Cadigan Diagnosed with Cancer

Author Pat Cadigan has announced that she has been diagnosed with cancer. Cadigan notes that her diagnoses is early and her prognosis is good, with her doctor saying that once the cancer is excised, she should make a full recovery. Cadigan, the author of the novels Synners and Cellular, won the Locus Award for Best Novelette for “The Girl-Thing Who Went Out for Sushi” the weekend after she made her announcement.

For more information…

Locus Winners

The winners for this year Locus Poll were announced on June 29 in Seattle, Washington.

  • Science Fiction Novel: Redshirts, by John Scalzi
  • Fantasy Novel: The Apocalypse Codex, by Charles Stross
  • Young Adult Book: Railsea, by China Miéville
  • First Novel: Throne of the Crescent Moon, by, Saladin Ahmed
  • Novella: After the Fall, Before the Fall, During the Fall, by Nancy Kress
  • Novelette: “The Girl-Thing Who Went Out for Sushi,” by Pat Cadigan
  • Short Story: “Immersion,” by Aliette de Bodard
  • Anthology: Edge of Infinity, edited by Jonathan Strahan
  • Collection: Shoggoths in Bloom, by Elizabeth Bear
  • Magazine: Asimov’s
  • Publisher: Tor
  • Editor: Ellen Datlow
  • Artist: Michael Whelan
  • Non-Fiction: Distrust That Particular Flavor, by William Gibson
  • Art Book: Spectrum 19: The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art, edited by Cathy Fenner & Arnie Fenner

For more information…

Obituary: Richard Matheson

Author Richard Matheson (b.1926) died on June 23. Matheson was the author of multiple seminal works in science fiction, fantasy, and horror, including I Am Legend, turned into the films The Last Man on Earth, The Omega Man, and I Am Legend, What Dreams May Come, turned into a film of the same title, Bid Time Return, made into the film Somewhere in Time, and The Shrinking Man, also turned into a film. He wrote several episodes of The Twilight Zone, including the classic “Nightmare at 20,000 Feet.” Matheson received Lifetime Achievement Awards from both the World Fantasy Con and the Horror Writers of America, and in 2010 he was inducted into the Science Fiction Hall of Fame. Matheson was a Worldcon Guest of Honor in 1958 at Solacon.

SF Hall of Fame Inductees

This year’s inductees into the Science Fiction Hall of Fame have been announced. The Hall of Fame is now part of the Icons of Science Fiction exhibit at the Experience Music Project Museum.

  • Davie Bowie
  • H.R. Giger
  • Judith Merril
  • Joanna Russ
  • J.R.R. Tolkien

For more information…

Walking on Glass Walk

A walk in memory of Iain M. Banks is scheduled for June 29. The walk will take place in London and will follow the chapter titles used by Banks in the Graham Park portion of Banks’s second novel, Walking on Glass. Participants will meet up at the corner of Southampton Row and Theobald’s Road at 1:00 PM on June 29, the day after the thirtieth anniversary of the walk that occurs in the book.

For more information…

Tacoma May Name Park for Herbert

Tacoma (WA) Park Commissioner Erik Hanberg and Landmark Commissioner Daniel Rahe have started a campaign to name a new park being built in Tacoma for science fiction author Frank Herbert. The park is being built on a plot of land where fresh dirt is being laid to cover smelter slag. Herbert lived in Tacoma in the 1950s and the ecological damage done by the Asarco Smelter informed his ecological themes in Dune.

For more information…

Obituary: James Gandolfini

Actor James Gandolfini (b.1956) died on June 19 in Italy. Best known for his role as mobster Tony Soprano, he also appeared in the films Where the Wild Things Are, Shock! Shock! Shock!, and Perdita Durango.

Obituary: Parke Godwin

Author Parke Godwin (b.1929) died on June 19 after a lengthy illness. Godwin won the World Fantasy Award for his story “The Fire When It Comes.” Godwin wrote a three volume Arthurian saga set in the fifth century, beginning with Firelord. A decade later, he began a three volume Robin Hood series starting with Sherwood. His two book series beginning with Waiting for the Galactic Bus was a satire on American culture. He began publishing fiction in 1977 with the story “Unsigned Original” and a year later published the novel Masters of Solitude with Marvin Kaye. His final two novels were published under the pseudonym Kate Hawks.

Obituary: Kim Thompson

Journalist and publisher Kim Thompson (b.1956) died on June 19. Thompson began reading comics as a child in Denmark and his letters began to fill the Marvel letter columns in the early 1970s. Thompson published articles in comic fanzines prior to arriving in the US in 1977, when he became friends with Gary Groth and began working at Fantagraphics. He took over the ownership of The Comics Journal in 1978. From 1982 through 1992, Thompson edited Amazing Heroes and helped champion the publication of European comics in the US.

Kurd Laßwitz Winners

The winners for this year’s Kurd Laßwitz award for science fiction published in Germany were announced on June 16.

  • Best Novel: Pulsarnacht, by Dietmar Dath
  • Best Short Story: “Im Käfig,” by Klaus N. Frick
  • Best Foreign work: “Die Hölle ist die Abwesenheit Gottes,” by Ted Chiang (“Hell is the Absence of God”)
  • Best Translation: Birgit Herden, Dorothea Kallfass, and Hannes Riffel for translating: Paolo Bacigalupi’s “Der Spieler” “The Player”
  • Best Illustration: artwork appearing by Moreau, by Thomas Franke
  • Best Radioplay: Unerwartete Ereignisse, by Heinz von Cramer
  • Special Prize for Achievement in 2012: Ralf Boldt and Wolfgang Jeschke for being anthologist of Die Stille nach dem Ton
  • Special Prize for Achievement over the Years: Ernst Wurdack for supporting German science-fiction and new talents as a publisher by publishing anthologies and story collections.

For more information…