Hugo Finalists

MidAmeriCon II has announced the finalists for the Hugos, to be awarded at this year’s Worldcon for works originally published in 2015. Any member of MidAmeriCon II can vote for the Hugos. The winners will be announced at a ceremony on Saturday, August 20, in Kansas City.

Best Novel

  • Ancillary Mercy, by Ann Leckie
  • The Cinder Spires: The Aeronaut’s Windlass, by Jim Butcher
  • The Fifth Season, by N.K. Jemisin
  • Seveneves: A Novel, by Neal Stephenson
  • Uprooted, by Naomi Novik

Best Novella

  • Binti, by Nnedi Okorafor
  • The Builders, by Daniel Polansky
  • Penric’s Demon, by Lois McMaster Bujold
  • Perfect State, by Brandon Sanderson
  • Slow Bullets, by Alastair Reynolds

Best Novelette

  • “And You Shall Know Her by the Trail of Dead,” by Brooke Bolander
  • “Flashpoint: Titan,” by CHEAH Kai Wai
  • “Folding Beijing,” by Hao Jingfang, trans. Ken Liu
  • “Obits,” by Stephen King
  • “What Price Humanity?” by David VanDyke

Best Short Story

  • “Asymmetrical Warfare,” by S. R. Algernon
  • “The Commuter,” by Thomas A. Mays
  • “If You Were an Award, My Love,” by Juan Tabo and S. Harris
  • “Seven Kill Tiger,” by Charles Shao
  • “Space Raptor Butt Invasion,” by Chuck Tingle

Best Related Work

  • Between Light and Shadow: An Exploration of the Fiction of Gene Wolfe, 1951 to 1986, by Marc Aramini
  • “The First Draft of My Appendix N Book,” by Jeffro Johnson
  • “Safe Space as Rape Room,” by Daniel Eness
  • SJWs Always Lie: Taking Down the Thought Police, by Vox Day
  • “The Story of Moira Greyland,” by Moira Greyland

Best Graphic Story

  • The Divine, by Boaz Lavie, Asaf Hanuka, and Tomer Hanuka
  • Erin Dies Alone, by Grey Carter & Cory Rydell
  • Full Frontal Nerdity, by Aaron Williams
  • Invisible Republic, Vol. I, by Corinna Bechko and Gabriel Hardman
  • The Sandman: Overture, by Neil Gaiman and J.H. Williams

Best Dramatic Presentation (Long Form)

  • Avengers: Age of Ultron
  • Ex Machina
  • Mad Max: Fury Road
  • The Martian
  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Best Dramatic Presentation (Short Form)

  • Doctor Who: “Heaven Sent”
  • Grimm: “Headache”
  • Jessica Jones: “A.K.A. Smile”
  • My Little Pony, Friendship Is Magic: “The Cutie Map”
  • Supernatural: “Just My Imagination”

Best Editor (Long Form)

  • Vox Day
  • Sheila E. Gilbert
  • Liz Gorinsky
  • Jim Minz
  • Toni Weiskopf

Best Editor (Short Form)

  • John Joseph Adams
  • Neil Clarke
  • Ellen Datlow
  • Jerry Pournelle
  • Sheila Williams

Best Professional Artist

  • Lars Braad Andersen
  • Larry Elmore
  • Abigail Larson
  • Michael Karez
  • Larry Rostant

Best Semiprozine

  • Beneath Ceaseless Skies
  • Daily Science Fiction
  • Sci Phi Journal
  • Strange Horizons
  • Uncanny Magazine

Best Fanzine

  • Black Gate
  • Castalia House Blog
  • File 770
  • Superversive SF
  • Tangent Online

Best Fancast

  • 8-4 Play
  • Cane and Rinse
  • Hello Greedo
  • The Rageholic
  • Tales to Terrify

Best Fan Writer

  • Douglas Ernst
  • Mike Glyer
  • Morgan Holmes
  • Jeffro Johnson
  • Shamus Young

Best Fan Artist

  • Matthew Callahan
  • disse86
  • Kukuruyo
  • Christian Quinot
  • Steve Stiles

John W. Campbell Award

  • Pierre Brown
  • Sebastien de Castell
  • Brian Niemeier
  • Andy Weir
  • Alyssa Wong

For more information…