Spectrum Award Finalists

The jury for Spectrum 23: The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art has announced nominees in eight categories. The list was created by judges Christian Alzmann, Laurie Lee Brom, Mark Newman, Victo Ngai and John Picacio. Winners of the Gold and Silver Awards will be announced at the Spectrum 24 Awards Ceremony, held at the Folly Theater in Kansas City, MO on Saturday, April 22. The 2017 Spectrum Grand Master Award honoree will also be announced during the ceremony.


  • Kellan Jett, “Hell” (detail)
  • Edward Kinsella III, “Carnival of Souls”
  • Bill Mayer, “Savages”
  • Greg Ruth, “Daredevil”
  • Bayard Wu, “Hunting”


  • Richard Anderson, Red Tide
  • Tommy Arnold, On the Wheel
  • Brom, Lamia
  • Edward Kinsella III, Danneee
  • Goni Montes, Tamiel


  • Arthur Adams, Guardians of the Galaxy #19 (cover)
  • Nic Klein, Drifter #13, pages 8 and 9
  • Dave McKean< Black Dog: The Dreams of Paul Nash
  • David Palumbo, Swallowed Whole
  • Jeremy Wilson, Chimera Brigade #5

Concept Art

  • Te Hu, Secret of Seda
  • Tyler Jacobson, Hill Giant Queen
  • Ronan Le Fur, Fortress Africa
  • Iain McCaig, Minion 5
  • Sean Murray, Court of the Dead: Voxxingard


  • Akihito, “Nephila”
  • Amilcar Fong, “Oglavaeil The Executioner”
  • Virginie Ropars, “Yevabog”
  • Dug Stanat, “The Corruption of Father O’Malley”
  • Jesse Thompson, “Dress-Up Frog Legs”


  • Clint Cearley, “Broken Concentration”
  • Galen Dara, “Seven Salt Tears”
  • Tran Nguyen, “La Beaute Sans Vertu”
  • Tim O’Brien, Beyonce “Lemonade”
  • Armando Veve, “War Music”


  • Ed Binkley, “William Finds Some Flowers and a Giant”
  • Wesley Burt, “Accursed Witch”
  • Bill Carman, “Ms. Hatter and a Smile”
  • Travis Louie, “Mojo Jojo Circa 1897”
  • Stephan Martiniere, “Tie Fighter Down”


  • J.A.W. Cooper, “Stealth”
  • Diego Fernandez, “375”
  • Jeffrey Alan Love, “Orange Skies”
  • Karla Ortiz, “The Death I Bring”
  • Greg Ruth, “Lagoon”

For more information…