Inkwell Nominees

The Inkwell Awards have announced the nominees for this year’s awards to honor inkers in Comic books. Voting is open to everyone, whether fans or professional peers. The winners will be announced at the live awards ceremony at Heroes Con in Charlotte, NC June 7-9.

Favorite Inker: favorite ink artist over the pencil work of another artist from 2012 cover-dated interior American comic book material.

  • Klaus Janson (Captain America, Amazing Spider-man)
  • Art Thibert (Savage Hawkman, Deathstroke)
  • Brian Thies (Winter Soldier)
  • Scott Williams (Justice League)

Most-adaptable: showing exceptional ink style versatility over other pencil artists in 2012 cover-dated interior American comic book material.

  • Sal Buscema (G.I. Joe, Dungeons & Dragons, Forgotten Realms)
  • Wayne Faucher (Frankenstein: Agent of S.H.A.D.E, Green Arrow, Mr. Terrific)
  • Jonathan Glapion (Batman, Aquaman, JLA)
  • Scott Hanna (A vs. X, Avengers, Avengers Academy, Green Lantern Corp, Suicide Squad)
  • Scott Koblish (World’s Finest, OMAC, Deadpool)
  • Jay Leisten (Avenging Spider-man, Captain America, Uncanny X-men, Captain America & Iron Man, X-factor)
  • Tom Palmer (Hitgirl, Daredevil)

Props award: ink artist deserving of more attention for their work over other pencilers from ’12 cover-dated interior American comic book material.

  • Eber Ferreira (Nightwing, Aquaman, Detective Comics, Superman, Stormwatch)
  • Cory Hamscher (Avengers Academy, Supreme)
  • Scott Hanna (A vs. X, Avengers)
  • Gary Martin (New Crusaders, Megaman)
  • Joe Rivera (Daredevil)
  • Brian Thies (Winter Soldier)

The S.P.A.M.I: for favorite Small Press And Mainstream-Independent ’12 cover-dated interior American comic book ink work over another pencil artist (Non-Marvel or DC work).

  • Sal Buscema (G.I. Joe, Dungeons & Dragons, Forgotten Realms)
  • Gary Erskine (G.I. Joe)
  • Stefano Gaudiano (X-O Manowar)

All-in-one award: for favorite artist known for inking his/ her own pencil work in ’12 cover-dated interior American comic book material.

  • David Aja (Hawkeye)
  • Francis Manapul (Flash, 7 Warriors)
  • Moritat AKA Justin Norman (All-Star Western)
  • Chris Samnee (Daredevil)
  • Dave Sim (Glamourpuss)
  • James Stokoe (Godzilla)
  • Skottie Young (Road to Oz, Dorothy & The Wizard in Oz)

For more information…

Obituary: Quentin Hoover

Artist Quentin Hoover (b.1964) died on April 20. Hoover created numerous cards for Magic: The Gathering as well as other collectible games. In addition to his work in the gaming industry, he also was one of the co-creators of the comic Morgana X.

Obituary: Carmine Infantino

Comic artist Carmine Infantino (b.1925) died on April 4. Infantino helped create many of the Silver Age heroes for DC, including the Barry Allen Flash and Black Canary. He also worked on the classic “Flash of Two Worlds” storyline. He took on editorial tasks at DC as well. Later, he developed the Star Wars comic.

Obituary: Mitchell Hooks

Artist Mitchell Hooks (b.1923) died on March 18. Although Hooks was best known for his non-sf work, including book covers and movie posters, he also provided covers for Daniel Galouye’s Dark Universe, Richard Matheson’s The Shores of Space, Piers Anthony’s Var the Stick, and others. He also painted the movie poster for Dr. No.

Obituary: Didier Comès

Belgian comics artist Didier Comès (b.1958, Dieter Hermann Comès) died on March 7. Comès debuted the comic strip “Hermann” in 1969 in the newspaper Le Soir. He began publishing the story Ergün l’errant in 1973 in the French magazine Pilote and went on to create Silence, about a mute and deaf boy’s adventures in World War I. He received the Prix Saint-Miche twice.

Spectrum Finalists

The finalists for the twentieth Spectrum Awards for speculative fiction art have been announced. The winnerswill be announced during Spectrum Live the weekend of May 17-19 in Kansas City. This year’s jury is comprised of Tim Bruckner, Irene Gallo, Tim Kirk, Mark A. Nelson, and Michael R. Whelan.


  • Craig Elliott: Forest Awakening
  • Michael C. Hayes: Procession
  • Android Jones: Ganeshatron
  • Greg Ruth: Three Outlaw Samurai
  • Dan Dos Santos: Dragon Empress


  • Brom: Wipi
  • William O’Connor: Wargriffin
  • David Palumbo: Fed
  • Shaun Tan: Never Leave a Red Sock on the Clothesline
  • Charles Vess: Tanglewood: I Didn’t Know She Was a Bottle Witch


  • Jennifer L. Meyer: Aesop’s Ark, Ch. 2, P2
  • David Petersen: Mouse Guard Black Axe #4, Page 19
  • Paolo Rivera: Daredevil #10
  • Paolo Rivera: Captain America #1
  • João Ruas: Fables #121

Concept Art:

  • Daniel Dociu: Guild Wars 2, Norn Lodge
  • Theo Prins: Southsun Cove
  • Paul Sullivan: Franken-animal
  • Justin Sweet: Marauders 2
  • Allen Willams: Tree of Tales


  • Dan Chudzinski: Turbulence
  • David Meng: Sashimi
  • Virginie Ropars: Mothra
  • Virginie Ropars: Acanthopis III
  • Katya Tal: Blanket Fairy


  • Sam Bosma: Stability
  • Chris Buzelli: Book Monster
  • Sean Andrew Murray: He’s Gone Full-Bird
  • Victo Ngai: Best of the Best
  • Sam Weber: Cancer Monster


  • Ed Binkley: A Cob of Chiseldon-Brimble
  • Lucas Graciano: Dragon Swarm
  • Tyler Jacobson: Ruric Thar, The Unbowed
  • Kekai Kotaki: Stampede
  • David Palumbo: Taken


  • Cory Godbey: The Fish Master
  • Lucas Graciano: Guardianship
  • Kekai Kotaki: Ride
  • Andrew Mar: Tell-Tale Heart
  • Tohru Patrick Awa: Sudden Shower

For more information…

Obituary: Scott Clark

Comics artist Scott Clark (b.1969) died the week of February 18. Clark entered the field in the 1990s and worked for WildStorm studio as a penciller on StormWatch. More recently, he worked as an artist on Justice League: Cry For Justice and Brightest Day. In the New 52 relaunch period, Clark has worked on Grifter and I, Vampire.

Rotsler to Chamberlain

C. Ross Chamberlain has been awarded the 2012 Rotsler Award for long-time fannish artistic achievement in science fiction at Loscon 39 on November 24. The Rotsler was established in 1998 and includes a $300 honorarium. Sponsored by the Southern California Institute for Fan Interests, the award is named for William Rotsler. The current judges include Claire Brialey, Mike Glyer, and John Hertz.

For more information…

Obituary: David Grove

Artist David Grove (b.1940) died on October 25 from emphysema. Grove began working on covers for a wide variety of publishers in the 1970s. In addition to covers, Grove also painted movie posters, including one of the Ray Bradbury-based Something Wicked This Way Comes, and artwork for advertising. He won his first art award before he was 7 and was inducted into the Illustration Hall of Fame in 2007 and had a retrospective show at the Society of Illustrators in New York earlier in 2012.

Obituary: Alan Hunter

British fan Alan Hunter (b.1923) died on August 1. Hunter was a fan artist whose work graced the cover of fanzines including Graveside Grope, an adult-themed Star Trek zine (as well as interior art for other issues of Grope. His art also appeared in It Goes on the Shelf, Science Fantasy Bulletin, and The Zone.