Parsec Nominations

The nominations for this year’s Parsec Awards, presented for excellence in science fiction podcasting, have been released. The winners will be announced at Dragon*Con in Atlanta.

Best Speculative Fiction Story: Small Cast (Short Form)

  • “A Christmas Feast,” by Michael Whitehouse
  • “Growth Spurt,” by Growth Spurt
  • “How the Moon Got Its Cousin,” by Lee Hallison
  • “Just Another Night,” by Andrew MacDougall
  • “Why the Sea is Boiling Hot,” by Michael Spence

Best Speculative Fiction Story: Small Cast (Novella Form)

  • “Blood and Smoke,” by Mike Bennett
  • “The Merchant Adventurer,” by Patrick E. McLean
  • “Paris Pas De Deux,” by Andrew Wheeler

Best Speculative Fiction Story: Large Cast (Short Form)

  • “Dirty Hands,” by Niall Kitson
  • “Fear of Thought,” by Veronica Giguere
  • “Harry Potter and the Methods of Rationality,” by Eliezer Yudkowsky
  • “Night Waking,” by Benjamin Rosenbaum
  • “Under Oak Island,” by K.T. Bryski

Best Speculative Fiction Story (Long Form)

  • Broken, by Cedric Johnson and Veronica Giguere
  • Cast of Wonders, by Chris Lewis Carter
  • Fire on the Mound, by William J. Meyer
  • The Guild of the Cowry Catchers, Book 5: Shores beyond the World, by Abigail Hilton
  • Secret World Chronicle, by Mercedes Lackey, Dennis Lee, Cody Martin, Larry Dixon, and Veronica Giguere
  • Tales of the Left Hand, Book 3, by John Meagher

Best Speculative Fiction Audio Drama (Short Form)

  • “Dreaming of a Dead Christmas,” by John Ballentine
  • “The Incomparable Radio Theater of the Air: Christmas Spectacular,” by David J. Loehr
  • “The Pen is Mightier,” by Mike Murphy
  • “Tallington,” by Jon Thrower
  • “The War of the Worlds,” by H. G. Wells

Best Speculative Fiction Audio Drama (Long Form)

  • Edict Zero – FIS (Season Three), by Jack Kincaid
  • Our Fair City, created by Clayton Faits and produced by Jeffrey Gardner
  • Star Trek: Outpost, by Daniel McIntosh and Tony Raymond
  • Tales of the Extraordinary, by Michael T. Coleman
  • We’re Alive: A Story of Survival, by Kc Wayland

Best Speculative Fiction Video Story

  • Grant’s Advent Calendar Video Podcast, by Grant Baciocco
  • Once Upon a Time in the 1970′s, by Chris & Anne Lukeman
  • Pilgrim of the Sky Live, by Natania Barron

Best Speculative Fiction Magazine or Anthology Podcast

  • Cast of Wonders, edited by Marguerite Kenner
  • The NoSleep Podcast, by David Cummings
  • Pseudopod, edited by Shawn M. Garrett
  • Seminar: An Original Anthology Show, edited by Pendant Productions
  • Toasted Cake, edited by Tina Connolly

Best New Speculative Fiction Podcaster/Team

  • Standard Orbit, by Drew Stewart and Mike Schindler
  • MythWits, by Peter Bryant, Mike Kafes, Brian Olvera, Allegra, Adrian Perez, and Jay Libby
  • Catching Up, by Ralff, Kim, and Johnny
  • Hadron Gospel Hour, by Richard Wentworth, Michael McQuilkin, Lisa McQuilkin, and Michael Atkinson
  • Society of Arozea, by William Chappell, Mike Mudd, Samantha Gee, and Madame Galiana

Best Speculative Fiction Fan or News Podcast (Specific)

  • Cyborgs: A Bionic Podcast, hosted by John S. Drew and Paul K. Bisson
  • Greetings from Storybrooke: A Once Upon a Time Podcast, hosted by Bill Meeks and Anne Marie DeSimone
  • Mission Log: A Roddenberry Star Trek Podcast, hosted by Ken Ray and John Champion
  • PodCulture: TARDIS Interruptus, hosted by Brad, Glenn, Christina, and Adam
  • Presents: Beyond the Wall – A Game of Thrones Podcast, hosted by P.G. Holyfield, Nuchtchas, Chooch, and Vivid Muse

Best Speculative Fiction Fan or News Podcast (General)

  • Geek Radio Daily, hosted by Billy Flynn, The Flynstress, and The Bruce
  • Generations Geek, hosted by Scott Pearson and Daughter
  • PodCulture: Equal Opportunity Geekness, by Brad, Glenn, Christina, and Adam
  • Presents: Consumption, hosted by P.G. Holyfield, Christiana Ellis, Chooch, and Vivid Muse
  • Sword & Laser, hosted by Veronica Belmont and Tom Merritt

Best Podcast about Speculative Fiction Content Creation

  • The Baen Free Radio Hour, hosted by Tony Daniel
  • Commentary: Trek Stars, hosted by Mike Schindler and Max Hegel
  • Get Published, by Michell Plested
  • The Shared Desk, hosted by Tee Morris and Pip Ballentine
  • StoryWonk Sunday, by Lani Diane Rich and Alistair Stephens

Best Fact Behind the Fiction Podcast

  • Blurry Photos, by David Flora & Dave Stecco
  • Daily Tech News Show, hosted by Tom Merritt
  • Guide to Space, hosted by Fraser Cain
  • Skeptoid, hosted by Brian Dunning
  • The Titanium Physicists Podcast, by Ben Tippett, David Tsang, Jocelyn Read, et al.

Best Speculative Fiction Comedy/Parody Podcast

  • Blastropodcast, by Mark Soloff
  • Comedy4Cast, by Clinton Alvord
  • Dragon*ConTV, by Brian Richardson
  • FSL Tonight, hosted by Justin Robert Young and Tom Merritt
  • Society of Arozea, hosted by William Chappell, Mike Mudd, Samantha Gee, and Madame Galiana

For more information…