Klages Retires from Tiptree Auctions

After 20 years of being the auctioneer for the James Tiptree, Jr. Awards fundraiser at Wiscon, Ellen Klages has announced her retirement. Klages explains that mundane aging, as well as a back injury, have convinced her it it time to turn the auctioneering over to someone else.

For more information…

Rondo Hatton Awards

The thirteenth annual Rondo Hatton Awards were announced by the Classic Horror Film Board. More than 3100 voters took part in on-line voting to select the winners. The Rondo Hatton Award is named for the actor who appeared in numerous horror films over the course of his career. The awards recognizethe best in classic horror research, creativity, and film preservation.

  • Best Film of 2014: Guardians of the Galaxy
  • Best TV Presentation: The Walking Dead: ‘The Grove’
  • Best Classic DVD of 2014: Nightbreed: The Director’s Cut
  • Best Classic DVD/BLU-RAY Collection: Batman: The Complete Television Series
  • Best Restoration: Nightbreed: The Director’s Cut
  • Best Commentary: Clive Barker and Mark Alan Miller for Nightbreed: The Director’s Cut
  • Best DVD Extra: Phantom of the Paradise: Paul Williams and Guillermo del Toro
  • Best Independent Film: What We Do in the Shadows, directed by Jemaine Clement and Taika Waititi
  • Best Short Film: The Mill at Calder’s End , directed by Kevin McTurk
  • Best Documentary Feature: Jodorowsky’s Dune, directed by Frank Pavich
  • Book(s) of the Year (tie): The Creature Chronicles , by Tom Weaver with David Schecter and Steve Kronenberg; The Outer Limits at 50, by David J. Schow with Ted C. Rypel
  • Best Magazine: Rue Morgue
  • Best Magazine (classic): Famous Monsters
  • Best Article: “The Complete Godzilla Chronology, 1954-2004,” by August Ragone, Famous Monsters #275
  • Best Interview (Award goes to interviewer): Chris Alexander interview with Werner Herzog, Fangoria #334
  • Best Overall Issue: Diaboloque #22 (Childbirth, family and horror)
  • Best Column: “Diary of the Deb,” by Debbie Rochon
  • Best Cover: Fangoria #330 by Nick Percival
  • Best Website: Joe Dante’s Trailers from Hell
  • Best Horror Blog: Dr. Gangrene’s Mad Blog
  • Best Convention of 2014: Monsterpalooza
  • Best Fan Event: Evil Dead Cast Reunioin at Horrorhound Weekend
  • Favorite Horror Host: Svengoolie
  • Best Horror Comic Book: The Walking Dead, by Robert Kirkman and Charles Adlard
  • Best Horror Multi-Media or Podcast: Monster Kid Radio
  • Best CD: Original Godzilla Soundtrack
  • Best Toy, Model, or Collectible: Creature, Universal Monsters Select
  • Classic Most in Need of Release, Upgrade, or Restoration: I Was a Teenage Werewolf/Frankenstein (both films)
  • Writer of the Year: Max Weinstein (Diabolique editor)
  • Artist of the Year: Bob Eggleton
  • Linda Miller Award for Fan Artist of the Year: William C. Cope
  • Reviewer of the Year: Mark D. Clark (Monsters from the Vault)
  • Henry Alvarez Award for Creative Design: Sculptor Mike Hillhillwolf
  • International Fan of the Year: Nigel Honeybone (Australia)
  • Monster Kid of the Year: Frank J. Dello Stritto
  • The Monster Kid Hall of Fame: Michael Weldon, Jose Mojica Marins, Garry Don Rhodes, and Sara Karloff

For more information…

Schubert Withdraws from Hugo Ballot

Edmund R. Schubert, the editor of Intergalactic Medicine Show, has announced his decision to withdraw himself from the Best Editor – Short Form category on this year’s Hugo ballot. Schubert is now the fourth nominee to withdraw since the ballot went live.

For more information…

Prometheus Award Finalists

This year’s nominees for the Prometheus Award have been announced. The awards are presented by the Libertarian Futurist Society and winners will be announced in August at Sasquan, which will be held in Spokane. The Hall of Fame inductee and Lifetime Achievement inductee were previously announced and will be presented at Marcon 50.

Prometheus Awards

  • The Three-Body Problem, by Cixin Liu
  • Raising Steam, by Terry Pratchett
  • A Better World, by Marcus Sakey
  • Influx, by Daniel Suarez

For more information…

ESFS Awards

The winners of the 2015 European Science Fiction Society Awards were announced April 26 at the 37th Eurocon, in St. Petersburg. The Hall of Fame awards are awarded to people who have had an impact both inside and outside their native country. The Spirit of Dedication awards are presented for works and performances produced since the previous Eurocon.

European Grand Master: Eugene Lukin

Hall of Fame

  • Best Author: China Miéville – United Kingdom
  • Best Artist: Manchu – France
  • Best Publisher: Gollancz – United Kingdom
  • Best Magazine: Fantastica Almanac – Bulgaria
  • Best Translator: Ekaterina Dobrohotova-Majkova – Russia
  • Best Promoter of Science Fiction: Mihaela Marika Perkovic’ – Croatia

Spirit of Dedication:

  • Artist: Serhiy Krykun – Ukraine
  • Best Dramatic Presentation: Song of the Sea – Ireland
  • Best SF Website: Europa SF – Romania
  • Best Fanzine: Pritiazhenie – Russia
  • Best Creator of Children’s Science Fiction or Fantasy Books: (tie) Ruth F. Long – Ireland; Anton Lomaev – Russia

For more information…

Loncon 3 Souvenir Books

Loncon 3 has previously announced a delay in sending out Souvenir Books to non-British members. They have now announced that they will be sending out no more than one copy of the souvenir book per household to Supporting Members if the Supporting Members request a copy no later than June 12. Copies will be sent following Sasquan. Loncon does note that they might not be able to send copies to everyone who requests one. To request a copy, Supporting Members of Loncon 3 can send an e-mail to memberships@loncon3.org.

To download a pdf of the program book…

Obituary: Stan Burns

Fan Stan Burns (b.Marsdon Stanford Burns, Jr., 1947) died on April 23. Burns began reading science fiction in 1957, when his mother got him a copy of Heinlein’s Have Space Suit, Will Travel from the library. He became active in LASFS while working on a cultural anthropology paper in 1967 and began attending conventions. Burns was the official photographer at Equicon, Filmcon, LACons I and III, many Loscons.

Obituary: Kathy Doran Owen

Fan Kathy Doran Owen died on April 25. Owens lived in Alabama was was active in developing and running the literary programming track at DragonCon for the past several years.

Obituary: Rex Robinson

Actor Rex Robinson (b.1926) died in April. Robinson appeared in Superman IV: The Quest for Peace as well as in three serials of Doctor Who, including “The Hand of Fear,” “The Monster of Peladon,” and “The Three Doctors.”

Call for Parsec Nominations

The Parsec Awards, given for excellence in science fiction podcasting, are open for nominations. The award was founded in 2005 and is presented annually at Dragon*Con. Nominations in 15 categories are open until May 31.

For more information…