In Marsport with Isaac

The IAU has officially named an 84-kilometer wide crater located in Noachis Terra on Mars after Isaac Asimov. Asimov Crater can be found at 47.0°S, 355.1°W.

For more information…

Mythopoeic Nominees

The nominees for this year’s Mythopoeic Awards, presented for fantasy novels, multi-volumes, or single-author story collections as well as the Mythopoeic Scholarship Awards, have been announced. The winners of this year’s awards will be announced during Mythcon XL, to be held from July 17-20, in Los Angeles, California.

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature

  • Flesh and Spirit and Breath and Bone, by Carol Berg
  • Pandemonium, by Daryl Gregory
  • Lavinia, by Ursula K. Le Guin
  • The Bell at Sealey Head, by Patricia A. McKillip
  • An Evil Guest, by Gene Wolfe

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature

  • Graceling, by Kristin Cashore
  • The Graveyard Book, by Neil Gaiman
  • House of Many Ways, by Diana Wynne Jones
  • Savvy, by Ingrid Law
  • Nation, by Terry Pratchett

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies

  • Charles Williams: Alchemy and Imagination, by Gavin Ashenden
  • Tolkien on Fairy-stories: Expanded Edition, with Commentary and Notes, edited by Veryln Flieger and Douglas A. Anderson
  • The History of the Hobbit, Part One: Mr. Baggins; Part Two: Return to Bag-end, by John Rateliff
  • Planet Narnia: The Seven Heavens in the Imagination of C.S. Lewis, by Michael Ward
  • The Evolution of Tolkien’s Mythology: A Study of the History of Middle-earth, by Elizabeth A. Whittingham

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies

  • Four British Fantasists: Place and Culture in the Children’s Fantasies of Penelope Lively, Alan Garner, Diana Wynne Jones, and Susan Cooper, by Charles Butler
  • Folklore and the Fantastic in Nineteenth-Century British Fiction, by Jason Marc Harris
  • Rhetorics of Fantasy, by Farah Mendlesohn
  • One Earth, One People: The Mythopoeic Fantasy Series of Ursula K. Le Guin, Madeleine L’Engle and Orson Scott Card, by Marek Oziewicz
  • Oz in Perspective: Magic and Myth in the Frank L. Baum Books, by Richard Carl Tuerk

For more information…

Senter Files Bankruptcy

Shane Senter, currently facing two felony theft charges and four misdemeanor counts of unfair or deceptive business practices relating to his attempts to create Jumpcon, has filed for Chapter 7 bankruptcy. Senter previously filed for bankruptcy in 2000, but that case was dismissed by the courts. According to the filing, Senter has debts in excess of $8 million, including two small-claims judgments awarded to science fiction fans.

For more information…

Science Fiction and Fantasy Ethics group announced

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Ethics group has been set up by a consortium of authors, co-ordinated by Andy Remic, who wish to celebrate the good side of the fantasy, science fiction and horror genres.

Remic says: “By that, we don’t just mean media with a positive theme — no, we’re into violence, sex, drugs and rock ‘n roll like every other monkey — but that our outlook and content will be geared towards the positive.

“The site will include reviews, articles and interviews, which is pretty standard across the industry, but also several exciting new angles – such as collaborative stories written by the professional authors therein, and ‘Viewpoint’ articles where writers can collectively wax lyrical on a certain topic.

“The official line runs thus: Our mission is to celebrate everything positive, funky and exciting in the Fantasy, Science Fiction and Horror Universe! The SFFE is a core platform, a hub of authors who have banded together with the aim of celebrating all that is positive in genre fiction. We aim to leave cynicism and negativity at the door, and concentrate on what makes us smile, what entertains us, and what brings light and joy to our SF, fantasy and horror universe. That’s not to say there is no place for criticism — there’s plenty bad in the world. However, this little digital corner is a place for positive progression, somewhere you will (hopefully) come if you want to smile.

“So far, a considerable number of industry figures have signed up to take part, and many more are currently in negotiation. The SFFE currently enjoys: Tony Ballantyne, Eric Brown, Mark Chadbourn, David Devereux, Ian Graham, Paul Kearney, Tim Lebbon, James Lovegrove, Gail Z. Martin, James Maxey, Juliet E. Mckenna, Mark Morris, Sarah Pinborough, Andy Remic, James Swallow, Jeffrey Thomas, Jetse de Vries, Danie Ware and Conrad Williams. A healthy dollop of literary roughage, we’re sure you’ll agree!”

For more information…

PRISM Award Nominations

The finalists for the PRISM Awards, presented annually by the Fantasy, Futuristic, and Paranormal chapter of Romance Writers of America have been announced. The winners will be announced on July 16 in Washington, D.C.

Dark Paranormal

  • Immortals: The Redeeming, by Jennifer Ashley
  • Hotter After Midnight, by Cynthia Eden
  • Mona Lisa Craving, by Sunny


  • A Mermaid’s Kiss, by Joey W. Hill
  • Carnal Desires, by Crystal Jordan
  • Siren Singing, by Isabo Kelly


  • The Dragon Master, by Jennifer Ashley writing as Allyson James
  • Dragonborn, by Jade Lee
  • King of Sword & Sky, by C.L. Wilson


  • Fallen, by Claire Delacroix
  • Moonstruck, by Susan Grant
  • Shades of Dark, by Linnea Sinclair

Light Paranormal

  • La Vida Vampire, by Nancy Haddock
  • The Trouble with Moonlight, by Donna MacMeans
  • Wicked Game, by Jeri Smith-Ready


  • “The Spacetime Pool,” by Catherine Asaro
  • “Dark Nest,” by Leanna Renee Hieber
  • “Kung Fu Shoes!” in These Boots were Made for Stomping, by Jade Lee

Time Travel

  • Twist, by Colby Hodge
  • Madman’s Dance, by Jana G. Oliver
  • A Sexy Time of It, by Cara Summers

Young Adult

  • Cave of Terror, by Amber Dawn Bell
  • CHOSEN: A House of Night Novel, by P.C. Cast
  • Sleepless, by Terri Clark

For more information…

Obituary: Joan Alexander

Actress Joan Alexander (b.1918) (also known as Joan A. Stanton died on May 21. Born Louise Abrasse, Alexander played the role of Lois Lane on the “Superman” radio series, opposite Bud Collyer. She continued to voice Lane’s characters in projects through 1968. Alexander also appeared on the television show Captain Video and His Video Rangers.

Compton Crook Winner

Paul Melko has been announced as the winner of the Compton Crook Award, presented for the new author for the best novel, for Singularity’s Ring. The Compton Crook Award is presented annually by the Baltimore Science Fiction Society at Balticon.

For More Information…

Obituary: Lucy Gordon

Actress Lucy Gordon (b.1980) was found dead in her Paris apartment on May 20. Gordon apparently hanged herself. Gordon appeared as news reporter Jennifer Dugan in the film Spider-Man 3.

DUFF Winner

Emma Hawkes has won this year’s DUFF race, to bring a fan from Australasia to North America. Hawkes will attend this year’s Worldcon in in Montreal. She won in a field of four candidates, which included a team of two.

For more information…

World’s Thickest Book

Harper UK has published the world’s thickest book, according to the Guinness Book of World Records. Weighing in at over 8 kilograms, with over 4,000 pages, The Complete Miss Marple is 322mm thick and contains twelve novels and twenty short stories by Agatha Christie.

For more information…