Queen of Demons Queen of Demons by David Drake
reviewed by Victoria Strauss
What lifts this novel and before it, Lord of the Isles, well beyond the ordinary run of epic fantasy is the outstanding world-building. It's rare to read books that evoke a period and a culture as vigorously as is done for Drake's imaginary realm of the Isles. He's built a fictive society as vivid, consistent, and believable as any real one.

Beaker's Dozen Beaker's Dozen by Nancy Kress
reviewed by Lisa DuMond
What, exactly, distinguishes her fiction? It may be the sheer intelligence and curiosity behind the work. It may be the relevance of the subject matter. It may be the seamless storytelling. Just possibly, it is the instant attraction of her fiction that never wanes throughout the narrative, regardless of the length of the story.

Freddy the Detective Freddy the Detective by Walter R. Brooks
reviewed by Georges T. Dodds
With a generally optimistic outlook, Freddy, the resourceful talking pig, and the other denizens of Mr. Bean's barnyard give this book a genuine but not sickly-sweet feeling of family that lends them much of their charm.

Deepdrive Deepdrive by Alexander Jablokov
reviewed by Lisa DuMond
If only the human race had FTL propulsion, then we could touch the stars. Who knows what other life forms we might encounter and what technologies they might share with us? It seldom occurs to us that other races may have no intention of sharing.

Series Review

Jaran The Novels of Jaran by Kate Elliott
reviewed by Todd Richmond
At four volumes and over 2,250 pages, this series may seem daunting -- but it's certainly worth reading. The saga sweeps across the galaxy, involving war, romance, intrigue and treachery. The Jaran series is truly an epic masterpiece, conveying a story of the dreams of conquest and rebellion by a pair of charismatic men and the woman who is linked to them both.

First Novels

The Wild Hunt: Vengeance Moon The Wild Hunt: Vengeance Moon by Jocelin Foxe
reviewed by Regina Lynn Preciado
As with all good curses, this one has a loophole. If someone is strong enough and cares enough about a member of the Wild Hunt to fight against the Goddesses' call, that Huntsman can be freed. It has happened once in all the centuries since the Hunt's inception... This is an original and compelling first novel, with a different twist on the fantasy genre. Be warned, however: it's the first in a series and stops short at a cruel cliffhanger.

Dream Thieves Dream Thieves by Steven Lee Climer
reviewed by Lisa DuMond
This novel is genuine horror, told in an almost baroque style that occasionally lulls the reader into a false sense of security as the charming Bavarian landscape flows by. And yanks you back with a claw to the throat. At times, the events are so disturbing, pulling away seems the only decent action.

Non-Fiction

Arthur C. Clarke & Lord Dunsany: A Correspondence Arthur C. Clarke & Lord Dunsany: A Correspondence edited by Keith Allen Daniels
reviewed by Georges T. Dodds
This book collects letters between a giant of science fiction at the beginning of his career and an aging, solidly established writer of classic pure fantasy. It is perhaps because Clarke and Dunsany are of such diametrically opposed philosophies that each member of the pair could contribute something to the other.

Second Looks

Jack Faust Jack Faust by Michael Swanwick
reviewed by Steven H Silver
Reprise review to coincide with the paperback release. It begins as a highly innovative retelling of Johann Faust's legend. Unfortunately, the momentum slows and Faust's descent into amorality loses steam along the way. But it's worth reading, despite this.

Nanotime Nanotime by Bart Kosko
reviewed by Wayne MacLaurin
Reprise review to coincide with the paperback release. Here is a startlingly realistic glimpse at our future and the world's reliance on oil as a major source of energy. This world of prying government is only a small leap from our own where computer use has made privacy a major issue.

Beneath the Vaulted Hills Beneath the Vaulted Hills by Sean Russell
reviewed by Rodger Turner
Reprise review to coincide with the paperback release. Lord Eldrich, the last of the Mages, is on a tear and woe betide those who stand in his way. The priests who want to end his life, the cult who want his secrets and the minions who do his bidding all struggle to come to grips with the end of an era.

Sewer, Gas & Electric Sewer, Gas & Electric by Matt Ruff
reviewed by Leon Olszewski
In a reprise review to coincide with the paperback release, Leon feels that readers who can take a joke will have a fun time. In this novel, set 26 years from now, you'll meet an outrageous cast of characters, including a hurricane lamp that contains the holographic image and personality of Ayn Rand, and a cybernetic beaver.


SearchContents PageSite MapContact UsCopyright

If you find any errors, typos or other stuff worth mentioning, please send it to editor@sfsite.com.
Copyright © 1996-2014 SF Site All Rights Reserved Worldwide