Hugo Awards

The Hugo Awards were presented at Sasquan on the evening of August 22.

  • Best Novel: The Three Body Problem, by Cixin Liu; Ken Liu translator
  • Best Novella: No Award
  • Best Novelette: “The Day the World Turned Upside Down,” by Thomas Olde Heuvelt; Lia Belt translator
  • Best Short Story: No Award
  • Best Related Work: No Award
  • Best Graphic Story: Ms. Marvel Volume 1: No Normal, written by G. Willow Wilson, illustrated by Adrian Alphona and Jake Wyatt
  • Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form: Guardians of the Galaxy, written by James Gunn and Nicole Perlman, directed by James Gunn
  • Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form: Orphan Black: “By Means Which Have Never Yet Been Tried,” written by Graham Manson, directed by John Fawcett
  • Best Editor, Short Form: No Award
  • Best Editor, Long Form: No Award
  • Best Professional Artist: Julie Dillon
  • Best Semiprozine: Lightspeed Magazine< edited by John Joseph Adams, Stefan Rudnicki, Rich Horton, Wendy N. Wagner, and Christie Yant
  • Best Fanzine: Journey Planet, edited by James Bacon, Christopher J Garcia, Colin Harris, Alissa McKersie, and Helen J. Montgomery
  • Best Fancast: Galactic Suburbia Podcast, by Alisa Krasnostein, Alexandra Pierce, Tansy Rayner Roberts (Presenters) and Andrew Finch (Producer)
  • Best Fan Writer: Laura J. Mixon
  • Best Fan Artist: Elizabeth Leggett
  • John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer (Not a Hugo): Wesley Chu

WSFS Business

The Saturday WSFS Business Meeting ratified for the second time amnedments which state that the medium of publication: physical, e-book, or audio-book do not matter. Rules concerning rates and membership types were also passe, as was a ruling how Hugo Finalists could refer to them. The 5% solution, which removes the restriction that a work must hit a 5% threshold to be listed on the Hugo ballot received first passage and will need to be ratified at MidAmeriCon II. Also passed for the first time was an amendment determining categories based on where a work received the most nominations if eligible in both/all categories.

Yalow Wins Big Heart

Ben Yalow received the Big Heart Award from Sasquan on August 22 at the Hugo Ceremony. Yalow has worked on most worldcons in either an active or advisory role and has never stinted offering advice based on his long years of convention running or hotel liaising.

Worldcon 75

Helsinki has announced that the name for the 2017 Worldcon will be Worldcon 75. Their Guests of Honor will include John-Henri Holmberg, Nalo Hopkinson, Johanna Sinisalo, Claire Wendling, and Walter Jon Williams. Worldcon 75 will take place from August 9-13, 2017.

For more information…

Golden Duck Awards

The winners of the Golden Duck Awards were announced at Sasquan. Normally announced at DucKon, this year’s announcement was postponed when DucKon was cancelled. The Golden Duck Awards, presented by SuperConDuckTivity, are selected by a jury of parents, teachers, and librarians and honor children’s and YA science fiction literature.

  • Picture Book: Max Goes to the Space Station: A Science Adventure with Max the Dog, by Jeffrey Bennett, illustrated by Michael Carroll
  • Eleanor Cameron Award for Middle Grade: Ambassador, by William Alexander
  • Hal Clement Award for Young Adult: Expiration Day, by William Campbell Powell

For more information…

WSFS Business

The Board Meeting of the World Science Fiction Society has voted to extend eligibility for the films I Remember the Future and Predestination for a second year based on a limited release schedule. The Board Meeting also requested that anonymized nominating data from the Hugos be released to allow members to judge the impact of the 4 in 6 and EPH proposals. Popular Ratification and the Open Source Software Proposal failed to pass the board meeting. Finally, Donald Eastlake, Stephen Boucher, and Bruce Farr were elected to serve on the Mark Protection Committee.

Helsinki in 2017

Preliminary reports indicate that Helsinki has won the right to host the 2017 Worldcon. Helsinki received approximately 52% of the votes on the first ballot, winning outright in a race with Washington, DC, Montreal, and Shizuoka. The official results, convention name, and Guests of Honor will be announced at the Saturday business meeting at Sasquan.

Pegasus Nominees

The finalists for the 2014 Pegasus Award have been announced. On-line voting is open to anyone with an interest in the filk community until October 18. The winners will be announced at Ohio Valley Filk Festival the weekend of October 23-25.

Best Filk Song

  • “Being Watson,” by Kari Maaren
  • “Child of the Library,” by Piers & Gill Cawley
  • “My Story Is Not Done,” by Seanan McGuire
  • “Pageant Legend,” by Katy Dröge-Macdonald /Ju Honisch
  • “Somebody Will,” by Ada Palmer

Best Classic Filk Song

  • “Before The Dawn,” by Mike Whitaker
  • “Captain Jack & the Mermaid,” by Meg Davis
  • “Die Puppen (The Dolls),” by Eva Van Daele-Hunt
  • “Following in Valentina’s Footsteps,” by Valerie Housden
  • “Ship Of Stone,” by Don Simpson

Best Performer

  • Jeff and Maya Bohnhoff
  • The Cast of “Before the Dawn” at Loncon 2014
  • Playing Rapunzel
  • Three-Fifths
  • Twotonic

Best Writer/Composer

  • Barry Childs-Helton
  • W. Randy Hoffman
  • Kari Maaren
  • Eva Van Daele-Hunt

Best Adapted Song

  • “Be Our GoH,” by Tom Smith
  • “Come to Mordor,” by Jeff Bohnhoff
  • “Grabthar’s Silver Hammer,” by Steve Macdonald
  • “Meat,” by Kathleen Sloan
  • “Threes Rev. 1.1,” by Duane Elms

Best Time-Related Song

  • “Gabriel Gray’s Song,” by Batya Wittenberg
  • “The Grandfather Clock,” by Cecilia Eng
  • “One Last Dance,” by Bill Roper
  • “Precious Moments,” by Phil Allcock
  • “Starlight & Saxophone,” by Tom Smith

For more information…

Chesley Award Winners

The Chesley Awards, for artwork produced in 2014, were presented at Sasquan on the afternoon of August 20. The awards are presented by ASFA.

  • Best Cover Illustration / Hardcover
: Julie Dillon for Shadows Beneath: The Writing Excuses Anthology, edited by Brandon Sanderson
  • Best Cover Illustration – Paperback
: Raoul Vitale for Nebula Awards Showcase 2014, edited by Kij Johnson
  • Best Cover Illustration – Magazine: Julie Dillon for Analog, April 2014
  • Best Interior Illustration: 
Anna Balbusso and Elena Balbusso for “Ekaterina and the Firebird,” by Abra Staffin-Wiebe;, January 2014
  • Best Color Work – Unpublished
: Michael C. Hayes, Alegretto oils
  • Best Monochrome Work – Unpublished: 
Allen Williams for “Sphynx” graphite
  • Best Three-Dimensional Art
: Dan Chudzinski for The Mudpuppy, resin & mixed media
  • Best Gaming Related Illustration: Peter Mohrbacher for Pharika, God of Affliction Magic card, Journey into Nyx; WotC, May 2014
  • Best Product Illustration: 
Donato Giancola for George R.R. Martin Song of Ice and Fire 2015 calendar, Bantam, 2014
  • Best Art Director
: Irene Gallo, Tor &
  • Lifetime Artistic Achievement Award
: John Harris

For more information…

Obituary: Yvonne Craig

Actress Yvonne Craig (b.1937) died on August 17. Craig is best known for creating the roles of Barbara Gordon and Batgirl in the 1960s television series Batman. She also portrayed the green Orion slave girl Marta in the Star Trek episode “Whom Gods Destroy.” Other genre roles included the television shows and films Mars Needs Women, The Wild Wild West, My Favorite Martian, and Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea. Prior to working as an actor, Craig was the youngest dancer to perform in the Ballet Russe de Monte Carlo.