Saturn Award Nominations

The Academy of Science Fiction Fantasy and Horror Films has announced the nominees for the Annual Saturn Awards. The Saturn Awards, founded in 1972, recognize the best in genre for television, films, and DVD releases. The winners will be announced on June 24.


Best Science Fiction Film
The Book of Eli
Star Trek
Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen
X-Men Origins: Wolverine

Best Fantasy Film
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
The Lovely Bones
The Time Traveler’s Wife
Where the Wild Things Are

Best Horror Film
The Box
Drag Me to Hell
The Last House on the Left
The Twilight Saga: New Moon

Best Action/Adventure/Thriller Film
The Hurt Locker
Inglourious Basterds
Law Abiding Citizen
The Messenger
Sherlock Holmes

Best Actor
Robert Downey, Jr. (Sherlock Holmes)
Tobey Maguire (Brothers)
Viggo Mortensen (The Road)
Sam Rockwell (Moon)
Denzel Washington (The Book of Eli)
Sam Worthington (Avatar)

Best Actress
Catherine Keener (Where the Wild Things Are)
Melanie Laurent (Inglourious Basterds)
Alison Lohman (Drag Me to Hell)
Natalie Portman (Brothers)
Zoe Saldana (Avatar)
Charlize Theron (The Burning Plain)

Best Supporting Actor
Woody Harrelson (Zombieland)
Stephen Lang (Avatar)
Frank Langella (The Box)
Jude Law (Sherlock Holmes)
Stanley Tucci (The Lovely Bones)
Christoph Waltz (Inglourious Basterds)

Best Supporting Actress
Malin Akerman (Watchmen)
Diane Kruger (Inglourious Basterds)
Rachel McAdams (Sherlock Holmes)
Lorna Raver (Drag Me to Hell)
Susan Sarandon (The Lovely Bones)
Sigourney Weaver (Avatar)

Best Performance by a Younger Actor
Taylor Lautner (The Twilight Saga: New Moon)
Bailee Madison (Brothers)
Brooklynn Proulx (The Time Traveler’s Wife)
Max Records (Where the Wild Things Are)
Saoirse Ronan (The Lovely Bones)
Kodi Smit-McPhee (The Road)

Best Director
J.J. Abrams (Star Trek)
Kathryn Bigelow (The Hurt Locker)
Neill Blomkamp (District 9)
James Cameron (Avatar)
Guy Ritchie (Sherlock Holmes)
Zack Snyder (Watchmen)
Quentin Tarantino (Inglourious Basterds)

Best Writing
Neill Blomkamp, Terri Tatchell (District 9)
James Cameron (Avatar)
Spike Jonze, Dave Eggers (Where the Wild Things Are)
Alex Kurtzman, Roberto Orci (Star Trek)
Quentin Tarantino (Inglourious Basterds)
Alex Tse, David Hayter (Watchmen)

Best Music
Brian Eno (The Lovely Bones)
Michael Giacchino (Up)
James Horner (Avatar)
Taro Iwashiro (Red Cliff)
Christopher Young (Drag Me To Hell)
Hans Zimmer (Sherlock Holmes)

Best Costume
Colleen Atwood (Nine)
Jenny Beavan (Sherlock Holmes)
Anna Sheppard (Inglourious Basterds)
Jany Temime (Harry Potter & the Half-Blood Prince)
Michael Wilkinson (Watchmen)
Tim Yip (Red Cliff)

Best Make-Up
Barney Burman, Minday Hall, Joel Harlow (Star Trek)
Joe Dunckley, Sarah Rubano, Frances Richardson (District 9)
Sarah Monzani (The Imaginarium of Dr. Parnassus)
Gregory Nicotero, Howard Berger (The Book of Eli)
Gregory Nicotero, Howard Berger (Drag Me to Hell)
Mike Smithson, John Rosengrant (Terminator: Salvation)

Best Production Design
Rick Carter, Robert Stromberg (Avatar)
Scott Chambliss (Star Trek)
Stuart Craig (Harry Potter & the Half-Blood Prince)
Sarah Greenwood (Sherlock Holmes)
Philip Ivey (District 9)
Alex McDowell (Watchmen)

Best Special Effects
Tim Burke, John Richardson, Nicholas Aithadi, Tim Alexander – (Harry Potter & the Half-Blood Prince)
John DesJardin, Peter G. Travers, Joel Whist, Jessica Norman – (Watchmen)
Volker Engel, Marc Weingert, Mike Vezina – (2012)
Roger Guyett, Russell Earl, Paul Kavanagh, Burt Dalton – (Star Trek)
Dan Kaufman, Peter Muyzers, Robert Habros, Matt Aitken – (District 9)
Joe Letteri, Stephen Rosenbaum, Richard Baneham, Andrew R. Jones – (Avatar)

Best International Film
District 9
The Imaginarium of Dr. Parnassus
Lorna’s Silence
Red Cliff

Best Animated Film
Disney’s A Christmas Carol
Fantastic Mr. Fox
Ice Age: Dawn of the Dinosaurs
Monsters Vs. Aliens
The Princess and the Frog


Best Network Series:
The Ghost Whisperer
The Vampire Diaries

Best Syndicated/Cable Television Series:
Breaking Bad
Battlestar Galactica
The Closer
True Blood

Best Television Presentation:
Doctor Who: The End of Time
The Prisoner
Torchwood: Children of Earth
The Tudors

Best Actor in Television:
Josh Holloway (Lost)
Bryan Cranston (Breaking Bad)
Matthew Fox (Lost)
Michael C. Hall (Dexter)
Zachary Levi (Chuck)
Stephen Moyer (True Blood)
David Tennant (Doctor Who: The End of Time)

Best Actress on Television:
Anna Gunn (Breaking Bad)
Jennifer Love Hewitt (The Ghost Whisperer)
Evangeline Lily (Lost)
Anna Paquin (True Blood)
Kyra Sedgwick (The Closer)
Anna Torv (Fringe)

Best Supporting Actor on Television:
Jeremy Davies (Lost)
Michael Emerson (Lost)
Aldis Hodge (Leverage)
Aaron Paul (Breaking Bad)
John Noble (Fringe)
Alexander Skarsgard (True Blood)

Best Supporting Actress in Television:
Morena Baccarin (V)
Gina Bellman (Leverage)
Julie Benz (Dexter)
Jennifer Carpenter (Dexter)
Elizabeth Mitchell (Lost)
Hayden Panettiere (Heroes)

Best Guest Starring Role in Television:
Bernard Cribbins (Doctor Who: The End of Time)
Raymond Cruz (Breaking Bad)
Michelle Forbes (True Blood)
John Lithgow (Dexter)
Leonard Nimoy (Fringe)
Mark Pellegrino (Lost)


Best DVD Release:
House of the Devil
Laid to Rest
Not Forgotten
Nothing But the Truth
Super Capers

Best DVD Television Release:
Doctor Who: Planet of the Dead
Torchwood: Children of Earth
Terminator: Sarah Connor Chronicles: The Complete Second Season
Primeval, Volume 2
Lost: The Complete Fifth Season
Life on Mars: The Complete Series

Best DVD Special Edition:
Watchmen: The Ultimate Cut
300 Complete Experience
Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs (Blu-Ray)
District 9 (Two-Disc Edition)
Terminator 2: Judgement Day: Skynet Edition
X-Men Origins: Wolverine (Two Disc Special Edition)

Best Collection:
Columbia Pictures Film Noir Classics, Volume 1
The Hannibal Lector Anthology
Hellraiser Boxed Set
Icons of Sci-Fi: Toho Collection
Star Trek Original Motion Picture Collection
The William Castle Collection

Stage Presentation:

Best Local Stage Production: Musical:
Chitty Chitty Bang Bang (Orange County Performing Arts Center)
Fiddler on the Roof (Pantages Theatre)
Mary Poppins (Ahmanson Theatre)

Best Local Stage Production: Play
Frost/Nixon (Ahmanson Theatre)
The Night is a Child (Pasadena Playhouse)
Parade (Mark Taper Forum)

Best Local Stage Production: Small Theater:
Big, The Musical (El Centro Theatre)
Dracula (Noho Arts Center)
Nevermore (Steve Allen Theatre)
Fellowship (Falcon Theatre)

For more information…

  1. Adoring Jennifer // your source for Jennifer Love Hewitt » Blog Archive » Saturn Awards nominations — February 19, 2010 @ 6:38 pm

    […] Source. […]

  2. LCARS Database » ‘Star Trek XI’ Nominated For Six Saturn Awards — February 27, 2010 @ 7:23 am

    […] to the full list of nominations posted on the SF Site, Star Trek was nominated as Best Science Fiction Film, while both director J.J. Abrams and writers […]

  3. Marysa — February 27, 2010 @ 8:49 am

    I am glad that some of my favorites were nominated… A little disappointed when Supernatural was NOT nominated…

  4. Trai — March 4, 2010 @ 5:36 pm

    The Vampire Diaries got nominated over Supernatural? Seriously?