BSFA Award Nominations

The nominees for the BSFA Award have been announced. The winners will be announced in a ceremony at Dysprosium, this year’s Eastercon in London Sunday on April 6. BSFA Prize-winners will receive a BSFA trophy. The James White Award will also announce the winner at the ceremony.

Best Artwork

  • Richard Anderson for the cover of Mirror Empire, by Kameron Hurley
  • Blacksheep for the cover of Bête, by Adam Roberts
  • Tessa Farmer for her sculpture The Wasp Factory, after Iain Banks.
  • Jeffery Alan Love for the cover of Wolves, by Simon Ings
  • Andy Potts for the cover of Mars Evacuees, by Sophia McDougall

Best Non-Fiction

  • Call and Response, by Paul Kincaid
  • “Deep Forests and Manicured Gardens: A Look at Two New Short Fiction Magazines,” by Jonathan McCalmont
  • Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers and the First World War, by Edward James
  • “The State of British SF and Fantasy: A Symposium,” in Strange Horizons
  • Greg Egan, by Karen Burnham

Best Short Fiction:

  • “The Honey Trap,” by Ruth E J Booth
  • “The Mussel Eater,” by Octavia Cade
  • “Scale Bright,” by Benjanun Sriduangkaew

Best Novel

  • The Race, by Nina Allan
  • Cuckoo Song, by Frances Hardinge
  • Europe in Autumn, by Dave Hutchinson
  • Wolves, by Simon Ings
  • Ancilliary Sword, by Anne Leckie
  • The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August, by Claire North
  • Lagoon, by Nnedi Okorafor
  • The Moon King, by Neil Williamson

For more information…