Sidewise Award Nominees

This year’s nominees for the Sidewise Award for Alternate History have been announced. The winners will be announced at Renovation, this year’s Worldcon, in Reno, Nevada during the weekend of August 17. The awards ceremony has tentatively been scheduled for Thursday, August 18 at 9:00 PM. The Sidewise Awards have been presented annually since 1995 to recognize excellence in alternate historical fiction. This year’s panel of judges was made up of Stephen Baxter, Evelyn Leeper, Jim Rittenhouse, Stu Shiffman, Kurt Sidaway, and Steven H Silver.

Short Form

  • Mammoths of the Great Plains, by Eleanor Arnason
  • “Alten Kameraden,” by Barry B. Longyear
  • “Sidewinders,” by Ken MacLeod
  • “A Clash of Eagles,” by Alan Smale
  • “Goin’ Down to Anglotown,” by William F. Wu

Long Form

  • Columbia & Britannia, by Adam Chamberlain & Brian A. Dixon
  • Red Inferno: 1945, by Robert Conroy
  • Pinion, by Jay Lake
  • When Angels Wept, by Eric Swedin

For more information…

  1. [links] Link salad says Happy Father’s Day | — June 19, 2011 @ 9:55 am

    […] Sidewise Award Nominees — Yours truly is up for a Sidewise award for my novel Pinion. […]

  2. Regina Longyear — June 19, 2011 @ 1:08 pm

    Barry Longyear’s story title is “Alten Kameraden”. Just a gentle correction.
    Thank you,
    Regina Longyear

  3. June 20, 2011 Links and Plugs : Hobbies and Rides — June 21, 2011 @ 4:44 am

    […] Sidewise Award Nominees. […]

  4. Quick Updates for 2011-06-19 — June 21, 2011 @ 12:02 pm

    […] Congratulations to SFWA member Jay Lake whose novel PINION was nominated for the Sidewise award. […]