Seiun Winners

The winners of the 2014 Seiun Awards were announced this past weekend at Nutscon, the 53rd Japanese National SF convention, in Tsukuba, Japan. The Seiun is selected by a vote of the membership of the Japanese National convention.

    Best Japanese Long Story: From Mt.Kororogi, From Jupiter Trojan, by issui ogawa

  • Best Japanese Short Story: “Ima Shuugouteki Muishikio,” by Kosyu Tani
  • Best Translated Long Story: Blindsight, by Peter Watts, translated by Yoichi Shimada
  • Best Translated Short Story: “The Paper Menagerie,” by Ken Liu, translated by Furusawa Yoshimi-dori
  • Best Dramatic Presentation: Pacific Rim, director by Guillermo del Toro
  • Best Comic: The World of Narue by Marukawa Tomohiro, edited by Kadokawa Shoten
  • Best Artist: Naoyuki Katoh
  • Best Nonfiction: DIY Liquid Fuel Rocket by the Summer Rocket team, Asari Yoshitoh
  • Other Works: Nova SF, edited by Nozomi Ohmori

For more information…

Dreamers of Wonder

Beth Gwinn is trying to raise funds to publish Dreamers of Wonder, a collection of science fiction author photos she has taken over the past thirty-four years. This book would be a follow-up to her 2000 book Dark Dreamers. Gwinn has created a Kickstarter to try to finance the project.

Wellman Award

The North Carolina Speculative Fiction Foundation announced the winner of the first Manly Wade Wellman Award at ConGregate on July 12. The award recognizes outstanding works of speculative fiction by North Carolina authors and is voted on by members of North Carolina SF cons. This year’s winner is Mur Lafferty for her novel The Shambling Guide to New York City.

For more information…

Wiscon Bans Frenkel

Wiscon has announced that former Tor editor Jim Frenkel will not be permitted to attend the convention for a period of not less than four years. At that time, should Frenkel elect to do so, he may petition to be allowed to attend and the board will review his case. The decision comes following an investigation into charges of harassment stemming from an incident at Wiscon 37 in 2013.

For more information…

Detcon1 Young Adult Awards

The special awards for Young Adult and Middle Grade SF were presented on July 19 at Detcon1 during the half-time show of the Masquerade. All members of Detcon1 were invited to vote for the awards.

  • Young Adult: The Dream Thieves, by Maggie Stiefvater
  • Middle Grade: Handbook for Dragon Slayers, by Merrie Haskell

For more information…

Finnish Award Season

A variety of Finnish science fiction awards were presented at Finncon 2014. The Atorox Award is presented for best Finnish story of the previous year, the Tähtifantasia Award is for best book translated into Finnish, the Nova Award is for writers who haven’t published a book, and the Kosmoskynä award is for achievement in advancing Finnish science fiction.

  • Atorox Award: “Mare Nostrum,” by Jussie Katajala (“The Winds Get Stronger Tomorrow”)
  • Tähtifantasia Award: Kanelipuodit ja muita kertomuksia, by Bruno Schulz
  • Nova Award: Ugrilainen tapaus, Tuukka Tenhunen
  • Kosmoskynä Award: Pasi Karppanen

For more information about the Atorox Award
For more information about the Tähtifantasia Award
For more information about the Nova Award
For more information about the Kosmoskynä Award

Loncon 3 Announced Hugo Emcees

Loncon 3 has announced that Justina Robson and Geoff Ryman will co-host this year’s Hugo Awards ceremony. The retro Hugo Awards will be presented by Mary Robinette Kowal and Robert Shearman as has previously been announced. Robson and Ryman replace Jonathan Ross, who resigned following outcry over his appointment.

For more information…

Sullivan to Corflu

The administrators for Corflu 50, Rich Coad and Rob Jackson, have announced that they have offered Geri Sullivan a free membership to next year’s convention in Newcastle, UK. In addition to the membership, Corflu 50 is trying to raise the funds to fly Sullivan over to the UK for the convention. Members and non-members are invited to donate to help cover the costs. In the US, checks can be made out to Rich Coad, at 2132 Berkeley Drive, Santa Rosa, CA 95401; or PayPal to In the UK, cheques can be made out to Rob Jackson, at Chinthay, Nightingale Lane, Hambrook, Chichester, West Sussex PO18 8UH, or by PayPal to

Shirley Jackson Winners

The Shirley Jackson Award winners were announced at Readercon on July 13. The Shirley Jackson Awards were established to recognize outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic.

  • Novel: American Elsewhere, by Robert Jackson Bennett
  • Novella: Burning Girls, by Veronica Schanoes
  • Novelette: “Cry Murder! In a Small Voice,” by Greer Gilman
  • Short Fiction:”57 Reasons for the Slate Quarry Suicides,” by Sam J. Miller
  • Single-Author Collection: (tie) Before and Afterlives, by Christopher Barzak; North American Lake Monsters, by Nathan Ballingrud
  • Edited Anthology: Grimscribe’s Puppets, edited by Joseph S. Pulver, Sr.

For more information…

Prometheus Winners

The winners of the Prometheus Award, given for libertarian science fiction, have been announced. The awards will be presented at LonCon 3, this year’s worldcon, in London the weekend of August 14-18. Vinge will receive his award at a separate presentation at Conjecture/ConChord the weekend of October 10-12.

  • Best Novel: (tie) Homeland, by Cory Doctorow; Nexus, by Ramez Naam
  • Hall of Fame Award: Falling Free, by Lois McMaster Bujold (1999)
  • Special Prometheus Award: Leslie Fish, author-filksinger, for the combination of her 2013 novella, “Tower of Horses,” and her filk song, “The Horsetamer’s Daughter.”
  • Special Prometheus Lifetime Achievement Award: Vernor Vinge

For more information…