Justice League Under New Hands

Zack Snyder has announced that he is stepping away from Justice League and Joss Whedon is taking over the film for post-production and additional shoots. Snyder and his wife, who serves as a producer, are focusing on their family following their daughter’s suicide in March. Whedon will finish the film which is still set for a November 17 release date.
For more information…

Nebula Award Winners

SFWA announced this year’s Nebula Awards at the 2017 SFWA Nebula Conference, held in Pittsburgh, PA, the weekend of May 19-21. This year’s toastmaster was Dr. Kjell Lindgren, who previously was a special guest at Sasquan, appearing at the convention virtually while serving on the International Space Station. The winners of the Grand Master, Service, and Solstice Awards were previously announced.

  • Best Novel: All the Birds in the Sky, by Charlie Jane Anders
  • Best Novella: Every Heart a Doorway, by Seanan McGuire
  • Best Novelette: “The Long Fall Up,” by William Ledbetter
  • Best Short Story: “Seasons of Glass and Iron,” by Amal El-Mohtar
  • Norton Award: Arabella of Mars, by David D. Levine
  • Ray Bradbury Award: Arrival, written by Eric Heisserer, directed by Denis Villeneuve
  • Kevin O’Donnell, Jr. Service to SFWA Award: Jim Fiscus
  • Kate Wilhelm Solstice Award: Peggy Rae Sapienza, Toni Weisskopf
  • Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master: Jane Yolen

For more information…

Sturgeon Nominees

The nominees for the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award have been announced. The Sturgeon is given for a short story. Both awards will be presented during the Campbell Conference, this year held in Lawrence, Kansas on June 16.

  • “The Art of Space Travel,” by Nina Allan
  • “Seasons of Glass and Iron,” by Amal El-Mohtar
  • “Touring with the Alien,” by Carolyn Ives Gilman
  • The Ballad of Black Tom, by Victor LaValle,
  • “The Visitor From Taured,” by Ian R. MacLeod
  • “Things with Beards,” by Sam J. Miller
  • “Project Empathy,” by Dominica Phetteplace
  • “The Future is Blue,” by Catherynne M. Valente
  • A Taste of Honey, by Kai Ashante Wilson

For more information…

Dell Magazine Awards

Dell Magazine gave out their annual awards in Pittsburgh during the 2017 SFWA Nebula Conference.

Analystical Laboratory (AnLab) Winners

  • Best Novella: “The Coward’s Option,” by Adam-Troy Castro
  • Best Novelette: “Detroit Hammersmith: Zero-Gravity Toilet Repairman [Retired],” by Suzanne Palmer
  • Best Short Story: “In the Absence of Instructions to the Contrary,” by Frank Wu
  • Best Fact Article: “Energy for the Future,” by Richard A. Lovett
  • Best Poem: “somebody I Used to Love Asks Me Who Marie Curie Is,” by Carly Rubin
  • Best Cover: December 2016, by Vincent diFate

Asimov’s Readers’ Award Winners

  • Best Novella: “Lazy Dog Out,” by Suzanne Palmer
  • Best Novelette: “I Married a Monster from Outer Space,” by Dale Bailey
  • Best Short Story: (tie) “The Mutants Men Don’t See,” by James Alan Gardner; “All That Robot…,” by Rich Larson
  • Best Poem: “After,” by Herb Kauderer
  • Best Cover: Donato Giancola

Obituary: Karen Davidson

Fan Karen Davidson (b.Karen Giglio, 1958) died on May 19 following a battle with cancer. Davidson’s first husband was Jeffrey Edwards, with whom she had two sons. While working as a production manager for Paintball News, she met Steve Davidson, whom she eventually married. Davidson supported her husband when he decided to revive Amazing Stories and served as the President of Experimenter Publishin Company, which has published Amazing Stories since its revival.

Fan Artist Disqualified

Worldcon 75 has announced the disqualification of a second Best Fan Artist nominee for the Hugo. Mansik Yang appeared on the original ballot, but has been determined not to have any qualifying work from 2016. Yang’s name has been removed from the ballot and replaced by Elizabeth Leggett. Yang, as with Alex Garner, who was previously determined to be ineligible, was part of the “Rabid Puppies” suggestions.

The revised ballot is:

  • Ninni Aalto
  • Elizabeth Leggett
  • Vesa Lehtimäki
  • Likhain (M. Sereno)
  • Spring Schoenhuth
  • Steve Stiles

Obituary: Peter Olson

Boston area fan Peter Olson (b.1949) died on April 28. Olson, who was known as Peabo, was active in NESFA and participated in the Ig Nobel Awards.

Obituary: Marie Jakober

Canadian author Marie Jakober (b.1941) died on March 26. Jakober began publishing in 1976 with The Mind Gods and also wrote High Kamilan, The Black Chalice, and The Demon Left Behind. She won the Writers Guild of Alberta novel award for her non-genre historical novel Sandinista and won a Michael Shaara Award for her Civil War novel Only Call Us Faithful.

Obituary: Powers Boothe

Actor Powers Boothe (b.1948) died on May 14. Boothe played Gideon Malick on Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. and appeared as a World Security Council member in The Avengers. He did voicework as Gorilla Grodd and Red Tornado for both Justice League and Justice League Unlimited. In the Sin City franchise, he portrayed Senator Roark. Boothe won an Emmy for portraying cult leader Jim Jones in Guyana Tragedy.

Ward in Hospital

Game designer James M. Ward is currently in the hospital in Milwaukee and expected to be there for several weeks. Ward has been suffering from neurological disorders since 2010. Ward was an early player and designer of Dungeons and Dragons and also founded Fast Forward Entertainment.

Cards can be sent to Ward at
James M. Ward
St. Luke’s Hospital, North Building, Room E3238
2900 W Oklahoma Ave;
Milwaukee, WI 53215