Arthur C. Clarke Shortlist

The shortlist for the Arthur C. Clarke Award has been announced. The winner, selected by a panel consisting of Chris Hill, Jon Courtenay Grimwood, Francis Spufford, Rhiannon Lassiter, and Paul Skevington, will be announced on April 28 and will receive a prize of £2010.

  • Spirit, by Gwyneth Jones
  • The City & The City, by China Miéville
  • Yellow Blue Tibia, by Adam Roberts
  • Galileo’s Dream, by Kim Stanley Robinson
  • Far North, by Marcel Theroux
  • Retribution Falls, by Chris Wooding

For more information…

SFRA Awards Announced

The Science Fiction Research Association has announced the winners of its annual awards. The awards will be presented at their annual conference, held this year in Carefree, Arizona from June 24-17.

  • Pilgrim Award (for lifetime contributions to sf & f studies): Eric Rabkin
  • Pioneer Award (for the most outstanding sf studies essay of the year): Allison de Fren, “The Anatomical Gaze in Tomorrow’s Eve,” Science Fiction Studies, No. 108, Vol. 36 (2), July 2009: 235-265
  • Clareson Award (for distinguished service): David Mead
  • Mary Kay Bray Award (for the best essay, interview, or extended review in the past year’s SFRA Review): Ritch Calvin, “Mundane SF 101”
  • Student Paper Award (for the best paper presented at the previous year’s SFRA conference): Andrew Ferguson, “Such Delight in Bloody Slaughter: R. A. Lafferty and the Dismemberment of the Body Grotesque”

For more information…

SFWA Names Author Emeritus

SFWA has named Neil Barrett, Jr. as this year’s Author Emeritus. Barrett is the author of more than 50 novels, including The Hereafter Gang, Through Darkest America and The Prince of Christler-Coke. He has published nearly 70 short stories, many of which are collected in A Different Vintage and Perpetuity Blues. Barrett will be honored at this year’s Nebula Award weekend in Cocoa Beach, Florida on the weekend of May 14-15.

For more information…

Superman Surpasses Batman, Again

Within a one week period earlier this year, a copy of Action Comics #1, which introduced Superman, sold for a record $1,000,000, only to be passed by an issue of Detective Comics #27, which introduced Batman, selling for $1,075,500 three days later. Another copy of Action Comics #1 has now been sold for $1,500,000. The newly sold issue was discovered tucked into another magazine in the late 1980s and is in better condition than the one sold earlier this year.

For more information…

Dhalgren in NY

An play based on Samuel Delany’s Dhalgren, entitled Bellona, Destroyer of Cities is scheduled to debut at the Kitchen in New York on Delany’s birthday, April 1. The play has been adapted for the stage by Jay Scheib, who is also directing. Scheib has previously adapted the novel into a German play. The play is scheduled to run through April 3.

For more information…

Bram Stoker Winners

The Bram Stoker Awards were presented on March 27 at a banquet at the World Horror Convention in Brighton, UK. This is the first time the awards, given by the Horror Writers Association, have ever been presented outside North America.

  • Novel: Audrey’s Door, by Sarah Langan
  • First Novel: Damnable, by Hank Schwaeble
  • Long Fiction: The Lucid Dreaming, by Lisa Morton
  • Short Fiction: “In the Porches of My Ears” by Norman Prentiss
  • Anthology: He is Legend, edited by Christopher Conlon
  • Collection: A Taste of Tenderloin, by Gene O’Neill
  • Nonfiction: Writers Workshop of Horror, by Michael Knost
  • Poetry: Chimeric Machines, by Lucy A. Snyder
  • Lifetime Achievement Awards: Brian Lumley and William F. Nolan
  • The Specialty Press Award: Ray Russell and Rosalie Parker for Tartarus Press
  • The Silver Hammer Award (for outstanding service to HWA):Kathryn Ptacek
  • President’s Richard Laymon Service Award: Vince A. Liaguno

For more information…

Obituary: Dick Giordano

Comic editor Dick Giordano (b.1932) died on March 27. Giordano began working on comics in 1951 and worked for DC, Marvel, Dell, Valiant. He was also the editor in chief at Charlton, overseeing the period when Charlton created several iconic superheroes, including The Blue Beetle. When he moved to DC in the late 60s, he brought much of the Charlton talent with him. Giordano inked several comics, perhaps most notably Superman vs. Muhammed Ali.

Obituary: John McGarr

Actor and producer John McGarr (b.1964) was killed by a drunken driver on March 25. McGarr was in Indianapolis to attend Horror Hound Indy when he was struck on his way to breakfast. He produced and appeared in the film House of the Wolf Man. He also appeared in the horror film Sick Girl.

Obituary: Patricia Wrightson

Australian author Patricia Wrightson (b.1921) died on March 15. Wrightson was the recipient of the Hans Christian Andersen Award in 1986 and often used native Australian mythology is her writing. Although Wrightson was best known as a children’s author, she also wrote non-juvenile works such as The Ice is Coming, Journey Behind the Wind, and The Dark Bright Water.

Compton Crook Nominees

The nominees for the Compton Crook Award, presented for the new author for the best novel, have been announced. The winner will be announced at Balticon 44 the weekend of May 28-31. The Compton Crook Award is presented annually by the Baltimore Science Fiction Society.

  • The Windup Girl, by Paolo Bacigalupi
  • Dying Bites, by D.D. Barant
  • Soulless, by Gail Carriger
  • Johannes Cabel, the Necromancer, by Jonathan L. Howard

For More Information…