Obituary: Robert Culp

Actor Robert Culp (b.1930) died on March 24 after falling and hitting his head on the sidewalk in front of his house. Culp is best known for his role as Kelly Robinson in I Spy. In the 1980s, he appeared as Bill Maxwell on The Greatest American Hero. Culp also appeared on a variety of television shows and films with genre ties.

Obituary: Bill Jaaska

Comic artist Bill Jaaska (b.1961) died on November 9, 2009. Jaaska worked on New Titans and wrote two issues of the book in 1994. Other books he worked on included Swamp Thing, The Terminator, and Wolverine.

Obituary: John Hicklenton

Comic artist John Hicklenton (b.1967) died on March 19 after suffering from multiple sclerosis. Hicklenton drew ZombieWorld using the name John Deadstock. Other titles he worked on include Judge Dredd, Nemesis the Warlock, and Third World War. He was first diagnosed with MS in 2000 and in 2008, the documentary Here’s Johnny was released about his experiences.

Prometheus Nominations

This year’s nominees for the Prometheus Award and Hall of Fame have been announced. The awards are presented by the Libertarian Futurist Society and winners will be announced in September at Aussiecon4, which will be held in Melbourne, Australia

Best Novel

  • Hidden Empire, by Orson Scott Card
  • Makers, by Cory Doctorow
  • The Unincorporated Man, by Dani and Eytan Kollin
  • Liberating Atlantis, by Harry Turtledove
  • The United States of Atlantis, by Harry Turtledove

Hall of Fame

  • “As Easy as A.B.C.,” a story by Rudyard Kipling
  • Cryptonomicon, by Neal Stephenson
  • “No Truce with Kings,” by Poul Anderson
  • “‘Repent, Harlequin!’ Said the Ticktockman,” by Harlan Ellison

For more information…

Lambda Awards Short List

The finalists for the Lambda Awards, presented to excellence in literature which deals with LGBT themes, have been announced. The winners will be presented at a ceremony held Thursday, May 27th, 2010 at the School of Visual Arts Theater in New York City. Categories with nominees of genre interest are listed below.

LGBT Children’s/Young Adult

  • Ash, by Malinda Lo
  • How Beautiful the Ordinary, edited by Michael Cart
  • In Mike We Trust, by P.E. Ryan
  • Sprout, by Dale Peck
  • The Vast Fields of Ordinary, by Nick Burd

LGBT SF/Fantasy/Horror

  • Centuries Ago and Very Fast, by Rebecca Ore
  • Fist of the Spider Woman, by Amber Dawn
  • In the Closet, Under the Bed, by Lee Thomas
  • Palimpsest, by Catherynne M. Valente
  • Pumpkin Teeth, by Tom Cardamone

For more information…

Obituary: Joe Manning

Ohio Fan C. Joe Mannings (b.1944) died on March 17. Manning attended numerous events in Klingon costume and organized the Camp Dover Peace Conference, a Star Trek convention. He served in Vietnam and Germany as well as with the Civil Air Patrol.

ChiZine Photo Contest

To celebrate the publication of Philip Nutman’s collection Cities of Night, ChiZine is sponsoring a contest looking for the “most subtle, creepy, evocative photo of your city—or any city—at night.” The winner will receive a hardcopy of the book and twenty-five postcards with their photo on one side and a short story by Nutman, based on the photo, on the other. each entrant may submit up to three photos.

For more information…

FAAn Award Winners

The winners of the 2010 FAAn Awards were announced at Corflu Cobalt in Winchester, UK on March 21. Also announced was the Past President of FWA (D. West). Corflu 2011 will take place in early February at the Domain Hotel in Sunnyvale, CA, hosted by Chris Garcia.

Number 1 Fan Face: Robert Lichtman (not sure I remembered name of the award)
Best New Fanzine Fan: Jacqueline Monahan
Best Fan Writer: Claire Brialey
Best Fan Artist: Steve Stiles
Best Fanzine: Banana Wings
Best Letterhack: Robert Lichtman
Best Website:
Lifetime Achievement: Ted White

Obituary: John Nichols

Poet John Nichols died on March 18. Nichols had poetry appear in Asimov’s, Strange Horizons, The Magazine of Speculative Poetry, and other venues. Nichols spent several years as the treasurer of the Science Fiction Poetry Association. He taught social studies at Cleveland’s South High School and was scheduled to retire at the end of the current semester.

CUFF Winner

Diane Lacey has been announced as this year’s winner of CUFF, the Canadian Unity Fan Fund. Diane will travel to Canvention 30 (KeyCon 27) in Winnipeg and intends to spend a couple of extra days there before venturing south of the border to ConQuest in Kansas City, eventually returning to Winnipeg on her way back to Toronto. Diane beat Rob Uhrig for the honor.

For more information…