Ennie Award Winners

The ENnie Awards honor the best in Role-playing publishing. The awards were presented at Gen Con on August 18. The judges for the 2017 were Jakub Nowosad, Kayra Keri Küpçü, Reece Carter, Kurt Wiegel, and Stacy Muth.

Judges’ Spotlight Winners

  • Rippers Resurrected, selected by Stacy Muth
  • The Ninja Crusade 2e, selected by Jakub Nowosad
  • Tales from the yawning Portal, selected by Kayra Keri Küpçü
  • Coriolis – The Third Horizon, selected by Kurt Wiegel
  • Broodmother Skyfortress, selected by Reece Carter

ENnie Awards

  • Best Adventure: Blood in the Chocolate
  • Best Aid/Accessory: Call of Cthulhu – Keeper’s Screen Pack
  • Best Art, Cover: Call of Cthulhu – Invesitgator Handbook
  • Best Art, Interior: Tales from the Loop – Roleplaying in the ’80s That Never Was
  • Best Blog: Gnome Stew: The Gaming Blog
  • Best Cartography: 7th Sea: Map of Théah
  • Best Electronic Book: The Things We Leave Behind
  • Best Family Game: Bubblegumshoe
  • Best Free Product: 7th Sea: Basic Rules
  • Best Game: Tales from the Loop – Roleplaying in the ’80s That Never Was
  • Best Miniature Product: chtung! Cthulhu Skirmish: Servitors of Nyarlathotep
  • Best Monster/Adversary: S. Petersen’s Field Guide to Lovecraftian Horrors
  • Best Podcast: Ken and Robin Talk About Stuff
  • Best Production Values: Call of Cthulhu – 7th Edition Slipcase Set
  • Best RPG Related Product: all of Cthulhu: The Coloring Book
  • Best Rules: 7th Sea: Core Rulebook
  • Best Setting: Tales from the Loop – Roleplaying in the ’80s That Never Was
  • Best Supplement: Pulp Cthulhu
  • Best Website: Tabletop Audio
  • Best Writing: Tales from the Loop – Roleplaying in the ’80s That Never Was
  • Product of the Year: Tales from the Loop – Roleplaying in the ’80s That Never Was
  • Fan Choice for Best Publisher: Wizards of the Coast

For more information…

Obituary: Kim Poor

Artist Kim Poor (b.1952) died on August 16. Poor’s space art appeared in Astronomy, Sky & Telescope, Omni, and other astronomy-focused magazines. He was commissioned to produce art for the National Air & Space Museum. In 1987, he led a delegation of space artists who displayed their work in Moscow to celebrate the 30th anniversary of Sputnik, which led to a series of joint workshops between US and Soviet space artists. Poor served as the first president of the International Association of Astronomical Artists (IAAA), which he co-founded with Michael Carroll and Rick Sternbach. He ran Novaspace Galleries.

Diana Jones Winner

The Diana Jones committee announced Gen Con as the recipient of its 2016 award for Excellence in Gaming on August 3, 2016. The Diana Jones Award has been presented annually since 2001. It takes its name from a destroyed copy of the Indiana Jones Role Playing Game.
For more information…

Obituary: Victor Pemberton

Actor and writer Victor Pemberton (b.1931) died on August 13. Pemberton appeared in the Doctor Who serial “The Moonbase” opposite Patrick Troughton. He was later brought on board as a script editor during “The Tomb of the Cybermen.” Pemberton wrote several episodes and introduced the “sonic screwdriver” in his script for “Fury from the Deep,” which also wrote out Victoria, one of the Doctor’s companions (actress Deborah Watling, who played Victoria, died last month). In addition to his work on Soctor Who, he also wrote Timeslipe, Tales from the Thousand and One Nights, and the UK adaptation Fraggle Rock.

Dublin Wins Worldcon

Dublin, Ireland has won the right to host the 2019 Worldcon in an uncontested site selection. Dublin 2019 will take place at the Convention Centre Dublin from August 15-19, 2019. Membership will be on sale soon. James Bacon will chair the convention. The announced Guests of Honor are:

  • Bill and Mary Burns
  • Diane Duane
  • Ginjer Buchanan
  • Ian McDonald
  • Jocelyn Bell Burnell
  • Steve Jackson

For more information…

More Worldcon Business

At the Second Business Meeting, several more amendments passed on from MidAmeriCon were debated, with two items being ratified and two failing to be ratified.



  • Best Series: Permanently adds the Best Series Hugo Award.

  • Defining North America: Provides a specific definition of North America



  • Three Stage Voting (3SV): The addition of a third phase before final nominations are announced allowing members to reject works with a supermajority.

  • EPH+: A change to the vote calculations during the nomination round for EPH

For more information…

First Fandom Awards

The First Fandom Awards were presented at Worldcon 75 on August 11 during the Hugo Ceremony.

  • First Fandom Hall of Fame Award: Les and Es Cole
  • First Fandom Posthumous Hall of Fame: Jim Harmon
  • Sam Moskowitz Archive Award: Jon Swartz

Hugo Awards

This year’s Hugo Awards were presented at Worldcon 75 in Helsinki on August 11. In addition to the Hugos, the Seiun for Best translated works were presented (although previously announced), the Finnish Atorox Award, as well the Big Heart Award.

  • Best Novel: The Obelisk Gate, by N. K. Jemisin
  • John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer: Ada Palmer
  • Best Series: The Vorkosigan Saga, by Lois McMaster Bujold
  • Best Novella: Every Heart a Doorway, by Seanan McGuire
  • Best Novelette: “The Tomato Thief,” by Ursula Vernon
  • Best Short Story: “Seasons of Glass and Iron,” by Amal El-Mohtar
  • Best Related Work: Words Are My Matter: Writings About Life and Books, 2000-2016, by Ursula K. Le Guin
  • Best Graphic Story: Monstress, Volume 1: Awakening, written by Marjorie Liu, illustrated by Sana Takeda
  • Best Dramatic Presentation – Long Form: Arrival, screenplay by Eric Heisserer based on a short story by Ted Chiang, directed by Denis Villeneuve
  • Best Dramatic Presentation – Short Form: The Expanse: “Leviathan Wakes,” written by Mark Fergus and Hawk Ostby, directed by Terry McDonough
  • Best Editor – Short Form: Ellen Datlow
  • Best Editor – Long Form: Liz Gorinsky
  • Best Professional Artist: Julie Dillon
  • Best Semiprozine: Uncanny Magazine, edited by Lynne M. Thomas & Michael Damian Thomas, Michi Trota, Julia Rios, and podcast produced by Erika Ensign & Steven Schapansky
  • Best Fanzine: Lady Business, edited by Clare, Ira, Jodie, KJ, Renay, and Susan
  • Best Fancast: Tea and Jeopardy, presented by Emma Newman with Peter Newman
  • Best Fan Writer: Abigail Nussbaum
  • Best Fan Artist: Elizabeth Leggett

For more information…

Atorox Awards

The Atorox Award, presented for best Finnish story of the previous year, was presented during the Hugo Ceremony at Worldcon 75 in Helsinki on August 11.

  • Atorox Award: “Itkevän taivaan temppeli,” by Maiju Ihalainen (“The Temple of Heavenly Tears”)

Big Heart Award

Carolina Gomez Lagerlof received the Big Heart Award during the Hugo ceremony at Worldcon 75 on August 11. Lagerlof has been active in building Swedish fandom and working as an emissary from Swedish fandom to the rest of the fannish world. The award was presented by Vince Docherty.