Mythopoeic Nominees

The nominees for this year’s Mythopoeic Awards, presented for fantasy novels, multi-volumes, or single-author story collections as well as the Mythopoeic Scholarship Awards, have been announced. The winners of this year’s awards will be announced during Mythcon XL, to be held from July 17-20, in Los Angeles, California.

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature

  • Flesh and Spirit and Breath and Bone, by Carol Berg
  • Pandemonium, by Daryl Gregory
  • Lavinia, by Ursula K. Le Guin
  • The Bell at Sealey Head, by Patricia A. McKillip
  • An Evil Guest, by Gene Wolfe

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature

  • Graceling, by Kristin Cashore
  • The Graveyard Book, by Neil Gaiman
  • House of Many Ways, by Diana Wynne Jones
  • Savvy, by Ingrid Law
  • Nation, by Terry Pratchett

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies

  • Charles Williams: Alchemy and Imagination, by Gavin Ashenden
  • Tolkien on Fairy-stories: Expanded Edition, with Commentary and Notes, edited by Veryln Flieger and Douglas A. Anderson
  • The History of the Hobbit, Part One: Mr. Baggins; Part Two: Return to Bag-end, by John Rateliff
  • Planet Narnia: The Seven Heavens in the Imagination of C.S. Lewis, by Michael Ward
  • The Evolution of Tolkien’s Mythology: A Study of the History of Middle-earth, by Elizabeth A. Whittingham

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies

  • Four British Fantasists: Place and Culture in the Children’s Fantasies of Penelope Lively, Alan Garner, Diana Wynne Jones, and Susan Cooper, by Charles Butler
  • Folklore and the Fantastic in Nineteenth-Century British Fiction, by Jason Marc Harris
  • Rhetorics of Fantasy, by Farah Mendlesohn
  • One Earth, One People: The Mythopoeic Fantasy Series of Ursula K. Le Guin, Madeleine L’Engle and Orson Scott Card, by Marek Oziewicz
  • Oz in Perspective: Magic and Myth in the Frank L. Baum Books, by Richard Carl Tuerk

For more information…