Lambda Award Nominations

The Lambda Literary Foundation has announced the finalists for this year’s Lambda Awards, given out for writing which celebrates achievement in lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender. The winners will be announced on June 3 in New York. Categories with nominees of genre interest are listed below.

Transgender Fiction

  • Being Emily, by Rachel Gold
  • The Collection: Short Fiction From The Transgender Vanguard, Edited by Tom Léger and Riley MacLeod
  • Dialectic of the Flesh, by Roz Kaveney
  • First Spring Grass Fire, by Rae Spoon
  • Offspring, by Michael Quadland

LGBT Science Fiction/Fantasy/Horror

  • Beyond Binary: Genderqueer and Sexually Fluid Speculative Fiction, by Brit Mandelo
  • Chocolatiers of the High Winds: A Gay Steampunk Romance, by H.B. Kurtzwilde
  • Green Thumb, by Tom Cardamone
  • Heiresses of Russ 2012: the Year’s Best Lesbian Speculative Fiction, by Connie Wilkins and Steve Berman
  • In the Now, by Kelly Sinclair
  • Night Shadows: Queer Horror, edited by Greg Herren and J.M. Redmann
  • The Survivors, by Sean Eads

LGBT Anthology

  • For Colored Boys, by Keith Boykin
  • Here Come the Brides!: Reflections on Lesbian Love and Marriage, Edited by Audrey Bilger & Michele Kort
  • No Straight Lines: Four Decades of Queer Comics, Edited by Justin Hall
  • Why Are Faggots So Afraid of Faggots? Flaming Challenges to Masculinity, Objectification, and the Desire to Conform, Edited by Mattilda Bernstein Sycamore

LGBT Children’s/Young Adult

  • Adaptation, by Malinda Lo
  • The Adventure of Tulip, Birthday Wish Fairy, by S. Bear Bergman and Suzy Malik
  • Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe, by Benjamin Alire Saenz
  • Ask the Passengers, by A.S. King
  • Beautiful Music for Ugly Children, by Kirstin Cronn-Mills
  • Every Day, by David Levithan
  • Kiss the Morning Star, by Elissa Janine Hoole
  • The Miseducation of Cameron Post, by emily M. danforth
  • Personal Effects, by E.M. Kokie
  • Silhouette of a Sparrow, by Molly Beth Griffin

For more information…

Marsh Collection to San Diego State

Edward E. Marsh has donated of the collection of science fiction and fantasy to San Diego State University’s Love Library. The first portion of the collection is valued at more than $2.25 million and contains movie props, original book cover art, literary contracts, and autographs. Most of the books are signed first editions. A new room to house the collection will be built.

For more information…

Crawford Award

Karin Tidbeck’s collection Jagannath: Stories has been announced as the winner of the William L. Crawford Award. The Crawford Award is presented annually for a new fantasy author whose first book appeared during the previous year. It is presented at the International Conference on the Fantastic in the Arts, which will be held this year from March 21-25 in Orlando, Florida.

For more information…

The Thiry Year’s War

Thirty years after beginning his Riftwar Saga with the publication of Magician, Raymond E. Feist has announced that the saga will be coming to a close with its thirtieth volume, Magician’s End, scheduled for a March 2013 publication. According to Feist, he had only planned to write a trilogy, but the story kept growing. In addition to the various volumes, published in ten sub-series, including books co-written with Janny Wurts, Joel Rosenberg, William Forstchen, and S.M. Stirling, the series also spawned video games and comics.

For more information…

Utopiales Awards Announced

The Utopiales Awards were presented in Nantes, France. The awards carry a prize of €3000 and are presented for works produced by Europeans and published in French in the year of eligibility.


  • Utopiales European Award: Biting the Shield (Mordre le bouclier), by Justine Niogret (France)
  • Utopiales European Youth Award: Blood Red Road (Saba ange de la mort), by Moira Young (UK)

Feature Films

  • Grand Prix: Eega (Fly), by S. S. Rajamouli (India)
  • SyFy Public Award & Special Mention: Iron Sky, by Timo Vuorensola (Finland)
  • Special Mention : The Human Race, by Paul Hough (UK)

Short Films

  • Jury Award: “Apnoe,” by Harald Hund, Paul Horn (Austria)
  • Audience Award: “The Elaborate End of Robert Ebb” (“La Mysterieuse disparition de Robert Ebb“), by Francois Xavier Goby, Matthieu Landour and Clement Bolla (France, UK)
  • Special Mention : “Robots of Brixton,” by Tavares Kibwe (UK)
  • Special Mention : “Error 0036,” by Raul Fernandez Rincón (Spain)
  • Special Mention : “Tvillingen” (“The Twin”), by Gustav Danielsson (Sweden)


  • Utopiales Comics Award: Daytripper, by Fabio Moon and Gabriel Ba
  • Jury Special Award : Big Crunch, by Remi Gourrierec

Video Games

  • Tie: Thanks for Playing and 2012 Game
    Role Play:

    • Best Screenplay: Victor Bret for War Hero

    For more information…

E-Book Bundle For Charity

Eight authors, including Cory Doctorow, Mercedes Lackey, Paolo Bacigalupi, Lauren Beukes, Kelly Link, John Scalzi, Neil Gaiman, and Dave McKean, are offering up a bundle of e-books. The books are available in DRM-Free versions for a donation which will go to the authors and a variety of charities. Six books by the first five authors are available to anyone making a donation. Two additional books by Scalzi and Gaiman & McKean are available to anyone who donates more than the average donation at the time of purchase. The titles included are Doctorow’s Pirate Cinema, Lackey’s Invasion, Bacigalupi’s Pump Six, Beukes’s Zoo City, and Link’s Stranger Things Happen and Magic for Beginners. The addition books are Scalzi’s Old Man’s War and Gaiman & McKean’s Signal to Noise. The charities being helped include the SFWA Emergency Medical Fund, the Electronic Frontier Foundation, and Child’s Play Charity.

For more information…

SF Missing from Temple University

Several rare volumes of science fiction have been stolen from the Science Fiction and Fantasy Collection of the Temple University Libraries. First editions by Isaac Asimov, Edgar Rice Burroughs, Philip K. Dick, H. P. Lovecraft, and Jules Verne were among those listing as missing as of August 2012. Anyone with knowledge of these volumes, or other volumes which may rightfully belong to the University, should contact Margery Sly, Director of Special Collections, at

Golden Duck Awards

The winners of the Golden Duck Awards, presented annually by SupderConDuckTivity, were presented at Chicon 7. The Golden Ducks are given to recognize excellence in young adult science fiction.

  • Picture Book: Earth to Clunk, by Pam Smallcomb, illustrated by Joe Berger
  • Eleanor Cameron Award for Middle Grades: Worst Case Scenario Ultimate Adventure #2: Mars!, by Hena Kahn and David Borgenicht
  • Hal Clement Award for Young Adults: tie A Beautiful Friendship, by David Weber; A Long, Long Sleep, by Anna Sheehan

For more information…

Massive Liaden Universe Audio Release

Sharon Lee and Steve Miller’s Liaden Universe will release fifteen audio books in the Liaden Universe for download on September 4 to coincide with the hardcover publication of Dragon Ship. Kevin Collins and Bernadette Dunne will each narrate three books, Eileen Stevens will narrate four books, and Andy Caploe will narrate five books.

For more information…

Campbell and Sturgeon

The winners of the John W. Campbell, Jr. Award and the Theodore Sturgeon Award have been announced. The actual awards will be presented on Friday, July 6 at the University of Kansas Awards Banquet. The Campbell Award is given for the best sf novel of the year. The Sturgeon Award is given for the best short story of the year.

  • Campbell Award: (tie) The Highest Frontier, by Joan Slonczewski; The Islanders, by Christopher Priest
  • Sturgeon Award: “The Choice,” by Paul McAuley

For more information…