Audie Award Winners

The Audie Awards were presented during the BEA in New York on May 28. The Audie Awards recognize excellence in audio books. Winners of genre interest are listed below.

  • Chidlren’s Titles for Ages 8-12: The Graveyard Book, by Neil Gaiman; Narrated by Derek Jacobi, Neil Gaiman, Robert Madge, Clare Corbett, Miriam Margolyes, Andrew Scott, and Julian Rhind-Tutt
  • Distinguished Achievement in Production: The Graveyard Book, by Neil Gaiman; Narrated by Derek Jacobi, Neil Gaiman, Robert Madge, Clare Corbett, Miriam Margolyes, Andrew Scott, and Julian Rhind-Tutt
  • Paranormal: The Girl with All the Gifts, by M.R. Carey; Narrated by Finty Williams
  • Science Fiction: The Martian; by Andy Weir; Narrated by R.C. Bray
  • Fantasy: Words of Radiance, by Brandon Sanderson; Narrated by Kate Reading and Michael Kramer
  • Multi-Voiced Performance: The Graveyard Book, by Neil Gaiman; Narrated by Derek Jacobi, Neil Gaiman, Robert Madge, Clare Corbett, Miriam Margolyes, Andrew Scott, and Julian Rhind-Tutt
  • Solo Narration – Male: The Hero’s Guide to Being an Outlaw, by Christopher Healy; Narrated by Bronson Pinchot
  • Package Design: The Light at the End, by Nicholas Briggs; Package Design by Alex Mallinson

For more information…

Obituary: Joël Champetier

Canadian author and editor Joël Champetier (b.1957) died on May 30. Champetier’s first story, “Le chemin des fleurs” appeared in Solaris in 1981 and his first novel, La mer au fond du monde appeared in 1990. In 1983, he helped organize the first Boréal Congress and was on the board of directors for several years. Beginning in 1990, he held various positions at Solaris and was managing editor at the time of his death.

Bill Finger Award Recipients

Don McGregor and John Stanley will receive this year’s Bill Finger Award, presented at Comic Con International to recognize unsung writers in the comics field. Each year, the award is given to one living and one dead writer. Doyle began writing for Warren in 1971. At Marvel he wrote Black Panther and Killraven. Stanley began writing Little Lulu in the 1940s and created much f the comic’s support cast. Much of Stanley’s work was published anonymously and he left the field in the 1970s and died in 1993.

For more information…

Prix Imaginales Winners

The winners of the 2015 Prix Imaginales have been announced. The awards will be presented at Imaginales in Épinal, France on May 30. The Imaginales Awards recognizes the best works of fantasy of the year in six categories, with a prize of 1,000 euros for the first four categories and 500 euros for the last two. Winners were selected by a jury composed of Anne Besson, Jacques Grasser, Annaïg Houesnard, Jean-Claude Van Troyen, Jérôme Vincent, and Stéphane Wieser.

  • French Novel: Manesh, by Stefan Platteau,
  • Foreign Novel: Comme un conte, by Graham Joyce, translated by Louise Malagoli, (Some Kind of Fairy Tale)
  • Work for Youth: La Voie des oracles, by Estelle Faye
  • Illustration: Hélène Larbaigt for L’étrange cabaret des fées désenchantées
  • Short Story: Père-des-Pierres, by Orson Scott Card, translated by Jean-Daniel Brèque, (Stonefather)
  • Prix spécial du Jury: Vincent Ferré for the collection Lire J.R.R. Tolkien and overseeing the new translation of Seigneur des Anneaux by Daniel Lauzon.

    For more information…

Gernsback Short Fiction Contest

Amazing Stories has announced the Gernsback Short Fiction Contest, to be judged by Cat Rambo, Dave Creek, and Jack Clemons. Entries should consider the theme “What will the Solar System look like 250 years from now?” and be less than 2,000 words. The submission period will open on July 1 and will end when 100 submissions have been received or on July 31. A group of initial readers will select twenty stories to pass on to the judges.

For more information…

Obituary: Vonnie Carts-Powell

Fan Yvonne “Vonnie” Carts-Powell (b.1966) died on May 22. Carts-Powell was a frequent attendee and panelist at Boston area conventions and has written reviews for Green Man Reviews. A science writer, in 2008, she wrote The Science of Heroes, a look at the television series. She was diagnosed with cancer in 2013.

Duncan Wins Compton Crook

Alexandra Duncan won this year’s Compton Crook Award for best first novel for her book Salvage. The award comes with a prize of $1,000 and the winner will be treated as a guest of honor for two consecutive Balticons. A plaque wasbe presented to Duncan at Balticon.

For more information…

Obituary: Doris Elaine Sauter

Doris Elaine Sauter died around May 25. Sauter met Philip K. Dick in 1972 and struck up a friendship with him that lasted until his death. After Dick died, Sauter edited What If Our World Is Their Heaven? The Final Conversations of Philip K. Dick, which was ranked fourth in the Locus Poll in 2002.

Obituary: Chuck Miller

Bookseller and publisher Chuck Miller (b.1953) died on May 24. Miller ran a used bookstore in Pennsylvania before teaming up with Tim Underwood to found the publishing company Underwood-Miller in 1976. The two published several books, beginning with a reprint of Jack Vance’s The Dying Earth before disbanding the company in 1994. Their final project was another reissue of The Dying Earth. They also published works by L. Sprague de Camp, Harlan Ellison, and Philip K. Dick. Miller self-published the novel Blood of the Centipede in 2012.

Obituary: Tanith Lee

Author Tanith Lee (b.1947) died on May 24. Lee began publishing with the short story “Eustace” in 1968. She went on to write numerous novels, including the five volume “Tales From The Flat Earth” sequence, the Birthgrave trilogy, and “The Secret Books of Paradys” sequence. She was nominated for the Nebula twice, for Birthgrave and “Red As Blood,” as well as numerous World Fantasy and British Fantasy nominations, becoming the first woman to win the British Fantasy Award for Best Novel for Death’s Master. She won back-to-back World Fantasy Best Short Story Awards in 1983 and 1984 and received that organization’s Lifetime Achievement Award in 2013.