Tiptree Award Winner

The winners of the James Tiptree, Jr. Award, given annually for gender-bending speculative fiction, have been announced. The awards will be presented at Wiscon on Memorial Day weekend. This year’s judges included Penny Hill, Euan Bear, Jessa Crispin, Alice Kim, and
Lawrence Schimel.

Baba Yaga Laid an Egg, by Dubravka Ugresic

Furthermore, an honor list of six works was announced:

The Bone Palace, by Amanda Downum
The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms, by N.K. Jemisin
“Diana Comet and the Disappearing Lover,” (a.k.a. “Diana Comet”) by Sandra McDonald
“Drag Queen Astronaut,” by Sandra McDonald
The Secret Feminist Cabal, by Helen Merrick
Who Fears Death, by Nnedi Okorafor
Living with Ghosts, by Kari Sperring
The Colony, by Jillian Weise

For more information…