Obituary: Verne Troyer

Actor Verne Troyer (b.1969) committed suicide on April 21. Troyer portrayed Griphook in Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone and also appeared in The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus. He was Mini-me in the second and third Austin Powers films. He made his film debut in 1996 in the title role of Pinocchio’s Revenge.

Lee Accused

A massage therapist in Chicago has accused Stan Lee of sexual misconduct, claiming he grabbed her and inappropriately touched himself during a massage last year while Lee was attending C2E2. Lee’s attorneys have denied the allegations. Police are investigating.
For more information…

Nommo Nominations

The African Speculative Fiction Society (ASFS) has announced the nominees for the Nommo Awards. The nominees are speculative fiction published in 2017, and are considered to be by Africans as defined by the ASFS and Nommo Awards Guidelines. The winners will be honored at the Aké Festival, in November 2018 in Nigeria. A prize of $3,000 will be shared among the winners of four categories: best novel ($1,000), best novella ($500), best short story ($500), and best graphic novel ($1,000).

Best Novel

  • Our Memory Like Dust, by Gavin Chait
  • The Real, by Masha du Toit
  • Fever, by Deon Meyer
  • Akata Warrior, by Nnedi Okorafor
  • After the Flare, by Deji Olokotun
  • Beasts Made of Night, by Tochi Onyebuchi

Best Novella

  • Binti: Home, by Nnedi Okorafor
  • “Fallow,” by Sofia Samatar
  • “The Murders of Molly Southbourne,” by Tade Thompson

Best Short Story

  • “On the Other Side of the Sea,” by Nerine Dorman
  • “A Door Ajar,” by Sibongile Fisher
  • “Read Before Use,” by Chinelo Onwualu
  • “Snake Story,” by Henrietta Rose-Innes
  • “The Regression Test,” by Wole Talabi

Best Graphic Novel

  • Eru, writers and artists: Tobe Ezeogu, Ozo Ezeogu
  • Guardian Prime Genesis, written by Wale Awelenje, art by Jide Martin
  • Hero Kekere, written by Tobe Ezeogu, art by Tobe Ezeogu & Kelechi Issac
  • Ireti Bidemi, by Michael Balogun and Adeleye Yusuf
  • Lake of Tears, written by Kwabena Ofei, art by Setor Fiadzigbey
  • Quest & The Sign of the Shining Beast, written by Robert S. Malan, art by John Cockshaw

For more information…

Theodore Sturgeon Shortlist

The nominees for the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award have been announced. The Sturgeon is given for a short story. Both awards will be presented during the Campbell Conference, this year held in Lawrence, Kansas from June 22-24.

  • “Don’t Press Charges and I Won’t Sue,” by Charlie Jane Anders
  • “Zen and the Art of Starship Maintenance,” by Tobias S. Buckell
  • “The Discrete Charm of the Turing Machine,” by Greg Egan
  • “Sidewalks,” by Maureen McHugh
  • “The Martian Obelisk,” by Linda Nagata
  • “The Secret Life of Bots,” by Suzanne Palmer
  • “And Then There Were (N‑One),” by Sarah Pinsker
  • “Fandom for Robots,” by Vina Jie‑Min Prasad
  • “A Series of Steaks,” by Vina Jie-Min Prasad
  • “Welcome to Your Authentic Indian ExperienceTM,” by Rebecca Roanhorse
  • “We Who Live in the Heart,” by Kelly Robson

For more information…

Obituary: R. Lee Ermey

Actor R. Lee Ermey (b.1944) died on April 15. Best known for his role in the film Full Metal Jacket, Ermey provided the voice of Sarge in the Toy Story movies and provided voicework in various other animated shows and in the film Starship Troopers. He played Brisco County, Sr. in two episodes of The Adventures of Brisco County, Jr.

Science Fiction on Charon

Pluto’s moon Charon has received the first group of official names for its features, among them several with ties to science fiction. Clarke Montes has been named in honor of Arthur C. Clarke and Kubrick Mons is named for the director of the film 2001: A Space Odyssey. Butler Mons honors Octavia E. Butler. Dorothy Crater is named for the protagonist of Baum’s Oz stories and Nemo Crater is named for the captain of Verne’s Nautilus. Stanislaw Lem’s Prix the Pilot is immortalized in Pirx Crater.
For more information…

Shimmer Program Announced Worldcon Attendees

The Shimmer Program has announced that Shi Ran (Sharon Shi) and Lin Jiayu (Mackenzie Lin) have each won RMB 10,000 to attend and help staff Worldcon 76 in San Jose, California. Lin is currently attending Central China Normal University and Shi has translated woks into Chinese and helped run China’s Galaxy Awards.
For more information…

Robinson Named Nebula Toastmaster

SFWA has announced that Martin P. Robinson will serve as the Toastmaster for this year’s Nebula Award Ceremony, to be held on May 19 during the SFWA Nebula Conference in Pittsburgh, PA. Robinson is best known for his work on Sesame Street, where he performs as Telly Monster, Mr. Snuffleuppagus the yip-yip Martians, and Slimy the Worm. He also created and acted as the original Audrey II in Little Shop of Horrors on Broadway.
For more information…

Muddy Colors Scholarship Available

Two scholarships to attend the Illustration Master Class at Muddy Colors is available to fantasy artists. Scholarships cover tuition, meal plan, and housing for the entire 7 day workshop. The workshop will take place in Amherst, MA from June 11-17.
For more information or to apply for the scholarships…

Harlem SF Reading Series

A new speculative fiction reading series, Harlem Ess-Eff, will begin in Harlem in Manhattan on April 9 at 6:00 at Silvana at 300 W. 116th Street. The inaugural reading will include Golden Baker and Erin Roberts. Both Baker and Roberts are graduates of Odyssey. Roberts’s work has appeared in Clarkesworld and PodCastle.
For more information…