Alfie Awards

George R. R. Martin announced the winners of the Alfie Awards, named for Alfie Bester and created to combat attempts to game the Hugo Award system, as his Hugo Losers Party on August 20. Martin created the first Hugo Losers Party in a hotel room at MidAmeriCon in 1976. This year’s event was held at the Midland Theatre in Kansas City.

  • Best Short Story: “Hungry Daughters of Starving Mothers,” by Alyssa Wong
  • Best Related Work: Letters to Tiptree, by Alisa Krasnostein and Alexandra Pierce
  • Best Graphic Novel: Bitch Planet, Volume 1: Extraordinary Machine, by Kelly Sue DeConnick, Valentine De Landro, Taki Soma, and Robert Wilson
  • Best Artist: Julie Dillon
  • Best Fanzine: Journey Planet
  • Best Fancast: Tea and Jeopardy, by Emma Newman & Peter Newman
  • Best Fan Writer: Alexandra Erin
  • Special Committee Award: Black Gate
  • Special Committee Award: Locus