Sasquan: 73rd Worldcon

Spokane has announced that the 2015 Wordlcon will take place the weekend of August 19-23, 2015 at the Spokane Convention Center. Guests of Honor include David Gerrold, Leslie Turek, Tom Smith, Vonda McIntyre, and Brad W. Foster.

For more information…

Detcon 1

Detroit has announced that next year’s NASFIC (North American Science Fiction Convention) will take place the weekend of July 17-20 at the Detroit Renaissance Center Marriott. Tammy Coxen will chair along with ConChairs Emeritus Roger Sims and Fred Prophet, who chaired Detention, the Seventeenth Worldcon in 1959. Guests of Honor include Steven Barnes, John Picacio, Bernadette Bosky, Arthur Hlavaty, and Kevin Maroney, Bil and BRenda Sutton, and Helen Greiner.

For more information…

NASFIC 2014 and Worldcon 2015

Detroit was selected to host the 2014 NASFIC and Spokane was selected to host the 2015 Worldcon. Although the general results are known, specifics, including voting numbers, names, Guests of Honor, etc. will be announced at the WSFS Business Meeting on Sunday.

Preliminary WSFS Business Meeting

The Preliminary WSFS Business Meeting took place on Friday morning at LoneStarCon to determine the debate times for various agenda items at Saturday’s meeting. With several proposed amendments to the constitution, five were passed on to the main meeting and three were killed by object to consideration movements. The Five that will be debated on Saturday include:

  • Worldcon Publications: A Matter of Trust
  • 4.1.2.No Representation Without Taxation
  • 4.1.3: Keep Us Together
  • 4.1.6: Short Title: WSFS Accountability Act of 2013
  • 4.1.8: Expand Best Fan Artist to Include All Types of Fannish Art, Not Just Static and Visual

The three motions that were killed include:

  • 4.1.4: Best Dramatic Presentation, Very Short Form
  • 4.1.5: Short Title: Deleting Best Fanzine, Best Fan Writer, and Best Fan Artist from the WSFS Constitution
  • 4.1.7: YA Hugo

For more information…

Science Fiction: The Interdisciplinary Genre

McMaster University in Hamilton, Ont., Canada will be hosting an academic conference entitled “Science Fiction: The Interdisciplinary Genre” from September 13-15 in honor of the donation of the Robert J. Sawyer archives to the school. In addition to Sawyer, the event will be attended by Julie E. Czerneda, Élisabeth Vonarburg, Robert Charles Wilson, John Robert Colombo, and David G. Hartwell. More than 30 papers will be presented on a variety of topics ranging from the hard sciences to philosophy to literature.

For more information…

Return of Confluence

After cancelling Confluence 25, scheduled to have been held in 2013 due to lack of an hotel, Confluence 2014 will be held the weekend of July 25-27 at the Four Points by Sheraton Pittsburgh North in Mars, Pennsylvania. William H. Keith has been announced as the Guest of Honor with W. Scott Snyder as the featured Filk Guest.

For more information…

World Fantasy Award Ballot

The ballot for this year’s World Fantasy Award has been announced. The winners will be announced at a banquet at the World Fantasy Con held in Brighton, UK the weekend of October 31-November 3, 2013.


  • The Killing Moon, by N.K. Jemisin
  • Some Kind of Fairy Tale, by Graham Joyce
  • The Drowning Girl, by Caitlín R. Kiernan
  • Crandolin, by Anna Tambour
  • Alif the Unseen, by G. Willow Wilson


  • “Hand of Glory,” by Laird Barron
  • “Let Maps to Others,” by K.J. Parker
  • The Emperor’s Soul, by Brandon Sanderson
  • “The Skull,” by Lucius Shepard
  • “Sky,” by Kaaron Warren

Short Story:

  • “The Telling,” by Gregory Norman Bossert
  • “A Natural History of Autumn,” by Jeffrey Ford
  • “The Castle That Jack Built,” by Emily Gilman
  • “Breaking the Frame,” by Kat Howard
  • “Swift, Brutal Retaliation,” by Meghan McCarron


  • Epic: Legends of Fantasy, edited by John Joseph Adams
  • Three Messages and a Warning: Contemporary Mexican Short Stories of the Fantastic, edited by Eduardo Jiménez Mayo & Chris N. Brown
  • Magic: An Anthology of the Esoteric and Arcane, edited by Jonathan Oliver
  • Postscripts #28/#29: Exotic Gothic 4, edited by Danel Olson
  • Under My Hat: Tales from the Cauldron, edited by Jonathan Strahan


  • At the Mouth of the River of Bees, by Kij Johnson
  • Where Furnaces Burn, by Joel Lane
  • The Unreal and the Real: Selected Stories Volume One: Where on Earth and Volume Two: Outer Space, Inner Lands, by Ursula K. Le Guin
  • Remember Why You Fear Me, by Robert Shearman
  • Jagannath, by Karin Tidbeck


  • Vincent Chong
  • Didier Graffet & Dave Senior
  • Kathleen Jennings
  • J.K. Potter
  • Chris Roberts

Special Award Professional:

  • Peter Crowther & Nicky Crowther for PS Publishing
  • Lucia Graves for the translation of The Prisoner of Heaven, by Carlos Ruiz Zafón
  • Adam Mills, Ann VanderMeer, & Jeff VanderMeer for Weird Fiction Review
  • Brett Alexander Savory & Sandra Kasturi for ChiZine Publications
  • William K. Schafer for Subterranean Press

Special Award Non-Professional:

  • Scott H. Andrews for Beneath Ceaseless Skies
  • L. Timmel Duchamp for Aqueduct Press
  • S.T. Joshi for Unutterable Horror: A History of Supernatural Fiction, Volumes 1 & 2
  • Charles A. Tan for Bibliophile Stalker blog
  • Jerad Walters for Centipede Press
  • Joseph Wrzos for Hannes Bok: A Life in Illustration

Life Achievement:

  • Susan Cooper
  • Tanith Lee

For more information…

MidWestCon Vote

On August 10, the Cincinnati Fantasy Group (CFG) held a vote on whether to continue to hold MidWestCon or end the convention after the 2014 event. Voting remained upon throughout the weekend and on Sunday evening, CFG President Bill Cavin announced that the vote had gone in favor of continuing to hold the 65 year old relaxacon. Despite the vote, CFG and MidWestCon still have to figure out how to deal with their shrinking membership and concom exhaustion in order to continue the event.

For more information…

Westercon to San Diego

Westercon 68 will take place in San Diego the weekend of July 2-5, 2015 at the Town and Country. San Diego ran unopposed and received 92 votes out of the 110 cast (including 5 for no preference). The guests of honor will be Author: Spider Robinson; Artist: John Picacio; Fan: Seanan McGuire; and Special Guest: William F. Nolan.

For more information…

Dragon*Con Reorganizes

The Board of Directors and Shareholders of Dragon Con / ACE, Inc.have announced that company will merge into Dragon Con, Inc. (Dragon Con) in a cash-out merger. The new organization is led by five of Dragon*Con’s six founders. The sixth founder, Ed Kramer, who was arrested in 2000 and has not been part of the operational structure of Dragon*Con for several years, was offered a cash buyout. Kramer’s attorney has stated that Kramer may sue over the new organization and his share.

For more information…