Compton Crook Winner

Myke Cole won this year’s Compton Crook Award for best first novel for his book Shadow Ops: Control Point. The award comes with a prize of $1,000 and the winner will be treated as a guest of honor for two consecutive Balticons. A plaque will be presented to Cole at Balticon at 8:00pm on Friday, May 24, 2013.

For more information…

Obituary: Richard Thorpe

Actor Richard Thorpe (b.1932) died on May 22. Thorpe is best known for his lengthy role on Emmerdale, but also appeared in an episode of Timeslip. He played Sir Gareth in the film Sword of Lancelot and also appeared in the horror film Melody in the Dark.

Obituary: Mike Gray

Producer Mike Gray (b.1935) died on April 30. Gray served as a producer and director for the 1986 television series Starman, based on the film of the same title. He also produced thirteen episodes of the series Star Trek: The Next Generation. In addition to writing for both of those series, Gray co-wrote the influential film The China Syndrome.

Obituary: Christine White

Actress Christine White (b.1932) died on April 14. White appeared in two episodes of The Twilight Zone, playing Kitty Cavanaugh in “The Prime Mover” and Julia Wilson, William Shatner’s seatmate, in “Nightmare at 20,000 Feet.” She also appeared in the Alcoa Presents: One Step Beyond adaptation of The Haunting.

Asimov’s and Analog Poll Winners

The winners of the Analog Science Fiction and Fact Analytical Laboratory Winners and the Asimov’s Readers’ Poll were announced at the Dell Magazines breakfast on Saturday, March 18 in San Jose, CA as part of the Nebula Weekend.

Analog Science Fiction and Fact Analytical Laboratory Winners

  • Best Novella: “Nightfall on the Peak of Eternal Light,” by Richard A. Lovett & William Gleason
  • Best Novelette: “Ninety Thousand Horses,” by Sean McMullen
  • Best Short Story: “Titanium Soul,” by Catherine Shaffer
  • Best Fact: “Faster Than a Speeding Photon,” by Edward M. Lerner
  • Best Cover: October 2012 by Michael Whelan

Asimov’s Readers’ Poll

  • Best Novella: “Murder Born,” by Robert Reed
  • Best Novelette: “The Way of the Needle,” by Derek Künsken
  • Best Short Story: “Final Exam,” by Megan Arkenberg; “Sexy Robot Mom,” by Sandra McDonald
  • Best Poem: “Future History,” by Joe Haldeman
  • Best Cover Artist: Laura Diehl

Aurealis Awards

The Aurealis Awards winners were announced May 18, 2013 in North Sydney, Australia. Next year’s awards will be in Canberra.

  • Fantasy Novel: Sea Hearts, by Margo Lanagan
  • Fantasy Short Story: “Bajazzle,” by Margo Lanagan
  • Science Fiction Novel: The Rook, by Daniel O’Malley
  • Science Fiction Short Story: “Significant Dust,” by Margo Lanagan
  • Horror Novel: Perfections, by Kirstyn McDermott
  • Horror Short Story: “Sky,” by Kaaron Warren
  • Young Adult Novel: Dead, Actually, by Kaz Delaney; and Sea Hearts, by Margo Lanagan
  • Young Adult Short Story: “The Wisdom of the Ants,” by Thoraiya Dyer
  • Children’s Fiction (told primarily through words): Brotherband: The Hunters, by John Flanagan
  • Children’s Fiction (told primarily through pictures): Little Elephants, by Graeme Base
  • Illustrated Book/Graphic Novel: Blue, by Pat Grant
  • Anthology: The Best Science Fiction & Fantasy of the Year Volume 6, edited by Jonathan Strahan
  • Collection: That Book Your Mad Ancestor Wrote, by K. J. Bishop
  • 2012 Peter McNamara Convenors’ Award for Excellence: Kate Eltham
  • 2012 Kris Hembury Encouragement Awards: Laura Goodin

For more information…

Nebula Awards Presented

SFWA presented the 48th annual Nebula Awards in San Jose, CA on May 18. In addition to the Nebula Awards, SFWA also presented the Solstice Awards, the Kevin O’Donnell Service to SFWA Award, the Damon Knight Grand Master Award, the Andre Norton Award, and the Ray Bradbury Award.

  • Best Novel: 2312, by Kim Stanley Robinson
  • Best Novella: After the Fall, Before the Fall, During the Fall, by Nancy Kress
  • Best Novelette: “Close Encounters,” by Andy Duncan
  • Best Short Story: “Immersion,” by Aliette de Bodard
  • Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy: Fair Coin, by E. C. Myers
  • Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation: Beasts of the Southern Wild, written by Lucy Alibar and Benh Zeitlin, directed by Benh Zeitlin
  • Solstice Award: Ginjer Buchanan and Carl Sagan
  • Kevin J. O’Donnell Service to SFWA Award: Michael H. Payne
  • Damon Knight Grand Master Award: Gene Wolfe

Changes at Spectrum

After twenty years of editing Spectrum Fantastic Art Annual, Cathy and Arnie Fenner have announced their plans to turn the book over to John Fleskes, of Flesk Publications, with volume 21. Fleskes will handle the judging process and publication of the annual book.

For more information…

Obituary: Aubrey Woods

Actor Aubrey Woods (b.1928) died on May 7. Woods is best known for his role as the candy store owner in Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory, but the following year, he also portrayed the Controller in the Doctor Who serial “Day of the Daleks.” He also appeared in an episode of Blakes 7 and the film The Abominable Dr. Phibes. In addition to his roles in film and television, Woods had a long career on the British stage.

Mythopoeic Nominees Announced

The nominees for the Mythopoeic Awards have been announced. In addition to fiction awards for adult and children’s literature, the awards also recognize scholarship in fantasy literature and Inkling studies. The winners of this year’s awards will be announced during Mythcon 44, during the weekend of July 12-15, in East Lansing, Michigan.

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature

  • Weirdstone trilogy, consisting of The Weirdstone of Brisingamen, The Moon of Gomrath, and Boneland, by Alan Garner
  • The Drowning Girl, by Caitlin R. Kiernan
  • Death and Resurrection, by R.A. MacAvoy
  • Hide Me Among the Graves, by Tim Powers
  • Digger, vols. 1-6, by Ursula Vernon

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature

  • Giants Beware!, by Jorge Aguirre and Rafael Rosado
  • Vessel , by Sarah Beth Durst
  • The Princess Curse , by Merrie Haskell
  • The Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom, by Christopher Healy
  • The Spy Princess, by Sherwood Smith

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies

  • C.S. Lewis and the Middle Ages, Robert Boenig
  • C.S. Lewis, Poetry, and the Great War 1914-1918, by John Bremer
  • Tolkien and the Study of His Sources: Critical Essays, edited by Jason Fisher
  • Green Suns and Faërie: Essays on J.R.R. Tolkien, by Verlyn Flieger
  • Exploring J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Hobbit, by Corey Olsen

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies

  • Song of the Vikings: Snorri and the Making of Norse Myths, by Nancy Marie Brown
  • Fairy Tale Queens: Representations of Early Modern Queenship, by Jo Eldridge Carney
  • The Christian Goddess: Archetype and Theology in the Fantasies of George MacDonald, by Bonnie Gaarden
  • As If: Modern Enchantment and the Literary Prehistory of Virtual Reality, by Michael Saler
  • Critical Discourses of the Fantastic, 1712-1831, by David Sandner

For more information…