Sunburst Nominees

The Sunburst Award for Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic is presented for the best in Canadian fantastic literature. The awards will be presented in Fall 2017 and include a prize of Can$1,000 and a trophy. This year’s jurors include Nancy Baker, Michel Basilières, Rebecca Bradley, Dominick Grace, and Sean Moreland..

Adult Fiction

  • The Spawning Grounds, by Gail Anderson-Dargatz
  • Company Town, by Madeline Ashby
  • Three Years With the Rat, by Jay Hosking
  • Spells of Blood and Kin, by Claire Humphrey
  • The Witches of New York, by Ami McKay
  • Certain Dark Things, by Silvia Moreno-Garcia
  • Sleeping Giants, by Sylvain Neuvel
  • The Angels of Our Better Beasts, by Jerome Stueart
  • Necessity, by Jo Walton
  • Last Year, by Robert Charles Wilson

Young Adult Fiction

  • Sophie Quire and the Last Storyguard, by Jonathan Auxier
  • The Hill, by Karen Bass
  • Transferral, by Kate Blair
  • Worlds of Ink and Shadow, by Lena Coakley
  • The Inn Between, by Marina Cohen
  • Julia Vanishes, by Catherine Egan
  • The Skids, by Ian Donald Keeling
  • Flickers, by Arthur Slade
  • Sheldon Unger vs The Dentures of Doom, by Jeff Szpirglas
  • The Road to Ever After, by Moira Young

Short Story

  • “Naïve Gods,” by Brad C. Anderson
  • “La Corriveau,” by K.T. Bryski
  • “The Dog and the Sleepwalker,” by James Alan Gardner
  • “The Seven O’Clock Man,” by Kate Heartfield
  • “All That Robot…,” by Rich Larson
  • “Caro in Carno,” by Helen Marshall
  • “Until There is Only Hunger,” by Michael Matheson
  • “The Night Stylist”,” by Peter Norman
  • “The Eye of The Swan,” by Kelly Robson
  • “The Second Waltz,” by Madeleine Thien
  • “The Men from Narrow Houses,” by A.C. Wise
  • “The Sailing of the Henry Charles Morgan in Six Pieces of Scrimshaw (1841),” by A.C. Wise

For more information…