Nebula Ballot

The SFWA has released the final Nebula Ballot. The Nebulas are voted on by the active membership of SFWA and will be presented at a banquet on April 25 in Los Angeles, California.


  • Little Brother, by Cory Doctorow
  • Powers, by Ursula K.Le Guin
  • Cauldron, by Jack McDevitt
  • Brasyl, by Ian McDonald
  • Making Money, by Terry Pratchett
  • Superpowers, by David J. Schwartz


  • “The Spacetime Pool,” by Catherine Asaro
  • “Dark Heaven,” by Gregory Benford
  • “Dangerous Space,” by Kelley Eskridge
  • “The Political Prisoner,” by Charles Coleman Finlay
  • “The Duke in His Castle,” by Vera Nazarian


  • “If Angels Fight,” by Richard Bowes
  • “The Ray Gun: A Love Story,” by James Alan Gardner
  • “Dark Rooms,” by Lisa Goldstein
  • “Pride and Prometheus,” by John Kessel
  • “Night Wind,” by Mary Rosenblum
  • “Baby Doll,” by Johanna Sinisalo, trans. from the Finnish by David Hackston
  • “Kaleidoscope,” by K.D. Wentworth

Short Stories

  • “The Button Bin,” by Mike Allen
  • “The Dreaming Wind,” by Jeffrey Ford
  • “Trophy Wives,” by Nina Kiriki Hoffman
  • “26 Monkeys, Also the Abyss,” by Kij Johnson
  • “The Tomb Wife,” by Gwyneth Jones
  • “Don’t Stop,” by James Patrick Kelly
  • “Mars: A Traveler’s Guide,” by Ruth Nestvold


  • The Dark Knight, by Jonathan Nolan, Christopher Nolan, and David S. Goyer
  • WALL-E, by Andrew Stanton, Pete Docter, and Jim Reardon
  • Stargate Atlantis: The Shrine, by Brad Wright


  • Graceling, by Kristin Cashore
  • Lamplighter, by D.M. Cornish
  • Savvy, by Ingrid Law
  • The Adoration of Jenna Fox, by Mary E. Pearson
  • Flora’s Dare: How a Girl of Spirit Gambles All to Expand Her Vocabulary, Confront a Bouncing Boy Terror, and Try to Save Califa from a Shaky Doom (Despite Being Confined to Her Room) , by Ysabeau S. Wilce

For More Information…

Obituary: Konrad Dannanberg

Rocket scientist Konrad Dannanberg (b.1912) died on February 16. Dannenberg came to the US at the end of World War II with other German scientists and worked on the team that created the Redstone rockets and eventually the Saturns that launched man to the moon. From 1960 until his retirement in 1973, he was the Deputy Manager of the Saturn program at the Marshall Space Flight Center. Following his retirement, he served as Associate Professor of Aerospace Engineering at the University of Tennessee Space Institute.

Philip K. Dick Judges Named

The judges for the 2009 Philip K. Dick Award have been named. They include Daniel Abraham, Eileen Gunn, Karen Hellekson, Elaine Isaak, and Marc Laidlaw. The award is presented by the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society with the support of the Philip K. Dick Trust at Norwescon for the best paperback original published during the year. The nominees for 2009 will be announced in January of 2010.

For more information:

Obituary: Philip José Farmer

Philip José Farmer (b.1918) died in his sleep on February 25. Farmer is best known for his Riverworld series, but also had several other successful series. His World of Tiers has been used for psychiatric treatment. Farmer is also known for breaking taboos with his novel Strange Relations and the story “The Lovers” as well as exploring the works of other writers with The Other Log of Phileas Fogg and various works featuring Tarzan and Doc Savage. His Wold Newton stories attempt, somewhat tongue in cheek, to tie together all the Victorian and pulp popular characters. Farmer won the Hugo multiple times and was an SFWA Grand Master and received the World Fantasy Life Achievement Award.

Search for Amundsen

The Norwegian government will launch a new search for the site of the wreckage of a plane that crashed in 1928, killing explorer Roald Amundsen, the first man to reach the South Pole. Amundsen’s plane crashed while he was on a rescue mission to the North Pole and neither the site, nor any remains, have ever been found. The new search will make use of Hugin, a state of the art unmanned submersible.

For More Information…

Abbey of New Clairvaux

Monks in California are putting together an 800 year-old monastery that was brought to California by William Randolph Hearst in 1931, but never reassembled. Originally built in Spain in the thirteenth century, when the monastery is fully reconstructed, it will be the oldest structure standing in California. The monks need to raise an addition 1.5 million dollars to complete the project.

For More Information…

NASA Crash and Burn

The Orbiting Carbon Observatory, a satellite which was meant to monitor greenhouse gases, was launched from Vandenberg Air Force Base on February 23, but the payload failed to separate, causing the entire rocket to crash within three minutes of launch. NASA has convened a Mishap Investigation Board to examine why the failure occurred.

For More Information…

Obituary: Robert Quarry

Actor Robert Quarry (b.1925) died on February 20. Quarry created the role of Count Yorga in “Count Yorga, Vampire” and reprised it in the sequel. He also appeared in Saturday morning shows “The Lost Saucer” and “Far Out Space Nuts,” as well as an episode of “Buck Rogers in the 25th Century.” Quarry was also in numerous science fiction films late in his career.

Golden Raspberries

As is traditional, the Golden Raspberries, recognizing the worst in film achievement during the previous year, were presented the night before the Oscars. This year’s losers included:

  • Worst Picture: “The Love Guru”
  • Worst Director: Uwe Boll for “In the Name of the King: A Dungeon Siege Tale”, “1968: Tunnel Rats” and “Postal”
  • Worst Actor: Mike Myers in “The Love Guru”
  • Worst Actress: Paris Hilton in “The Hottie and the Nottie”
  • Worst Supporting Actor: Pierce Brosnan in “Mamma Mia!”
  • Worst Supporting Actress: Paris Hilton in “Repo! The Genetic Opera”
  • Worst Screenplay: Mike Myers & Graham Gordy for “The Love Guru”
  • Worst Screen Couple: Paris Hilton and Joel David Moore or Christine Lakin in “The Hottie and the Nottie”
  • Worst Prequel, Remake, Rip-Off, or Sequel: “Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull”
  • Worst Career Achievement: Uwe Boll for “BloodRayne,” “Alone in the Dark” and “House of the Dead.”

For More Information…

Academy Awards

The Oscars were presented by the Motion Picture Academy of America on February 22. Categories presented to films of genre interest are listed below.

  • Best Supporting Actor: Heath Ledger for The Joker in “The Dark Knight”
  • Achievement in Sound Editing: “The Dark Knight”
  • Achievement in Visual Effects: “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button”
  • Achievement in Makeup: “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button”
  • Achievement in Art Direction: “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button”
  • Best Short Film (Animated): La Maison en Petits Cubes
  • Best Animated Feature Film: WALL-E

For More Information…