Obituary: Rennie Levine

Filker Rennie Levine (b.1954) died on March 21. Levine was active in New York and East Coast filk circles and is known for songs like “FIAWOL (Filking Is A Way Of Life).” In 1998, her song “Ode to the Sci Fi Channel” won first place in the OVFF Songwriting Contest in the TV Theme Songs category.

Obituary: Karen Anderson

Writer Karen Anderson (b.1932) died on March 17. Anderson was married to Poul Anderson, with whom she often collaborated on works such as The King of Ys and The Last Viking, although she also wrote some solo stories. Anderson was active in costuming and is believed to have been the first person to use the term “filk music” in print. Anderson helped co-found the Society for Creative Anachronism.

Pegasus Awards

The winners for the 2017 Pegasus Award were announced at Ohio Valley Filk Festival on October 21.

  • Best Horror Song: “Dear Gina,” by Seanan McGuire
  • Best Perky Song: “Chocolate is a Vegetable,” by Graham Leathers
  • Best Performer: Judi Miller
  • Best Writer/Composer: (tie) Ju Honisch and Jordin Kare
  • Best Classic Filk Song: “Alligator in the House,” by Betsy Tinney, Cade Tinney, and SJ Tucker
  • Best Filk Song: “We Are Who We Are,” by Michelle Dockery and Tony Fabris

For more information…

Musecon Announces Closure

MuseCon, a Chicago area convention focusing on art, maker-space, and filk, has announced that MuseCon 7, held August 4-6, was the final convention. The Board of Directors is discussing ways to continue to support MuseCon’s mission of supporting creativity.
For more information…

Pegasus Nominations

The finalists for the 2017 Pegasus Award have been announced. On-line voting is open to anyone with an interest in the filk community until October 15. The winners will be announced at Ohio Valley Filk Festival the weekend of October 20-22.

Best Filk Song

  • “The Girl Who Couldn’t Even,” by The PDX Broadsides
  • “Nine Hundred and Ninety Nine,” by Mich Sampson & Marilisa Valtazanou
  • “Pagenant Legend,” by Katy Dröge-Macdonald & Ju Honisch
  • “Scarlet Town,” by Cathy McManamon
  • “We Are Who We Are,” by Michelle Dockrey & Tony Fabris

Best Classic Filk Song

  • “Alligator in the House,” Betsy Tinney, Cade Tinney, & S.J. Tucker
  • “The Evil Eyeball,” by Sibylle Machat
  • “Small Grief in Little Pieces,” by Phil Allcock & Talis Kimberley
  • “Small Designs,” by Barry Childs-Helton
  • “Vor,” by Bill Sutton

Best Performer

  • Chris Conway
  • Tim Griffin
  • Leslie Hudson
  • Judi Miller
  • Vixy & Tony

Best Writer/Composer

  • Ju Honisch
  • Jordin Kare
  • Cathy McManamon
  • Benjamin Newman
  • Andrew Ross

Best Horror Song

  • “The Dark Man,” by Paul Kwinn
  • “Dear Gina,” by Seanan McGuire
  • “Hello Stranger,” by Erica Neely
  • “Hellraiser,” by Tom Smith
  • “Mina’s Song,” by Zander Nyrond

Best Perky Song

  • “Chocolate Is a Vegetable,” by Graham Leathers
  • “Everybody Hates Elves,” by Kari Maaren
  • “Nathan Fillion (Please Take Off Your Pants),” by The PDX Broadsides
  • “Perky Goth,” by W. Randy Hoffman
  • “What If Your Girlfriend Was Gone?,” by Carla Ulbrich

For more information…

Picacio and Hayes to GOH at Worldcon 76

Worldcon 76, scheduled to be held in 2018 in San Jose, California, has announced the additions of artist John Picacio musician Frank Hayes to their list of Guests of Honor. Picacio and Hayes join previously announced guests Spider Robinson, Chelsea Quinn Yarbro, and Pierre & Sandy Pettinger. Worldcon 76 is also honoring tow “GOHsts of Honor,” Edgar Pangborn and Bob Wilkins. Worldcon 76 will take place in San Jose, California from August 16-20, 2018.
For more information…

Obituary: Jordin Kare

Filker Jordin Kare (b.1956) died on July 19. In addition to his life in fandom, which included the release of the albums Fire in the Sky and Parody Violation, Kare worked as an aerospace engineer and was involved with the Clementine lunar mapping mission and developed the Sailbeam propulsion concept. Kare was a partner in Off Centaur Publications, the first publisher specializing in filk songbooks. Kare is survived by his wife, fan and con-runner Mary Kay Kare.

Pegasus Nominating Ballot Opens

The form to nominate for this year’s Pegasus Awards for filk is now on-line. Nominations close on August 1. People can nominate up to five works/people in five categories. The winners will be announced at Ohio Valley Filk Fest.
To nominate, or for more information…
For the results of the brainstorming poll…

Obituary: Sarah Prince

Fan Sarah Prince (b.1954) died the week of January 20. Prince has been active in fandom since 1976 and ran for TAFF in 1999. She was an artist and a potter. She served on the Program staff for Noreascon 3 and published fanzines. In 1993, she co-chaired ditto 6 with Bob Webber.

Pegasus Awards

The winners for the 2016 Pegasus Award were announced at Ohio Valley Filk Festival on November 5.

  • Best Filk Song: “Creatures of Dream,” by Batya Wittenberg
  • Best Classic Filk Song: “Take It Back,” by Kathleen Sloan
  • Best Performer: Play It With Moxie
  • Best Writer/Composer: Barry Childs-Helton
  • Best Adapted Song: “Six Transit Genitalia Centauri,” by Bob Kanefsky
  • Best Exploration Song: “Starsoul,” by Roger Burton West/Jodi Krangle

For more information…