Obituary: John Neville

Actor John Neville (b.1925) died on November 19. Neville may be best known for his portrayal of Baron Munchausen in Terry Gilliam’s The Adventures of Baron Munchausen. Neville provided the voice for Eternity in the animated Silver Surfer series and portrayed The Well-Manicured Man in The X-Files. Neville also appeared as Isaac Newton in an episode of Star Trek: The Next Generation.

Obituary: Alvin Schwartz

Comic book author Alvin Schwartz (b.1916) died on October 26. Schwartz began writing for comics in 1939 and became a writer for Captain Marvel before working on Batman in 1942 and, beginning in 1944, the Batman and Superman newspaper strips. He went on to write for many of DC’s top titles in the 1940s and helped create the Superman villain Bizarro. Schwartz retired from the comics field in 1958 and received a Bill Finger Award in 2006.

Obituary: Wendall Ing

Boston fan Wendall Ing (b.1940) died on November 11 after a lengthy illness. Ing was active in Boston fandom and had been named a Fellow of NESFA. He was active in the search which found the building that became the NESFA Clubhouse.

Aurora Award Winners

The English language Aurora Awards for Canadian Science Fiction were presented this weekend in Toronto at SFContario 2. The Francophone winners were announced on May 15 in Montreal. The winners are listed below.

  • Best Novel – English: WWW: Watch, by Robert J. Sawyer
  • Best Short Form – English: “The Burden of Fire,” by Hayden Trenholm
  • Best Poem/Song: “The ABCs of the End of the World,” by Carolyn Clink
  • Best Graphic Novel – English: Goblins, by Tarol Hunt
  • Best Related Work – English: The Dragon and the Stars, edited by Derwin Mak and Eric Choi
  • Best Artist: Erik Mohr
  • Best Fan Filk: Dave Clement and Tom Jeffers
  • Best Fan Organizational: Helen Marshall and Sandra Kasturi for Toronto SpecFic Colloquium
  • Best Fan Other: John Mansfield and Linda Ross Mansfield, Aurora Award pins

For more information…

Glenn, Armstrong, Aldrin, Collins Honored

Astronauts John Glenn, Neil Armstrong, Buzz Aldrin, and Michael Collins were honored on November 16 when they were each awarded the Congressional Medal of Honor in a ceremony at the Capitol Rotunda. The medals were presented by Representatives John Boehner and Nancy Pelosi and Senators Harry Reid and Mitch McConnell. The Congressional Gold Medal is the highest civilian award in the United States. Glenn flew into space twice, on the third Mercury mission and on STS-95. Armstrong, Aldrin, and Collins flew on the first lunar landing mission and each also flew on a Gemini mission. The Apollo astronauts received the Presidential Medal of Honor in 1969.

For more information…

Nova Awards

The Nova Award winners were announced the weekend of November 11 at Novacon. The Nova Awards are presented to recognize excellence in British fanzine publishing and writing.

  • Best Fanzine: Head, edited by Doug Bell & Christina Lake
  • Best Fanzine Writer: Claire Brialey
  • Best Fanzine Artist: Dave Hicks

For more information…

Odyssey On-Line

The Odyssey Writers Workshop has announced three new on-line writing classes. Admission to the courses is limited and applications are due for each course at various times in December. Founded seventeen years ago, Odyssey added an on-line component, which has proved popular, two years ago.

  • Showing versus Telling in Fantastic Fiction, taught by Jeanne Cavelos (1/4/12-2/1/12)
  • Secrets of Literary Agents, taught by Lindsay Ribar (1/9/12-1/23/12)
  • Narrative Structures in Fantastic Fiction, taught by Bruce Holland Rogers (1/25/12-2/22/12)

For more information…

ISFiC Writers Contest Winner

Mary Mascari won the ISFiC Writer’s Contest with her story “The Pod.” The contest is sponsored by ISFiC in conjunction with Windycon. Mascari won a membership at Windycon, room night, and $300. Her story was published in the con program book. This year’s contest was judged by Bill Fawcett, Roland Green, and Elizabeth Anne Hull. This is Mascari’s second ISFiC Writer’s Contest victory, joining previous two-time winners Richard Chwedyk and C.T. Fluhr.

For more information…

Endeavour Award Winner

Cherie Priest won this year’s Endeavour Award for her novel Dreadnought. The winner was announced at Orycon and the award comes with a $1,000 prize and an engraved glass plaque. The Endeavour Award was established to recognize works of SF by authors working and living in the Pacific Northwest. The judges for the 2011 Award were Bud Sparhawk, John Joseph Adams, and Jo Walton.

For more information…

Adams Buys Magazines

John Joseph Adams, the editor of Lightspeed and Fantasy magazines, has purchased both titles from Sean Wallace at Prime Books. Fantasy debuted in 2005 and Adams became editor in 2011. He was the founding editor of Lightspeed in 2010. Adams will officially become publisher of both magazines in January, 2012.

For information on Lightspeed
For information on Fantasy