Lynne Thomas Named Editor at Apex

Apex Magazine has announced that Lynne M. Thomas, Curator of Rare Books and Special Collections at Northern Illinois University, will take over as editor of the magazine from Catherynne Valente.The first issue to feature Thomas’s editorial hand will be the November 2011 issue.

For more information…

Parsec Nominations

The nominations for this year’s Parsec Awards, presented for excellence in science fiction podcasting, have been released. The winners will be announced at Dragon*Con on September 4 in Atlanta.

Best Speculative Fiction Story (Short Form)

  • “The Astonishing Amulet of Amenartas,” by Nathan Lowell
  • “Loyalty,” written by Renee Jordan; edited and performed by Arioch Morningstar
  • “Neighbors,” by Eddy Jones, read by Arioch Morningstar
  • “Saying the Names,” by Maggie Clark
  • “The Taste of Starlight,” by John R. Fultz

Best Speculative Fiction Story (Novella Form)

  • Act of Will, by M. Darusha Wehm
  • FRANK – Vol.01: Boiling Point, by Neil Colquhoun
  • The Hidden Institute, by Brand Gamblin
  • Kissyman & the Gentleman, by Scott Sigler
  • Marco and the Red Granny, by Mur Lafferty

Best Speculative Fiction Story (Long Form)

  • Ancestor, by Scott Sigler
  • Owner’s Share, by Nathan Lowell
  • The Prince of Hazel and Oak, by John Lenahan
  • Secret World Chronicle, by Veronica Giguere
  • Valhai, by Gillian Andrews

Best Speculative Fiction Audio Drama (Short Form)

  • BrokenSea Doctor Who, by Paul Mannering, Mark Kalita, and Stevie K. Farnaby
  • The Dixie Stenberg and Brassy Battalion Adventure Theater, by Pendant Productions
  • “A Place So Foreign,” by Cory Doctorow
  • The Radio Adventures of Dr. Floyd, by Grant Baciocco and Doug Price
  • “This Must Be The Place,” by Elliot Bangs

Best Speculative Fiction Audio Drama (Long Form)

  • The Account, by Cayenne Chris Conroy
  • Decoder Ring Theatre, by Gregg Taylor
  • The GearHeart, by Alex White
  • HG World, by Jay Smith
  • We’re Alive, by KC Wayland & Shane Salk

Best Speculative Fiction Video Story

  • Grant’s Advent Calendar Video Podcast

Best Speculative Fiction Magazine or Anthology Podcast

  • Dark Fiction Magazine
  • Drabblecast
  • The Dunesteef Audio Fiction Magazine
  • Escape Pod
  • Flash Pulp

Best New Speculative Fiction Podcaster/Team

  • The Ballad of Iron Percy
  • Cobalt City Adventures Unlimited
  • The Doctor Who Podcast
  • Redline Theatre
  • Tuesday Terror

Best Speculative Fiction Fan or News Podcast (Specific)

  • The H.P. Lovecraft Literary Podcast
  • Pendant Backstage
  • PodCulture: TARDIS Interruptus
  • This Week in Pendant
  • Tuning in to SciFi TV

Best Speculative Fiction Fan or News Podcast (General)

  • Geek Out With Mainframe
  • PodCulture
  • Scifi Diner
  • StarShipSofa
  • WhatTheCast

Best Podcast about Speculative Fiction Content Creation

  • Adventures in Scifi Publishing
  • Fullcast Podcast
  • Get Published
  • I Should Be Writing
  • Podcast Teardown

Best Fact Behind the Fiction Podcast

  • Astronomy Cast
  • Planetary Radio
  • Skepticality
  • The Skeptics’ Guide to the Universe
  • Skeptoid

Best Speculative Fiction Comedy/Parody Podcast

  • comedy4cast
  • Dragon*ConTV
  • Geologic Podcast
  • Requiem of the Outcast
  • Technorama

Best Speculative Fiction Music Podcast

  • The Funny Music Podcast
  • The GeekSpin
  • Radio Free Hipster
  • Renaissance Festival Podcast

Best Youth Driven Speculative Fiction Podcast (Trial Category for 2011)

  • Aaron’s World
  • Princess Scientist’s Book Club

For more information…

Million Writers Award Top Ten Stories

storySouth has announced the ten finalists for their Million Writers Award for 2011. Multiple genre stories appear on this year’s ballot, which is open to voting by anyone with an e-mail address. Voting is open through July 6.

  • “Hell Dogs,” by Daphne Buter
  • “Arvies,” by Adam-Troy Castro
  • “The Green Book,” by Amal El-Mohtar
  • “Do You Have a Place for Me,” by Roxane Gay
  • “Here is David, the Greatest of Descendants,” by Spencer Kealamakia
  • “The Incorrupt Body of Carlo Busso,” by Eric Maroney
  • “Cancer Party,” by Nicola Mason
  • “Arthur Arellano,” by Viet Thanh Nguyen
  • “Elegy for a Young Elk,” by Hannu Rajaniemi
  • “Most of Them Would Follow Wandering Fires,” by Amber Sparks

For more information…

Ashmead Award Created

The Larry Ashmead Award, named for the late editor, has been created to honor Ashmead by helping to nurture the career of a promising young editor in the field of book publishing. Nominees should be working in publishing for a few years and show great promise. The winner of the award will receive tuition to the Yale Publishing Course, to be held July 24-29 in New Haven. Ashmead worked for several publishers and his authors included Isaac Asimov, Susan Isaacs, Tony Hillerman, and Simon Winchester.

For more information…

Parsec Call for Nominations

The Parsec Awards, given for excellence in science fiction podcasting, are open for nominations. The award was founded in 2005 and is presented annually at Dragon*Con. Nominations in 15 categories are open until June 1.

For more information…

Ed’s Martian Book Opens

A new bookstore, Ed’s Martian Book, has opened in New York at 547 Hudson Street in the West Village. Owned by Andrew Kessler, the store only sells copies of Kessler’s book Martian Summer: Robot Arms, Cowboy Spacemen, and My 90 Days with the Phoenix Mars Mission, which is based on three months he spent embedded with NASA’s mission control with unprecedented access to the Phoenix Expedition in 2008. The bookstore is divided into sections such as “Staff Favorite” and “Best Seller.”

For more information…

Changes at Tangent Online

Dave Truesdale has announced that both on-line fiction Managing Editor Kevin Tipple and Assistant Managing Editor Steve Fahnestalk have stepped down from their positions at Tangent Online, which reviews short SF/F. Joseph Giddings has been named the new Assistant Managing Editor. Fahnestalk has stepped down to focus on his writing career and Tipple is stepping down for health reasons. Both editors stayed in their positions until Truesdale returned to the on-line world to ensure the smooth continuation of Tangent Online.

SFX Blog Award Winners

SFX has announced the winners for its first SFX Blog Awards, presented to the best fan-driven and developed internet activity. The winners were determined by popular vote of fans on the SFX website.

  • Best SF Podcast: Doctor Who Podshock
  • Best Fan Community: Whedonesque
  • Best SF News Blog: The Doctor Who News Page
  • Best Literary Blog: SF Signal
  • Best Franchise Specific Site: Supernatural Wiki
  • Best Celebrity Blog: John Scalzi

For more information…

ChiZine Relaunch

CZP has announced it will be relaunching their online speculative fiction ‘zine, The Chiaroscuro/ The ‘zine began publishing in 1997 and in 2008, the publisher branched out to print as well. The April-June 2011 issue of the zine will be a massive issue with more than 200 short stories and poems by previous contributors including Elizabeth Bear, Bruce Boston, Gary Braunbeck, Mike Carey, Neil Gaiman, Jay Lake, Sarah Langan,Tim Lebbon, Stewart O’Nan, and Tom Piccirilli.

For more information…

Google Books Settlement Rejected

Judge Denny Chin has rejected the Google Books Settlement, saying that the search engine’s agreement was too broad and “would arguably give Google control over the search market” for books. The agreement between Google and the Authors Guild and the Association of American Publishers was dismissed without prejudice, which means that Google and the organizations can revise the agreement and resubmit it in a way that gives better protection to copyright owners.

For more information…