James Herbert Award Nominees

Pan MacMillan has announced the nominees for the inaugural James Herbert Horror Award, presented in conjunction with the James Herbert estate and overseen by the Serendip Foundation. Horror novels written in English and published in the UK and Ireland between 1st January and 31st December 2014 were eligible. The judges include Ramsey Campbell, Rosie Fletcher, Kerry Herbert, Tom Hunter, Sarah Pinborough, and Dr Tony Venezi.

  • The Girl with All the Gifts, by M.R. Carey
  • The Troop, by Nick Cutter
  • Cuckoo Song, by Frances Hardinge
  • The Loney, by Andrew Michael Hurley
  • Bird Box, by Josh Malerman
  • An English Ghost Story, by Kim Newman

For more information…

Obituary: Suzette Haden Elgin

Author and linguist Suzette Haden Elgin (b.Patricia Anne Wilkins, 1936) died on January 27. Elgin began publishing in 1969 with the story “For the Sake of Grace” and followed it a year later with the novel The Communipaths. She may be best known for the Native Tongue trilogy. In 1978, she founded the Science Fiction Poetry Association, and their Elgin Award is named in her honor.

Diversity Short Story Contest

We Need Diverse Books (WNDB) has announce a short story contest to fill one space in a 2017 anthology called Stories for All of Us. The winner will be included in the anthology, appearing alongside Soman Chainani, Matt de la Pena, Grace Lin, Walter Dean Myers, Jacqueline Woodson, and others. and will receive a payment of $1000 US. The reading period will run from April 27 through May 8. Contest rules and eligibility information is at the link below.
For more information…

Crawford Winners

Zen Cho’s novel Spirits Abroad and Stephanie Feldman’s novel The Angel of Losses have been announced as the winners of the William L. Crawford Award, marking the first tie in the award’s history. The Crawford Award is presented annually for a new fantasy author whose first book appeared during the previous year. It is presented at the International Conference on the Fantastic in the Arts, which will be held this year from March 20-22 in Orlando, Florida.

For more information…

Heinlein Award Winner

Jack McDevitt has been announced as the recipient of 2015 Robert A Heinlein Award. The Heinlein Award is given to writers of science fiction and technical writers whose work inspires the exploration of space. The recipients are selected by a panel from the Heinlein Society and the award will be presented by the Baltimore Science Fiction Society at Balticon 49 on May 25. The winners will receive a plaque, a sterling silver medallion engraved with Heinlein’s likeness, and two lapel pins.

For more informaiton…

Screen Actors Guild Awards

The Screen Actors Guild announced the winners of the annual SAG Awards on January 25. Works of genre interest took only three awards during the evening.

  • Outstanding Performance by a Cast in a Motion Picture: Birdman
  • Outstanding Action Performance by a Male Actor in a Motion Picture: Eddie Redmayne, The Theory of Everything
  • Outstanding Action Performance by a Stunt Ensemble in a Television Series: Game of Thrones

For more information…

Obituary: Barrie Ingham

Actor Barrie Ingham (b.1932) died on January 23. Ingham provided the voice for the title character in Disney’s The Great Mouse Detective. He also appeared in an episode of Star Trek: The Next Generation and Voyagers! He appeared in the William Hartnell Doctor Who serial “The Trojans” as Paris, played Harold Godwinson on the show Theatre 625, and the title character in A Challenge for Robin Hood.

Obituary: Eric P. Scott

San Francisco fan Eric P. Scott died in the middle of January. Scott entered fandom around 1980 and attended every Westercon beginning with 1981, eventually helping to run the con-suite. He was an active party thrower at conventions and tried to raise the level of parties by example. He was active in BASFA and also worked on programming, green room, and art shows at various conventions.

Obituary: Michel Jeury

French author Michel Jeury (b.1934) died on January 9. Jeury began publishing as Albert Higon in 1960 with the novels Aux Étoiles du Destin and La Machine du Pouvoir, the latter of which won the 1960 Prix Jules Verne. In the early 1970s, he published Chronolysis and continued to write science fiction into the 1980s, publishing nearly twenty books as part of the Anticipation line before turning his attention to mainstream fiction.

Obituary: Alice K. Turner

Editor Alice K. Turner (b.1939) died on January 16 from pneumonia. Turner had served as the fiction editor at Playboy from 1980 until 2000. In 1998, she edited The Playboy Book of Science Fiction, collecting 25 science fiction stories originally published in Playboy by authors including William Tenn, Ray Bradbury, Doris Lessing, and Ursula K. Le Guin.

ETC: Corrected year of birth.