Hugo Nominations

This year’s Hugo nominees were announced by LoneStarCon 3 at four different conventions on March 30. All members of LoneStarCon 3, the 71st World Science Fiction Convention, are eligible to vote for this year’s winners, which will be announced at the Worldcon.

Best Novel

  • 2312, by Kim Stanley Robinson
  • Blackout, by Mira Grant
  • Captain Vorpatril’s Alliance, by Lois McMaster Bujold
  • Redshirts: A Novel with Three Codas, by John Scalzi
  • Throne of the Crescent Moon, by Saladin Ahmed

Best Novella

  • After the Fall, Before the Fall, During the Fall, by Nancy Kress
  • The Emperor’s Soul, by Brandon Sanderson
  • On a Red Station, Drifting, by Aliette de Bodard
  • San Diego 2014: The Last Stand of the California Browncoats, by Mira Grant
  • “The Stars Do Not Lie,” by Jay Lake

Best Novelette

  • “The Boy Who Cast No Shadow,” by Thomas Olde Heuvelt
  • “Fade To White,” by Catherynne M. Valente
  • “The Girl-Thing Who Went Out for Sushi,” by Pat Cadigan
  • “In Sea-Salt Tears,” by Seanan McGuire
  • “Rat-Catcher,” by Seanan McGuire

Best Short Story
This category has 3 nominees due to a 5% requirement under Section 3.8.5 of the WSFS constitution.

  • “Immersion,” by Aliette de Bodard
  • “Mantis Wives,” by Kij Johnson
  • “Mono no Aware,” by Ken Liu

Best Related Work

  • The Cambridge Companion to Fantasy Literature, edited by Edward James and Farah Mendlesohn
  • Chicks Dig Comics: A Celebration of Comic Books by the Women Who Love Them, edited by Lynne M. Thomas and Sigrid Ellis
  • Chicks Unravel Time: Women Journey Through Every Season of Doctor Who, edited by Deborah Stanish and L.M. Myles
  • I Have an Idea for a Book… The Bibliography of Martin H. Greenberg, compiled by Martin H. Greenberg, edited by John Helfers
  • Writing Excuses Season Seven, by Brandon Sanderson, Dan Wells, Mary Robinette Kowal, Howard Tayler, and Jordan Sanderson

Best Graphic Story

  • Grandville Bête Noire, written and illustrated by Bryan Talbot
  • Locke & Key Volume 5: Clockworks, written by Joe Hill, illustrated by Gabriel Rodriguez
  • Saga, Volume One, written by Brian K. Vaughn, illustrated by Fiona Staples
  • Schlock Mercenary: Random Access Memorabilia, by Howard Tayler, colors by Travis Walton
  • Saucer Country, Volume 1: Run, written by Paul Cornell, illustrated by Ryan Kelly, Jimmy Broxton, and Goran Sudžuka

Best Dramatic Presentation (Long Form)

  • The Avengers, screenplay and directed by Joss Whedon (Marvel Studios, Disney,
  • The Cabin in the Woods, screenplay by Drew Goddard & Joss Whedon; directed by Drew Goddard
  • The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey, screenplay by Fran Walsh, Philippa Boyens, Peter Jackson, and Guillermo del Toro, directed by Peter Jackson
  • The Hunger Games, screenplay by Gary Ross & Suzanne Collins, directed by Gary Ross
  • Looper, screenplay and directed by Rian Johnson

Best Dramatic Presentation (Short Form)

  • Doctor Who: “The Angels Take Manhattan,” written by Steven Moffat, directed by Nick Hurran
  • Doctor Who: “Asylum of the Daleks,” written by Steven Moffat; directed by Nick Hurran
  • Doctor Who: “The Snowmen,” written by Steven Moffat, directed by Saul Metzstein
  • Fringe: “Letters of Transit,” written by J.J. Abrams, Alex Kurtzman, Roberto Orci, Akiva Goldsman, J.H.Wyman, Jeff Pinkner. directed by Joe Chappelle
  • Game of Thrones: “Blackwater,” written by George R.R. Martin, directed by Neil Marshall. created by David Benioff and D.B. Weiss

Best Editor – Short Form

  • John Joseph Adams
  • Neil Clarke
  • Stanley Schmidt
  • Jonathan Strahan
  • Sheila Williams

Best Editor – Long Form

  • Lou Anders
  • Sheila Gilbert
  • Liz Gorinsky
  • Patrick Nielsen Hayden
  • Toni Weisskopf

Best Professional Artist

  • Vincent Chong
  • Julie Dillon
  • Dan Dos Santos
  • Chris McGrath
  • John Picacio

Best Semiprozine

  • Apex Magazine, edited by Lynne M. Thomas, Jason Sizemore, and Michael Damian Thomas
  • Beneath Ceaseless Skies, edited by Scott H. Andrews
  • Clarkesworld, edited by Neil Clarke, Jason Heller, Sean Wallace, and Kate Baker
  • Lightspeed, edited by John Joseph Adams and Stefan Rudnicki
  • Strange Horizons, edited by Niall Harrison, Jed Hartman, Brit Mandelo, An Owomoyela, Julia Rios, Abigail Nussbaum, Sonya Taaffe, Dave Nagdeman, and Rebecca Cross

Best Fanzine

  • Banana Wings, edited by Claire Brialey and Mark Plummer
  • The Drink Tank, edited by Chris Garcia and James Bacon
  • Elitist Book Reviews, edited by Steven Diamond
  • Journey Planet, edited by James Bacon, Chris Garcia, Emma J. King, Helen J. Montgomery, and Pete Young
  • SF Signal, edited by John DeNardo, JP Frantz, and Patrick Hester

Best Fancast

  • The Coode Street Podcast, Jonathan Strahan and Gary K. Wolfe
  • Galactic Suburbia Podcast, Alisa Krasnostein, Alexandra Pierce, Tansy Rayner Roberts (Presenters), and Andrew Finch (Producer)
  • SF Signal Podcast, Patrick Hester, John DeNardo, and JP Frantz
  • SF Squeecast, Elizabeth Bear, Paul Cornell, Seanan McGuire, Lynne M. Thomas, Catherynne M. Valente (Presenters), and David McHone-Chase (Technical Producer)
  • StarShipSofa, Tony C. Smith

Best Fan Writer

  • James Bacon
  • Christopher J Garcia
  • Mark Oshiro
  • Tansy Rayner Roberts
  • Steven H Silver

Best Fan Artist

  • Galen Dara
  • Brad W. Foster
  • Spring Schoenhuth
  • Maurine Starkey
  • Steve Stiles

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer
Award for the best new professional science fiction or fantasy writer of 2011 or 2012, sponsored by Dell Magazines (not a Hugo Award).

  • Zen Cho
  • Max Gladstone
  • Mur Lafferty
  • Stina Leicht
  • Chuck Wendig

For more information…

  1. Hugo Nominees Announced | Fuddster Dot Com — March 31, 2013 @ 5:17 am

    […] I was planning to post the complete list of nominees here, but enough websites are doing that, so I’ll just mention a few of my thoughts here and let you get back to the rest of the […]