BSFA Nominations

The British Science Fiction Association has announced the nominees for this year’s BSFA Awards, to be presented on the evening of Saturday, April 16, at the Hilton Birmingham Metropole, during Innominate, the 68th British National Science Fiction Convention (Eastercon).

Best Novel

  • Daughter of Eden, by Chris Beckett
  • A Closed and Common Orbit, by Becky Chambers
  • Europe in Winter, by Dave Hutchinson
  • Occupy Me, by Tricia Sullivan
  • Azanian Bridges, by Nick Wood

Best Short Story

  • “The End of Hope Street,” by Malcolm Devlin
  • “Liberty Bird,” by Jaine Fenn
  • “Taking Flight,” by Una McCormack
  • “Presence,” by Helen Oyeyemi
  • “The Apologists,” by Tade Thompson
  • “The Arrival of Missives,” by Aliya Whiteley

Best Non-Fiction

  • THEN: Science Fiction Fandom in the UK 1930-1980, by Rob Hansen
  • “Boucher, Backbone and Blake: The Legacy of Blakes Seven,” by Erin Horáková
  • “Breaking the Cycle of the Golden Age: Jack Glass and Isaac Asimov’s Foundation Trilogy,” by Anna McFarlane
  • “New Model Authors? Authority, Authordom, Anarchism and the Atomized Text in a Networked World,” by Paul Graham Raven
  • “100 African Writers of SFF,” by Geoff Ryman
  • “Introduction” to The Big Book of Science Fiction, by Ann & Jeff VanderMeer

Best Artwork

  • Juan Miguel Aguilera: Cover of The 1000 Year Reich, by Ian Watson
  • Tara Bush: “Transition” (Cover of Black Static #53)
  • Suzanne Dean and Kai & Sunny: Cover of The Sunlight Pilgrim’s, by Jenni Fagan
  • David A. Hardy: Cover of Disturbed Universes, by David L. Clements
  • Sarah Anne Langton: Cover for Central Station, by Lavie Tidhar
  • Chris Moore: Cover of The Iron Tactician, by Alastair Reynolds

For more information…