Sunburst Awards

The 2010 Sunburst Award winners have been announced. The Sunburst Award for Canadian Literature of the Fantastic is a juried award given to a Canadian writer for a book length work of SF. The prize comes with a hand-crafted medallion and Can$1,000.

  • Sunburst Award: Indigo Springs, by A.M. Dellamonica
  • Sunburst Young Adult Award: Half World, by Hiromi Goto

For more information…

MacIntyre Postitively IDed

F. Gwynplaine MacIntyre’s brother has announced that the remains found after the fire in MacIntyre’s Brooklyn apartment on June 25 have been positively identified through DNA testing. He has expressed the thanks of his family to those in the sf community who cared about MacIntyre and has declined to provide information about himself or his family out of desire to remain private.

Obituary: Jennifer Rardin

Author Jennifer Rardin (b.1965) died suddenly on September 20. Rardin began publishing her Jaz Parks series of urban fantasy novels in 2007 with Once Bitten, Twice Shy. She has followed her debut novel with five more in the same series.

UMass hosts SF Exhibit

The University of Massachusetts at Amherst is hosting an exhibit entitled “Uncertain Futures: Americans and Science Fiction in the Early Cold War Era.” The exhibit was put together by graduate student Morgan Hubbard and will be open for the next six weeks at the W.E.B. DuBois Library. In addition, the exhibit has an extensive on-line presence.

For more information or to view the on-line exhibit…

Last Drink Bird Head Nominations

Last year, Jeff & Ann VanderMeer began presenting the Last Drink Bird Head Awards for those in the genre community who enrich us with their time, energy, and words, for causes greater than themselves. They have announced the 2009-10 nominees. The winners will be announced on October 16 in conjunction with the WSFS Small Press Awards at Capclave.

Gentle Advocacy
In recognition of individuals willing to enter into blunt discourse about controversial issues…

  • Ay-leen the Peacemaker (for Beyond Victoriana)
  • Hal Duncan (for blogging and Notes from New Sodom)
  • N.K. Jemisin (for blogging and commentary)
  • Jason Sanford (for blogging)

Tireless Energy
In recognition of individuals who selflessly give of themselves for worthy causes, websites, or organizations…

  • Rick Kleffel (for The Agony Column)
  • Leslie Howle (for Clarion West and Hugo House activities)
  • Debbie Notkin (for Tiptree Awards work, Wiscon work, and other activities)
  • Victor Raymond (for past Carl Brandon Society and Interstitial Arts Foundation work, as well as other behind-the-scenes activities)

Promotion of Reading
In recognition of individuals whose efforts contribute to the promotion of reading or an increase in reading proficiency…

  • Colleen Cahill (for Library of Congress work as a genre fiction advocate and as the library’s representative to the ALA)
  • James Gunn (for his work with AboutSF)
  • Julia Starkey (for building the Harvard Library’s SF/F section)
  • Lynne Marie Thomas (for archiving the works and papers of SF/F authors)

Expanding Our Vocabulary
In recognition of writers whose nonfiction, through reviews, blogging, and/or essays, exposes readers to new words and, often, new ideas…

  • Matthew Cheney
  • Anil Menon
  • Abigail Nussbaum
  • Adam Roberts

International Activism
In recognition of those who work to bring writers from other literary traditions and countries to the attention of readers in North America, the United Kingdom, and Australia…

  • Larry Nolen (for coverage of international fiction, primarily on The Of Blog)
  • Charles Tan (for Bibliophile Stalker and The World SF Blog)
  • Lavie Tidhar (for The World SF Blog)
  • Yan Wu, Guangyi Li, and Nathaniel Isaacson (for Chinese Sci Fi )

The Neil Clarke Special Achievement Award

  • Winner: L. Timmel Duchamp

For more information…

British Fantasy Awards

The British Fantasy Awards were presented on September 18 in Nottingham. The winners are listed here.

  • Best Novel: the August Derleth Fantasy Award: One, Conrad Williams
  • Best Novella: The Language Of Dying, by Sarah Pinborough
  • Best Short Fiction: “What Happens When You Wake Up In The Night,” by Michael Marshall Smith
  • Best Anthology: The Mammoth Book Of Best New Horror 20, edited by Stephen Jones
  • Best Collection: Love Songs For The Shy And Cynical, by Robert Shearman
  • The PS Publishing Best Small Press Award: Telos Publishing, David Howe
  • Best Comic/Graphic Novel: Whatever Happened To The Caped Crusader?, Neil Gaiman and Andy Kubert
  • Best Artist: Vincent Chong, for work including covers for The Witnesses Are Gone and The Mammoth Book of Best New Horror 20
  • Best Non-Fiction: Ansible, by David Langford
  • Best Magazine/Periodical: Murky Depths, edited and published by Terry Martin
  • Best Television: Doctor Who, Russell T Davies
  • Best Film: Let The Right One In, directed by Tomas Alfredson
  • Best Newcomer – the Sydney J. Bounds Award:Living with Ghosts, by Kari Sperring
  • The British Fantasy Society Special Award: the Karl Edward Wagner Award: Robert Holdstock

For more information…

Obituary: James Bacon (actor)

Actor James Bacon (b.1914) died on September 18. Not to be confused with the Irish SF fan, Bacon appeared in all five Planet of the Apes films, usually as an ape, although he portrayed a human, General Faulkner, in Escape from the Planet of the Apes. Bacon, who primarily made his living as a journalist, also had minor roles in the films Capricorn 1 and Meteor.

Actor Found Guilty

Actor Shelley Malil has been found guilty of attempted murder after stabbing his girlfriend more than twenty times during a quarrel in 2008. He was acquitted of an additional charge of residential burglary. Malil faces up to 16 years in prison. Best known for his role in The 40 Year Old Virgin, Malil’s genre credits include episodes of The Adventures of Briscoe County, Jr., Good vs. Evil, and Sabrina, the Teenage Witch, and the film My Favorite Martian.

For more information…

Writers/Illustrators of the Future Grand Prize Winners

The Writers of the Future and Illustrators of the Future announced the winners of their respective grand prizes. In addition, all the quarterly winners were recognized and received trophies and cash prizes. The event included workshops with some of the judges of the contests, which include such figures as Mike Resnick, Orson Scott Card, Bob Eggleton, Vincent di Fate, and others.

  • Writer of the Future: “Living Rooms,” by Laurie Tom
  • Illustrator of the Future: Seth J. Rowanwood

For more information…

New Tangent Assistant Editor

Tangent Online editor and publisher Dave Truesdale has announced that Bryan Thomas Schmidt has accepted the position of Assistant Editor for E-Zines for the on-line short fiction review magazine. Schmidt will be responsible for ensuring that tangent has broad coverage of the current e-zine markets.

For more information…