Harvey Award Winners

The winners of the Harvey Awards, given for excellence in comics and named for Harvey Kurtzman, were announced over the weekend at the Baltimore Comic Con.

  • Best Writer: Robert Kirkman for The Walking Dead
  • Best Artist: Robert Crumb for Book of Genesis
  • Best Cartoonist: Darwyn Cooke for Richard Stark’s Parker: The Hunter
  • Best Letterer: David Mazzucchelli for Asterios Polyp
  • Best Inker: Klaus Janson for The Amazing Spider-Man
  • Best Colorist: Laura Martin for The Rocketeer: The Complete Adventures
  • Best Cover Artist: Mike Mignola for Hellboy: The Bride of Hell
  • Best New Talent: Rob Guillory for Chew
  • Best New Series: Chew
  • Best Continuing or Limited Series: The Walking Dead
  • Best Original Graphic Publication For Younger Readers: The Muppet Show Comic Book
  • Best Anthology: Wednesday Comics
  • Best Original Graphic Album: Asterios Polyp
  • Best Previously Published Graphic Album: Mutts, by Patrick McDonnell
  • Best Domestic Reprint Projects: The Rocketeer: The Complete Adventures
  • Best American Edition of Foreign Material: The Art of Osamu Tezuma: God of Manga, by Helen McCarthy
  • Best Online Comics Work: PVP, by Scott Kurtz
  • Special Award for Humor in Comics: Scott Pilgrim #5, by Bryan Lee O’Malley
  • Special Award for Excellence in Presentation: The Rocketeer: The Complete Adventures
  • Best Biographical, Historical, or Journalistic Presentation: Art of Harvey Kurtzman: The MAD Genius of Comics, by Denis Kitchen and Paul Buhle
  • Best Single Issue of Story: Asterios Polyp

For more information…