Aurora Nominations

The 2017 Aurora Award ballot for English language has been announced. Members of the Canadian Science Fiction and Fantasy Association can vote between July 15 and midnight September 2. The awards will be presented at Canvention 37 in Halifax the weekend of September 22-24. This year, a special category for best work published between January 2001 and December 2010 has been added.

Best Novel

  • Children of Earth and Sky, by Guy Gavriel Kay
  • Company Town, by Madeline Ashby
  • The Courier, by Gerald Brandt
  • The Nature of a Pirate, by A.M. Dellamonica
  • Quantum Night, by Robert J. Sawyer
  • Stars like Cold Fire, by Brent Nichols

Best Young Adult Novel

  • Day of the Demon, by Randy McCharles
  • Door into Faerie, by Edward Willett
  • Heir to the Sky, by Amanda Sun
  • Icarus Down, by James Bow
  • Mik Murdoch: Crisis of Conscience, by Michell Plested
  • The Wizard Killer – Season One, by Adam Dreece

Best Short Fiction

  • “Age of Miracles,” by Robert Runté
  • “Frog Song,” by Erika Holt
  • “Living in Oz,” by Bev Geddes
  • “Marion’s War,” by Hayden Trenholm
  • “Seasons of Glass and Iron,” by Amal el-Mohtar
  • “When Phakack Came to Steal Papa” A Ti-Jean Story,” by Ace Jordyn

Best Poem/Song

No award will be given out in this category in 2017 due to insufficient eligible nominees

Best Graphic Novel

  • Angel Catbird, Volume One, by Margaret Atwood, Johnnie Christmas and Tamra Bonvillian
  • Crash and Burn, by Kate Larking and Finn Lucullan
  • Earthsong, by Crystal Yates
  • It Never Rains, by Kari Maaren
  • Weregeek, by Alina Pete

Best Related Work

  • Clockwork Canada: Steampunk Fiction, edited by Dominik Parisien
  • Enigma Front: Burnt, edited by Celeste A. Peters
  • Lazarus Risen, edited by Hayden Trenholm and Mike Rimar
  • Strangers Among Us: Tales of the Underdogs and Outcasts, edited by Susan Forest and Lucas K. Law
  • Superhero Universe (Tesseracts Nineteen), edited by Claude Lalumiére and Mark Sheinblum

Best Visual Presentation

  • Arrival, directed by Denis Villeneuve
  • Orphan Black, Season 4, by John Fawcett and Graeme Manson
  • Killjoys, Season 2, by Michelle Lovretta
  • Dark Matter, Season 2, by Joseph Mallozzi and Paul Mullie
  • Murdoch Mysteries, Season 9, by Peter Mitchell and Christina Jennings

Best Artist

  • Samantha M. Beiko, cover to Strangers Among Us: Tales of the Underdogs and Outcasts
  • James Beveridge, covers and poster art
  • Melissa Mary Duncan, body of work
  • Erik Mohr, covers for ChiZine Publications and Company Town for Tor Books
  • Dan O’Driscoll, covers for Bundoran Press

Best Fan Writing and Publications

  • Amazing Stories Magazine, weekly column by Steve Fahnestalk
  • BCSFAzine #512 to #519, edited by Felicity Walker
  • The Nerd is the Word, articles by Dylan McEvoy
  • OBIR Magazine #4, edited by R. Graeme Cameron
  • Silver Stag Entertainment, edited by S.M. Carriére
  • Speculating Canada, edited by Derek Newman-Stille

Best Fan Organizational

  • Samantha Beiko and Chadwick Ginther, co-chairs, Chiaroscuro Reading Series: Winnipeg
  • R. Graeme Cameron, chair, VCON 41, Surrey, BC
  • Sandra Kasturi and Angela Keeley, co-chairs, 2016 Toronto SpecFic Colloquium
  • Derek Künsken and Marie Bilodeau, executive, Can*Con 2016, Ottawa
  • Randy McCharles, chair, When Words Collide, Calgary
  • Matt Moore, Marie Bilodeau, and Nicole Lavigne, co-chairs, Chiaroscuro Reading Series: Ottawa
  • Sandra Wickham, chair, Creative Ink Festival, Burnaby, BC

Best Fan Related Work

  • Ron S. Friedman, “Villains and Conflicts” presentation, When Words Collide, Calgary Comic Expo, and File 770
  • Kari Maaren, Concert, SFContario
  • Derek Newman-Stille, Speculating Canada

Best of the Decade

  • Blind Lake, by Robert Charles Wilson, Tor Books
  • The Blue Ant Trilogy, by William Gibson, Berkley
  • Malazan Book of the Fallen, by Steven Erikson, Tor Books
  • The Neanderthal Parallax, by Robert J. Sawyer, Tor Books
  • The Onion Girl, by Charles de Lint, Tor Books
  • Under Heaven, by Guy Gavriel Kay, Viking Canada

For more information… (pdf)