Aurora Awards

The English language Aurora Awards were presented on October 6 at Can-Con in Ottawa, Canada. In addition to the standard Auroras, Robert J. Sawyer received a Lifetime Achievement Award, only the fourth author to receive the distinction.

  • Novel: The Silvered, by Tanya Huff
  • YA Fiction: Under my Skin, The Wildlings, by Charles de Lint
  • Short Fiction: “The Walker of the Shifting Borderland,” by Douglas Smith
  • Poem / Song: “A Sea Monster Tells His Story,” by David Clink
  • Graphic Novel: Weregeek, by Alina Pete
  • Related Work: Blood and Water, by Hayden Trenholm
  • Artist: Erik Mohr – Cover Art for ChiZine Publications
  • Fan Publication: Speculating Canada Blog, by Derek Newman-Stille
  • Fan Filk: Kari Maaren for her Body of Work
  • Fan Organizational: Randy McCharles for When Words Collide
  • Fan Related Work: Ron Friedman for the Aurora Awards Voter Package
  • Lifetime Achievement: Robert J. Sawyer

For more information…

Aurora Ballot-English Released

The 2013 Aurora award ballot for work done in 2012 by Canadians has been announced. Any member of CSFFA can vote for the awards between May 6 and Sept. 13. The awards will be presented at Can-Con the weekend of Oct 4 – 6.

Best Novel – English

  • Destiny’s Fall, by Marie Bilodeau
  • Food for the Gods, by Karen Dudley
  • Healer’s Sword: Part 7 of the Okal Rel Saga, by Lynda Williams
  • The Silvered, by Tanya Huff
  • Thunder Road, by Chadwick Ginther
  • Triggers, by Robert J. Sawyer

Best YA Novel – English

  • Above, by Leah Bobet
  • The Calling, by Kelley Armstrong
  • Dissolve, by Neil Godbout
  • Mik Murdoch, Boy Superhero, by Michell Plested
  • Pirate Cinema, by Cory Doctorow
  • Under My Skin: Wildlings Series, by Charles de Lint,

Best Short Fiction – English

  • “Delta Pi,” by Matt Moore
  • “Happily Ever After,” by Marie Bilodeau,
  • “Knights Exemplar,” by Al Onia
  • “Synch Me, Kiss Me, Drop,” by Suzanne Church
  • “The Walker of the Shifting Borderland,” by Douglas Smith

Best Poem/Song – English

  • “A sea monster tells his story,” by David Clink
  • “The Ghosts of Birds,” by Helen Marshall
  • “Hold Fast,” by Leah Bobet
  • “Roc,” by Sandra Kasturi
  • “Zombie Descartes Writes a Personal Ad,” by Carolyn Clink

Best Graphic Novel – English

  • Goblins, by Tarol Hunt
  • Looking for Group, by Ryan Sohmer and Lar DeSouza
  • Raygun Gothic, by GMB Chomichuk
  • Weregeek, by Alina Pete
  • West of Bathurst, by Kari Maaren

Best Related Work – English

  • Shanghai Steam, edited by Ace Jordyn, Calvin D. Jim, and Renée

  • Imaginarium 2012: The Best Canadian Speculative Writing, edited by Sandra Kasturi and Halli Villegas
  • Hair Side, Flesh Side, by Helen Marshall
  • Blood and Water, edited by Hayden Trenholm
  • On Spec, published by the Copper Pig Writers’ Society

Best Artist

  • Richard Bartrop, illustrations for fiction on Reality Skimming blog
  • GMB Chomichuk, Raygun Gothic
  • Costi Gurgu, cover art for Inner Diverse
  • Michelle Milburn, cover art for Gathering Storm and Healer’s Sword
  • Erik Mohr, cover art for ChiZine Publications

Best Fan Publication

  • BCSFAzine, edited by Felicity Walker
  • Broken Toys, edited by Taral Wayne
  • In Places Between: The Robyn Herrington Short Story Contest, edited by Renée Bennett
  • Reality Skimming blog, content coordinator Michelle Carraway
  • Space Cadet, edited by R. Graeme Cameron
  • Speculating Canada blog, edited by Derek Newman-Stille

Best Fan Filk

  • Morva Bowman and Alan Pollard, Concert at FilKONtario 22
  • Debs & Errol(Deborah Linden and Errol Elumir), Songs in the Key of Geek CD
  • Brooke Lunderville, International Guest of Honour Concert at Consonance
  • Kari Maaren, Body of Work
  • Peggi Warner-Lalonde, Concert at NEFilk 22 ConCertino 2012

Best Fan Organizational

  • Andrew Gurudata, Organizing the Constellation Awards, Toronto
  • Evelyn Baker, Amy De Ruyte, and Peter Halasz, Executive Committee of WFC Toronto, 2012
  • Sandra Kasturi, Helen Marshall, and, James Bambury, Co-Chairs, Chiaroscuro Reading Series, Toronto
  • Sandra Kasturi and Laura Marshall. Co-Chairs, Toronto SpecFic Colloquium: Beyond the Human
  • Randy McCharles, Chair and Programming, When Words Collide, Calgary

Best Fan Related Work

  • Ron Friedman, conception and delivery of the Aurora Awards voter package
  • Helen Marshall, “The Book is Dead; Long Live the Book!”: Some Thoughts on the Coming of eBooks, lecture at Toronto SpecFic Colloquium
  • Michael Matheson, compilation and maintenance of the Can Spec Fic List
  • Lloyd Penney, for fanwriting and letter and article writing for fanzines and e-fanzines
  • Peter Watts, “Hive Minds, Mind Hives” lecture at Toronto SpecFic Colloquium

For more information…

Aurora Award Winners

The English language Aurora Awards for Canadian Science Fiction were presented this weekend in Toronto at SFContario 2. The Francophone winners were announced on May 15 in Montreal. The winners are listed below.

  • Best Novel – English: WWW: Watch, by Robert J. Sawyer
  • Best Short Form – English: “The Burden of Fire,” by Hayden Trenholm
  • Best Poem/Song: “The ABCs of the End of the World,” by Carolyn Clink
  • Best Graphic Novel – English: Goblins, by Tarol Hunt
  • Best Related Work – English: The Dragon and the Stars, edited by Derwin Mak and Eric Choi
  • Best Artist: Erik Mohr
  • Best Fan Filk: Dave Clement and Tom Jeffers
  • Best Fan Organizational: Helen Marshall and Sandra Kasturi for Toronto SpecFic Colloquium
  • Best Fan Other: John Mansfield and Linda Ross Mansfield, Aurora Award pins

For more information…