Literary Outreach Program

The Science Fiction Outreach Initiative has been established to provide free books to conmembers at various conventions, beginning with Wondercon, a comic book convention in San Francisco in April. Wondercon attracts 34,000 people and the books will be given out, along with information about Renovation, Chicon 7, and Worldcons in general with the hope that it will attract new members to Worldcons. The first book drive was hosted by Loscon and the Science Fiction Outreach Initiative is sponsored by RCFI, Chicon 7, SFSFC Inc., the London in 2014 Worldcon bid, and a very generous private donor.

For more information…

Hour of the Wolf Time Change

Jim Freund’s Hour of the Wolf ended its 38-year run in the 5-7 AM slot on November 13. The show has had a time change and is now appearing on WBAI on Thursday mornings from 1:30-3:00 AM, beginning on November 25. Hour of the Wolf includes interviews, readings, and radio dramas related to science fiction. It was founded in 1972 by Margot Adler, with Freund as a co-host for science fiction shows. When Adler left in 1974, Freund took over as host.

For more information…

Obituary: William Self

William E. Self (b.1921) died on November 15. Self worked as a production manager for several television shows of genre interest, including Batman, Land of the Giants, The Ghost and Mrs. Muir, Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea, Lost in Space, and Time Tunnel. Self appeared in several films as well, including The Thing from Another World.

Haywood-Cory Promoted

Laura Haywood-Cory has been promoted to Associate Editor at Baen Books. Haywood-Cory has previously served as an editorial assistant at Baen and has long been active in science fiction fandom and con-running.

Klingon Christmas Carol

The Commedia Beauregard will be performing A Klingon Christmas Carol from November 26-December 19 at the Greenhouse Theater Center at 2257 N. Lincoln Avenue in Chicago. This version of Charles Dickens’s novel A Christmas Carol is adapted to reflect the Klingon Code of the Warrior and has been translated into Klingon. Tickets are normally $32, but on November 29, bringing a canned food donation will allow a $10 discount and three canned food items will allow a free ticket.

For more information…

Autistica Auction

Peter F. Hamilton, David Mitchell and 15 other authors are auctioning off tuckerizations while James Sallis and four other authors are auctioning off a writing feedback session as a fundraiser for Autistica, the charity that funds research into early diagnosis, more effective treatments and the causes of autism – a condition which affects one in a hundred children. The auctions run on E-bay through November 21.

For more information…

Illie Award

Mark Zug’s painting “Helium” was named the winner of the Illie Award at ILLuXCon 3 during the weekend of November 12. The Illie is presented to the single best traditionally created painting of the year, as chosen by the members of the Illustration Exchange.

For more information…

Change at Tangent On-line

Tangent On-line assistant e-zine editor Bryan Thomas Schmidt has resigned. His replacement is Kevin Tipple, who will be taking over the position immediately.

For more information…

Nova Awards

The winners of the Nova Award, presented at Novacon for best fanzine, fan writer, and fan artist, were announced the weekend of November 12. The winners are selected by a vote of the membership of Novacon.

  • Best Fanzine: Journey Planet #7, edited by Christopher J Garcia, Claire Brialey, and James Bacon
  • Best Fan Writer: Mark Plummer
  • Best Fan Artist: James ATom

For more information…

Endeavour Awards

The Endeavour Awards were announced at Orycon on the weekend of November 12-14. This year’s winner is Mind Over Ship, by David Marusek. Marusek received a $1,000 grant and an etched glass plaque produced by Kent, Washington, artist Ashley J. Harper. The Endeavour Awards are presented for a science fiction or fantasy book published by an author with ties to the Pacific Northwest. This year’s judges included Robin Wayne Bailey, Laura Anne Gilman, and Madeleine Robins.

For more information…