Anglemark Wins TAFF

Swedish fan Johan Anglemark has won the 2018 TAFF race to send a American fan to Worldcon 76 in San Jose. Anglemark beat out Swedish fan Fia Karlsson and Scottish fan Helena McCallum in a three way race. Voting tallies have not yet been released.
For more information…

Julius Vogel Winners

The winners of the 2018 Sir Julius Vogel Awards have been announced. The awards are given annually by The Science Fiction and Fantasy Association of New Zealand (SFFANZ) for excellence in science fiction and fantasy by New Zealanders and New Zealand residents. This year’s awards were presented at Conclave 3.

Professional Award Nominees

  • Best Novel: Hounds of the Underworld, by Dan Rabarts & Lee Murray
  • Best Youth Novel: The Traitor and the Thief, by Gareth Ward
  • Best Novella / Novelette: Matters Arising from the Identification of the Body, by Simon Petrie
  • Best Short Story: “Crimson Birds of Small Miracles,” by Sean Monaghan
  • Best Collected Work: Mariah’s Prologues, by Grace Bridges
  • Best Professional Artwork: Cover artwork for Teleport, by Kate Strawbridge
  • Best Professional Production / Publication: Mistlands, by Laya Rose
  • Best Dramatic Presentation: The Changeover, directed by Stuart McKenzie and Miranda Harcourt, produced by Emma Slade
  • Best New Talent: Gareth Ward
  • Services To Science Fiction, Fantasy And Horror: Darian Smith

Fan Award Nominees

  • Best Fan Production/ Publication: Lexicon Convention Booklet, produced by Darusha Wehm
  • Best Fan Writing: Jo Toon, For “Pass the Rules,” Published in Phoenixzine
  • Best Fan Artwork: John Toon, Contributions to Phoenixzine and the 2017 Lexicon Convention Booklet
  • Services To Fandom: Jan Butterworth

For more information…

Terran Prize Winner

Joey Yu has received the 2018 Terran Prize, including a full tuition scholarship to the Taos Toolbox Master Class. Yu has published several novels in China and was won the Excellence Award from the Taiwan Fantasy Foundation. Taos Toolbox will be taught by Nancy Kress and Walter Jon Williams. Guest speakers will include Carrie Vaughn, E.M. Tippetts, and George R.R. Martin, the last of whom founded the Terran Prize.

Obituary: Al Babcock

Illinois fan Al Babcock died on April 1. Babcock ran ChambanaCon with his wife for several years and always worked the relaxacon’s registration desk. He served as ChambanaCon’s toastmaster on several occasions.

DUFF Winner

Marlee Jane Ward won DUFF (the Down Under Fan Fund) in an unopposed race. She will travel to the US to attend Worldcon 76, to be held in San Jose from August 16-20. This is the third year in a row DUFF has been uncontested.
For more information…

Tiangong-1 Falls to Earth

Chinese prototype space station Tiangong-1 entered the atmosphere and burned up over the southern Pacific Ocean just after midnight GMT on April 2. Some pieces of the station may have survived reentry. Tiangong-1 was launched in September 2011and hosted two crewed missions, each of which lasted two weeks. The space station was designed to have a two year lifespan.
For more information…

Philip K. Dick Winner

The winner of this year’s Philip K. Dick Award for Best original paperback publication was announced at Norwescon on March 30. The Dick Award is sponsored by the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society and the Philip K. Dick Trust. This year’s judges were Deborah J. Ross, Robert Onopa, James Stoddard, Amy Thomson, and Rick Wilber.

  • Winner: Bannerless, by Carrie Vaughn
  • Special citation: After the Flare, by Deji Bryce Olukotun

For more information…

Ditmar Winners

The winners of the Ditmar Awards for Australian science fiction, were announced at Swancon 43 on April 1.

  • Best Novel: Crossroads of Canopy, by Thoraiya Dyer
  • Best Novella or Novelette: “Girl Reporter,” by Tansy Rayner Roberts
  • Best Short Story: “A Pearl Beyond Price,” by Janeen Webb
  • Best Collected Work: Ecopunk!, by Cat Sparks and Liz Grzyb
  • Best Artwork: cover art, Lewis Morley, for Matters Arising from the Identification of the Body
  • Best Fan Publication in Any Medium: SF Commentary, edited by Bruce Gillespie
  • Best Fan Writer: Stephanie Lai, for writing at No Award
  • Best Fan Artist: Shauna O’Meara, for “How to Bee”
  • Best New Talent: Stephanie Lai
    William Atheling Jr Award for Criticism or Review: “Reflecting on Indigenous Worlds, Indigenous Futurisms and Artificial Intelligence,” by Ambelin Kwaymullina

For more information…

BSFA Awards

The British Science Fiction Association announced the winners for this year’s BSFA Awards on the evening of Saturday, April 1, at the Majestic Hotel in Harrogate, during Follycon, the 69th British National Science Fiction Convention (Eastercon).

  • Best Novel: The Rift, by Nina Allen
  • Best Shorter Fiction: “The Enclave,” by Anne Charnock
  • Best Non-Fiction: Iain M. Banks, by Paul Kincaid
  • Best Artwork (tie): Cover for The Ion Raider, by Jim Burns; Illustration for “Waiting on a Bright Moon,” by Victo Ngai

For more information…