David Seeks Assistance

Peter David has found himself with an $88,000 tax and penalty bill for unpaid taxes. He explains that the debt dates back to 1996 when he worked on the show Space Cases. Unfortunately, money set aside to pay his taxes at that time wound up going to pay for his divorce. David is asking for assistance to raise the money.
For more information…

Levy in Hospice

University of Wisconsin academician and fan Michael Levy has entered hospice following surgery. Levy has been battling cancer and underwent surgery on March 28 to stop bleeding. He is reported to be resting comfortably and spending most of his time sleeping. Levy has served as the editor of Extrapolation and as a book reviewer for Publishers Weekly.

SFWA Announced Toastmaster Lindgren

SFWA has announced that astronaut Kjell Lindgren will serve as toastmaster at the 2017 SFWA Nebula Award Conference, to be held from May 18-21 in Pittsburgh, PA. IN addition to emceeing the awards ceremony on the evening of Saturday, May 20, Lindgren will also participate in a panel on Friday, the mass autographing, and give a solo presentation on Sunday. The mass autographing is open to the public. Lindgren served on ISS Expeditions 44 and 45 in 2015 and was an astronaut Guest of Honor for that year’s Worldcon, Sasquan, participating in panels remotely from the ISS.
For more information…

Compton Crook Nominees

The Baltimore Science Fiction Society has announced the finalists for the 2017 Compton Crook/Stephen Tall Award. The award is presented for the best debut SF/Fantasy/Horror novel of the year and will be presented at Balticon 51 on the weekend of May 26-29, 2017. The winner is selected by a vote of the Baltimore Science Fiction Society membership.

  • Ninefox Gambit, by Yoon Ha Lee
  • Arabella of Mars, by David D. Levine
  • Sword and Verse, by Kathy MacMillan
  • Sleeping Giants, by Sylvain Neuvel
  • Too Like the Lightning, by Ada Palmer
  • Sleep State Interrupt, by T.C. Weber

For more information…

SFPA Renames Itself

The Science Fiction Poetry Association has voted to rename itself the Science Fiction and Fantasy Poetry Association, although it will retain the SFPA initials. 63.4% of the voting members chose to change the name with 75% voting to keep the acronym. 58.3% voted for the winning name for the organization.

For more information…

IAFA Awards

The International Association for the Fantastic in the Arts has announced the winners of its 2017 awards.

  • Crawford Award: All the Birds in the Sky, by Charlie Jane Anders
  • IAFA Distinguished Scholarship Award: Edward James
  • David G. Hartwell Emerging Scholar Award: Grant Dempsey
  • Jamie Bishop Memorial Award: David Dalton
  • Walter James Miller Memorial Award: Ida Yoshinaha

For more information…

Prometheus Nominees

This year’s nominees for the Prometheus Award have been announced. The awards are presented by the Libertarian Futurist Society and winners will be announced in August at Worldcon 75, which will be held in Helsinki, Finland.

Prometheus Awards

  • The Corporation Wars: Dissidence, by Ken MacLeod
  • The Corporation Wars: Insurance, by Ken MacLeod
  • The Mandibles: A Family, 2029-2047, by Lionel Shriver
  • The Core of the Sun, by Johanna Sinisalo, translated by Lola Rogers
  • Blade of p’Na, by L. Neil Smith

For more information…

Obituary: Robert Day

Director Robert Day (b.1922) died on March 17. Day directed several films and television episodes, many of genre interest including First Man into Space, The Adventures of Robin Hood (Richard Greene series), The Avengers (Steed/Peel), She, and The Invaders, among others. He wrote and directed two Tarzan films and directed several more.

Obituary: Robert Neagle

Fan Robert Neagle (b.1955) suffered a fatal heart attack on March 22. Neagle was the chair of DeepSouthCon 37 in 1999 and won the 2001 Rebel Award. From 1985 to 2005, he chaired the Crescent City Con. Throughout his time in fandom, Neagle was involved with the New Orleans Science fiction and Fantasy Festival, VulCon, Gulf Coast Con, and others. He was the first Fan Guest of Honor at CONtraflow and returned the following year as their toastmaster.

This Is Horror Award Winners

The winners of the 2016 This is Horror Award were announced on March 20. The winners were selected by an open vote on the organization’s website.

  • Novel of the Year: The Fisherman, by John Langan
  • Novella of the Year: The Ballad of Black Tom, by Victor LaVelle
  • Short Story Collection of the Year: Furnace, by Livia Llewellyn
  • Anthology of the Year: Autumn Cthulhu, edited by Mike Davis
  • Fiction Magazine of the Year: The Lovecraft eZine
  • Publisher of the Year: Word Horde
  • Fiction Podcast of the Year: The Other Stories
  • Nonfiction Podcast of the Year: The Lovecraft eZine Podcast

For more information…