Aurealis Winners

The 2015 Aurealis Awards winners were announced on March 25 in Brisbane, Australia. The Aurealis Awards are given out annual for excellence in Australian speculative fiction.

  • Best Children’s Fiction: A Single Stone, by Meg McKinlay
  • Best Graphic Novel/Illustrated Work: The Singing Bones, by Shaun Tan
  • Best Young Adult Short Story: “The Miseducation of Mara Lys,” Deborah Kalin
  • Best Horror Short Story: “Bullets,” by Joanne Anderton
  • Best Horror Novella: “The Miseducation of Mara Lys,” by Deborah Kalin
  • Best Fantasy Short Story: “The Giant’s Lady,” by Rowena Cory Daniells
  • Best Fantasy Novella: “Defy the Grey Kings,” by Jason Fischer
  • Best Science Fiction Short Story: “All the Wrong Places,” by Sean Williams
  • Best Science Fiction Novella: “By Frogsled and Lizardback to Outcast Venusian Lepers,” by Garth Nix
  • Best Collection: To Hold the Bridge, by Garth Nix
  • Best Anthology: Bloodlines, edited by Amanda Pillar
  • Best Young Adult Novel: In The Skin of a Monster, by Kathryn Barker
  • Best Horror Novel: Day Boy, by Trent Jamieson
  • Best Fantasy Novel: Day Boy, by Trent Jamieson
  • Best Science Fiction Novel: Illuminae, by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
  • Sara Douglass Book Series Award: The Watergivers [The Last Stormlord, Stormlord Rising, Stormlord’s Exile], by Glenda Larke
  • Convenor’s Award: Letters to Tiptree, by Alexandra Pierce and Alisa Krasnostein

For more information…