Ditmar Awards

The winners of the Ditmar Awards were announced on March 27 at Contact 2016, the Australian National SF Convention, held in Brisbane.

  • Best Novel: Lament for the Afterlife, by Lisa L. Hannett
  • Best Novella or Novelette: “Of Sorrow and Such,” by Angela Slatter
  • Best Short Story: “A Hedge of Yellow Roses,” by Kathleen Jennings, in Hear Me Roar
  • Best Collected Work: Cranky Ladies of History, edited by Tansy Rayner Roberts and Tehani Wessely
  • Best Artwork: Illustrations, by Shaun Tan, in The Singing Bone
  • Best Fan Publication in Any Medium: The Angriest, by Grant Watson
  • Best Fan Writer: Grant Watson, for body of work
  • Best Fan Artist: Kathleen Jennings, for body of work, including Illustration Friday series
  • Best New Talent: Rivqa Rafael
  • William Atheling Jr Award for Criticism or Review: Letters to Tiptree, edited by Alexandra Pierce and Alisa Krasnostein
  • Peter McNamara Achievement Award: Rowena Cory Daniells
  • Norma K. Hemming Award: Louise Katz for The Orchid Nursery
  • A. Bertram Chandler Award: James “Jocko” Allen

For more information…