Aurora Nominations Announced

The 2014 Aurora Award ballot for English language has been announced. Mmbers of the Canadian Science Fiction and Fantasy Association can vote between May 3 and midnight September 6. The awards will be presented at V-Con in Vancouver the weekend of October 3-5.

Best English Novel

  • Red Planet Blues, by Robert J. Sawyer
  • River of Stars, by Guy Gavriel Kay
  • The Tattooed Witch, by Susan MacGregor
  • Tombstone Blues, by Chadwick Ginther
  • A Turn of Light, by Julie E. Czerneda

Best English YA (Young Adult) Novel

  • The Ehrich Weisz Chronicles: Demon Gate, by Marty Chan
  • Ink, by Amanda Sun
  • The Lake and the Library, by S.M. Beiko
  • Out of Time, by D.G. Ladroute
  • Resolve, by Neil Godbout
  • The Rising, by Kelley Armstrong

Best English Short Fiction

  • “A Bunny Hug for Karl,” by Mike Rimar
  • “Angela and Her Three Wishes,” by Eileen Bell
  • “The Awakening of Master March,” by Randy McCharles
  • “Ghost in the Machine,” by Ryan McFadden
  • “The Gift,” by Susan Forest
  • “Green Man She Restless,” by Billie Milholland
  • “Living Bargains,” by Suzanne Church

Best English Poem/Song

  • “A City of Buried Rivers,” by David Clink
  • “Awake,” by Peter Storey
  • “The Collected Postcards of Billy the Kid,” by Helen Marshall
  • “Lost,” by Amal El-Mohtar
  • “Night Journey: West Coast,” by Kernaghan, Eileen
  • “Turning the Leaves,” by Amal El-Mohtar

Best English Graphic Novel

  • Looking for Group, by Ryan Sohmer and Lar DeSouza
  • Rock, Paper, Cynic, by Peter Chiykowski
  • Weregeek, by Alina Pete
  • Wild Game: Sweet Tooth Vol. 6, by Jeff Lemire

Best English Related Work

  • The Puzzle Box, by The Apocalyptic Four
  • Urban Green Man, edited by Adria Laycraft and Janice Blaine
  • On Spec, published by the Copper Pig Writers’ Society
  • Suzenyms, by Susan MacGregor
  • Imaginarium 2013: The Best Canadian Speculative Writing, edited by Sandra Kasturi and Samantha Beiko

Best Artist

  • Erik Mohr, cover art for ChiZine Publications
  • Melissa Mary Duncan, illustrations and cover art
  • Dan O’Driscoll, covers for Bundoran Press and the SF Aurora banner
  • Apis Teicher, body of work
  • Tanya Montini, cover design for The Ehrich Weisz Chronicles: Demon Gate

Best Fan Publications

No award will be given out in this category in 2014 due to insufficient eligible nominees

Best Fan Music

  • Brooke Abbey for writing and publishing 12 songs
  • Debs & Errol for CTRL+ALT+DUETS
  • Chris Hadfield for his performance of “Space Oddity”
  • Kari Maaren for Beowulf Pulled My Arm Off,
  • Devin Melanson, Leslie Hudson and, Kari Maaren for Pirate Elves in Space

Best Fan Organizational

  • Evelyn Baker and Alana Otis-Wood, co-chairs Ad Astra, Toronto
  • S.M. Beiko and Chadwick Ginther, co-chairs Chiaroscuro Reading Series, ChiSeries Winnipeg
  • Sandra Kasturi and James Bambury, co-chairs Chiaroscuro Reading Series, ChiSeries Toronto
  • Randy McCharles, chair When Words Collide, Calgary
  • Matt Moore, chair Ottawa Chiaroscuro Reading Series, ChiSeries Ottawa
  • Rose Wilson, Art Show Director, VCON 38, Vancouver

Best Fan Related Work

  • R. Graeme Cameron, weekly column in Amazing Stories Magazine
  • Steve Fahnestalk, weekly column in Amazing Stories Magazine
  • Robert Runté, ”Why I Read Canadian Speculative Fiction: The Social Dimension of Reading”, Scholar Keynote Address at ACCSFF ’13, Toronto

For more information…

  1. Scurte #227 | Assassin CG — May 12, 2014 @ 3:00 am

    […] finaliştii 2014 Aurora […]