World Fantasy Awards

The 2010 World Fantasy Awards were presented today at World Fantasy Con in Columbus, Ohio. Winners are listed below. The Lifetime Achievement Awards were previously announced.

  • Novel: The City & The City, by China Miéville
  • Novella: “Sea-Hearts,” by Margo Lanagan
  • Short Story: “The Pelican Bar,” by Karen Joy Fowler
  • Anthology: American Fantastic Tales: Terror and the Uncanny: From Poe to the Pulps/From the 1940s to Now , edited by Peter Straub
  • Collection (tie): There Once Lived a Woman Who Tried To Kill Her Neighbor’s Baby: Scary Fairy Tales, by Ludmilla Petrushevskaya; The Very Best of Gene Wolfe/The Best of Gene Wolfe, by Gene Wolfe
  • Artist: Charles Vess
  • Special Award-Professional: Jonathan Strahan for editing anthologies
  • Special Award-Non-professional: Susan Marie Groppi for Strange Horizons
  • Lifetime Achievement: Brian Lumley, Terry Pratchett, Peter Straub

For more information…

Obituary: James MacArthur

Actor James MacArthur (b.1937) died on October 28. MacArthur is best known for his role as Detective Danny “Danno” Williams on Hawaii Five-0, but he also appeared in episodes of Time Express, The Adventures of Superboy, Tarzan, and Fantasy Island. He also appeared in several Disney films, including Swiss Family Robinson. At the time of his death, producers of the new Hawaii Five-0 were negotiating to have him appear on the show.

Obituary: Lauren Uroff

Los Angeles fan Lauren Uroff (b.1959) died on March 2 from breast cancer. Uroff was diagnosed with cancer in 2009. Uroff was an avid reader and active in many on-line communities.

Hobbits in Kiwiland

Following a demonstration and negotiations, Warner Brothers has announced that it plans to keep production of The Hobbit in New Zealand, where Peter Jackson previously filmed the three Lord of the Rings films. The New Zealand government offered to change some local labor laws and offered increased financial incentives. Filming on the two films is expected to begin in February.

For more information…

Obituary: Mike Esposito

Comic book illustrator Mike Esposito (b.1927) died on October 24. Esposito worked on Wonder Woman during the Silver Age and co-created the Metal Men for DC. In the mid-60s, he began freelancing for Marvel, using the name Mickey Dee to hide his identity from DC. Esposito worked on many of the major DC and Marvel titles and also helped create Hell-Rider. Esposito was inducted into the Will Eisner Comic Book Hall of Fame in 2005. One of his Wonder Woman drawings was featured on a US postage stamp in 2006.

Obituary: Lamont Johnson

Director and actor Lamont Johnson (b.1922) died on October 24. Johnson won two Emmy awards for his television work. In the early 1950s, Johnson portrayed Tarzan on the radio show Tarzan, Lord of the Jungle. Moving into film, he directed several episodes of the original The Twilight Zone, including “Five Characters In Search of an Exit,” and Spacehunter.

Obituary: Hans Arnold

Artist Hans Arnold (b.1925) died on October 25. Arnold was born in Switzerland and moved to Sweden in 1947. Throughout the 50s, 60s, and 70s, he provided illustrations for various short fiction magazines. Mostly known for his horror illustrations, Arnold helped found the Swedish Horror Academy.

WSFA Small Press Award

The winner of the WSFA Small Press Award, given to a piece of short fiction published by a small press publisher, was announced at Capclave on the weekend of October 22-24. This year’s winner is “Siren Beat,” by Tansy Rayner Roberts, published by Twelfth Planet Press.

Last Drink Bird Head Awards

The winners of the Last Dirnk Bird Head Awards, presented by Jeff & Ann VanderMeer, were announced at Capclave over the weekend of October 22-24. The awards are given to “celebrate those in the genre community who enrich us with their time, energy, and words, for causes greater than themselves.”

  • Gentle Advocacy: Ay-leen the Peacemaker (for Beyond Victoriana)
  • Tireless Energy: Leslie Howle (for Clarion West and Hugo House activities)
  • Promotion of Reading: Colleen Cahill (for Library of Congress work as a genre fiction advocate and as the library’s representative to the ALA)
  • Expanding Our Vocabulary: Matthew Cheney
  • International Activism: Lavie Tidhar (for the World SF Blog)
  • The Neil Clarke Special Achievement Award: L. Timmel Duchamp

For more information…

Fantasy Magazine Relaunch

Fantasy Magazine will relaunch in March 2011 with a new look, new approach, and John Joseph Adams replacing Sean Wallace and Cat Rambo as editor. Wallace will remain the magazine’s publisher and Adams intends to bring the magazine in line with Lightspeed, also published by Prime. Fiction selections made by Wallace and Rambo will run through the February 2011 issue.

For more information…