Retro Hugo Finalists

MidAmeriCon II has announced the finalists for the Retro Hugos, to be awarded at this year’s Worldcon for works originally published in 1941. Any member of MidAmeriCon II can vote for the Retro Hugos. The winners will be announced at a dance on Thursday, August 18, in Kansas City.

Best Novel

  • Gray Lensman, by E.E. “Doc” Smith
  • The Ill‐Made Knight, by T.H. White
  • Kallocain, by Karin Boye
  • The Reign of Wizardry, by Jack Williamson
  • Slan, by A.E. Van Vogt

Best Novella

  • “Coventry,” by Robert A. Heinlein
  • “If This Goes On…” by Robert A. Heinlein
  • “Magic, Inc.” by Robert A. Heinlein
  • “The Mathematics of Magic,” by L. Sprague de Camp and Fletcher Pratt
  • “The Roaring Trumpet,” by L. Sprague de Camp and Fletcher Pratt

Best Novelette

  • “Blowups Happen,” by Robert A. Heinlein
  • “Darker Than You Think,” by Jack Williamson
  • “Farewell to the Master,” by Harry Bates
  • “It!” by Theodore Sturgeon
  • “The Roads Must Roll,” by Robert A. Heinlein

Best Short Story

  • “Martian Quest,” by Leigh Brackett
  • “Requiem,” by Robert A. Heinlein
  • “Robbie,” by Isaac Asimov
  • “The Stellar Legion,” by Leigh Brackett
  • “Tlön, Uqbar, Orbis Tertius,” by Jorge Luis Borges

Best Graphic Story

  • “Batman” #1 in Detective Comics, Spring 1940
  • Captain Marvel “Introducing Captain Marvel,” by Bill Parker and C. C. Beck
  • Flash Gordon “The Ice Kingdom of Mongo,” by Alex Raymond and Don Moore
  • The Origin of the Spirit, by Will Eisner
  • The Spectre: “The Spectre”/”The Spectre Strikes!” by Jerry Siegel and Bernard Baily

Best Dramatic Presentation (Long Form)

  • Dr. Cyclops, written by Tom Kilpatrick, directed by Ernest B. Schoedsack
  • Fantasia, written by Joe Grant and Dick Huemer, directed by Samuel Armstrong, et al.
  • Flash Gordon Conquers the Universe, written by George H. Plympton, Basil Dickey, and Barry Shipman, directed by Ford Beebe and Ray Taylor
  • One Million B.C., written by Mickell Novack, George Baker, and Joseph Frickert, directed by Hal Roach and Hal Roach, Jr.
  • The Thief of Bagdad, written by Lajos Bíró and Miles Malleson, directed by Michael Powell, Ludwig Berger, and Tim Whelan

Best Dramatic Presentation (Short Form)

  • The Adventures of Superman: “The Baby from Krypton,” written by George Ludlam, produced by Frank Chase
  • The Invisible Man Returns, written by Joe May, Kurt Siodmak, and Lester Cole, directed by Joe May
  • Looney Tunes: “You Ought to Be in Pictures,” written by Jack Miller, directed by Friz Freleng
  • Merrie Melodies: “A Wild Hare,” written by Rich Hogan, directed by Tex Avery
  • Pinocchio, written by Ted Sears et al., directed by Ben Sharpsteen and Hamilton Luske

Best Editor – Short Form

  • John W. Campbell
  • Dorothy McIlwraith
  • Raymond A. Palmer
  • Frederik Pohl
  • Mort Weisinger

Best Professional Artist

  • Hannes Bok
  • Margaret Brundage
  • Edd Cartier
  • Virgil Finlay
  • Frank R. Paul
  • Hubert Rogers

Note: Category has 6 finalists due to a tie for 5th place.

Best Fanzine

  • Futuria Fantasia, edited by Ray Bradbury
  • Le Zombie, edited by Arthur Wilson “Bob” Tucker
  • Novacious, edited by Forrest J Ackerman and Morojo
  • Spaceways, edited by Harry Warner, Jr.
  • Voice of the Imagi‐Nation, edited by Forrest J Ackerman and Morojo

Best Fan Writer

  • Forrest J Ackerman
  • Ray Bradbury
  • H. P. Lovecraft
  • Arthur Wilson “Bob” Tucker
  • Harry Warner

For more information…